We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Location near Grafton Street and Temple Bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parliament Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Parliament Hotel
Ranked #82 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant Location near Grafton Street and Temple Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Had a great weekend in this hotel last weekend on a trip to Dublin to see the Phantom of the Opera. We were on a Supervalu deal which was great value and included a wonderful breakfast on each morning. The hotel is brilliantly located about 10 minutes from everywhere with great restaurants on the way up and down Dame Street. Room was very comfortable, clean and bathroom spotless. Staff in bar and breafast staff were very helpful. Only two small niggles - Music in bar was really dreadful on Friday and Saturday night - bad singer - hard to listen to and the next night bad singer and very very loud. We had drinks in the foyer to get away from the din and after an hour, most people had cleared the bar, even though closing time had not elapsed. The WI FI did not seem to work, even though it was advertised. Reception did not seem to be very bothered about whether we had access or not and advised that it was working, even though our phones showed very clearly that it was disconnected. We paid €1 for internet access in the foyer, which would not let me view my work emails, and was not dealt with in a very helpful manner by reception. We went across the road to an internet cafe and got all of our emails. Just a small couple of points, but apart from one very helpful girl on reception, the others were not particularly interested in or pro-active with their customers. On one occasion on Saturday night when 2 guests reported that the wife's purse with credit cards and mobile phone had been stolen from them in the bar, the night receptionist (a man) had to seek permission from a manager to allow them to call their credit card providers to cancel the cards. While he was not downright rude, his apathetic response to this very traumatic incident for this young couple left a lot to be desired. The police arrived and did deal with this awful matter in a very sympathetic and empathetic manner. As I said, just a few small points, but important ones to people who are using the hotel as a way to get away from it all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayGirlAtHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    632
    323
    95
    58
See reviews for
162
665
74
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We visited the Arlington hotel on 14 th July to join in with the Irish dancing, their was 7 of us away for our 30th birthdays, it was a really good to get to watch and join in with Irish dancing, dan was really nice & marianne who danced was amazing, we all really enjoyed ourselves. Just waiting to receive the photos now :)
Slightly embarrassing the the room was alongside the pub so people could watch but was still fun.
Price was really good considering how expensive Dublin is.

Room Tip: We only danced didn't use the hotel or facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckyhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Booked this with a deal on travelzoo, accommodation and flights all included as well as tickets around the Guinness brewery (much to my partners delight) and wasn't disappointed with the central location of the hotel or the cleanliness. Forget taxi transfers, jump on the bus outside the airport, it drops you off in the central shopping area around the corner, which is merely 5 minutes walk away. The staff were friendly, the room was large and more than adequate for what we needed for the 3 nights we stayed and whilst it had a nightclub downstairs and we did hear some noise from it, which is to be expected, it didn't stop us from falling asleep, the ha'penny bridge isn't far away or O'Connell Street and Trinity College is worth a look as is St Stephens Green and Temple Bar is just across the river/bridge. Please note it is not a cheap place to visit, so ensure you have plenty of money, the trip was really cheap but didn't include breakfast and we ended up spending almost £400 for 3 nights as it was 10 euros each for a meal alone. Didn't eat in the Arlington so can't comment on that aspect but did watch the Irish dancers which were enjoyable and had our evening meal across in Temple Bar at the Old Store house, the food was excellent and only a 5 minute walk away with a wide range of options, staff were friendly and when they had live music on, the atmosphere was great and it was really busy, so don't leave it too late or you'll not get a seat. walked up to the Guinness brewery from the hotel, took about 40 minutes but we saw a lot we wouldn't have seen otherwise and it made for a more rounded day. All in all a fantastic weekend and one everyone should try to do once. If I was planning on visiting Dublin, I'd certainly consider the Arlington again.

Room Tip: The higher the better - further away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonJT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We visited this hotel four years ago, we had a room on the second floor which was fine, this time we were on the third floor, the room was very small, the wardroble was only half the height of a normal on so dresses had to be ironed before wearing, The bathroom was grim, extremely small and was "decorated" with daubs of silicone covered with black mould. The breakfast was not of good quality and for the first time ever my husband refused a second cup of coffee, it was undrinkable. A few plus points, a good location and the entertainment in the bar was great and reasonable bar prices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizziDCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

It was my first time in Dublin and I was staying one night on business with a colleague. Rooms in hotel had been scarce to find and it turned out that Bruce Springsteen was playing Dublin for a couple of nights so that compounded an already busy city.

We had both flown in early and took a look around Dublin prior to our lunchtime meeting. Arriving at the hotel around midday we asked if it would be possible to check-in but received the standard answer twice (we each asked different people) that check-in was not until 2pm. Although the welcome on reception was friendly, no effort was made to check at all if any rooms were available. Not the end of the world but it would have been great to not have to cart most of our stuff around that afternoon.

Have a bit of time to pass, we sat in the bar and worked on our laptops. Free WiFi was integral to us choosing the hotel and it worked fine. The bar staff were great and very friendly so thanks to them.

When I did check-in and go to my room, I found it was of adequate size for an individual. The bed was comfortable but the room was located overlooking the street which was noisy. The hotel was totally full so no opportunity to change room. I recommend an internal room if you can get one.

The room appeared to be clean but had certainly seen much better days. Soundproofing was poor in general and the floorboards in the corridor made for many interruptions as well.

What really lets the side down though is the bathroom. The grout was disgusting in several places (behind the sink in particular) and the nozzle of the shower was surrounded by broken tiles. Water pressure was low to say the least and I did not want to spend more time than was required in the bathroom for sure. If I had been there for longer, particularly on a romantic break, the word 'disappointment' does not do my reaction justice.

Based on the room I had (313) I would not recommend this hotel at all but the location is amazing and the staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Please avoid room 313 until they do some serious refurbishment of the bathroom at least - and by tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWilliams12342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This review is for the Irish step dancing and folk singers dinner show in the bar of the hotel. Food was very well prepared and plentiful. Show was terrific. A great night out. Highly recommend it for couples as well as families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtF_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good hotel breakfast good show at night in there legnds bar was very good central hotel guinness factory is a must to go and see

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddogg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#27 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
The Central Hotel
#92 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Hotel

Property: Parliament Hotel
Address: Lord Edward Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Arlington Hotel Temple Bar)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parliament offers three star accommodation in Temple Bar and is an ideally located Dublin City Centre hotel. Situated opposite Dublin Castle, on the doorstep of Temple Bar and just a short walk from such sights as Grafton Street, Trinity College, Stephens Green, The O2, Museums, Theatres, Parliament Buildings and much more! This 3 star Dublin hotel offers a prime location making it one of the most conveniently located Dublin hotels in Temple Bar and a perfect place to stay while attending the many events in Dublin City. The Parliament Hotel consists of 63 beautifully appointed en-suite bedrooms for those seeking quality accommodation in Temple Bar. All rooms are non-smoking. This 3 star hotel Dublin has satellite TV, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, trouser press and much more, making The Parliament Hotel one of the finest 3 star hotels Dublin has to offer. For hotels Dublin city centre, look no further than The Parliament Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Parliament Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Dublin
Parliament Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Parliament

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing