We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect to get any sleep” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Russell Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Russell Court Hotel
Ranked #141 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't expect to get any sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

Staff were very friendly, hotel very clean and comfortable but the night club is in the hotel and goes on till 3a.m. Don't expect any sleep before this. I went to bed at 2.30 and it sounded as if the full U2 sound system was playing in the room and the windows were vibrating. The earplugs left in the bathroom were woefully inadequate. Shame about this, as if it was sound proofed it would be a great place for a short break.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davyd106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    199
    159
    164
    316
See reviews for
74
345
54
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

Saturday Nights :A must for all night party revelers !Three dance options that boom on till at least 5.30am.If your tired they will give you ear plugs.Great music,great craic,and a night porter who will sort out any munchies you may have at 4.30am! Very friendly breakfast staff who will help nurse you to recovery.In the city centre yet at a Luas Station.Shopping next door

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

I was expecting the worst when I read some reviews about this hotel but instead I foun it to be a really lovely stay. The receptionists were charming and very friendly, I had a booked a double room and ended up getting a spacious family room for teh same price, the food was delicious and all in all the hotel was a perfect location from the centre of town. If you want to pay a fortune to sit in your room all night and be boring, this hotel is probably not for you as there is a loud bar on its premises. I didnt hear any noise in my bedroom though and I ended up going into the centre of town for most of the evening anyway. Its a lovely little hotel with plenty of Irish character. I would really recommend this place for friends or couples wanting a weekend away. If you are a businessman wanting to get your head down- stay in a travel lodge.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fulhamfoodie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

Unfortunately the negatives are far greater than the positives, the positive been the location and value for money. The negatives been the staff - i felt as if i was putting them out by staying there, my room wasnt ready on arrival which wasnt a problem for me as i could leave my bag my problem was returning to find my bag just up against a wall outside the reception area where anyone could have walked off with it. The security staff which were onsite around 6pm werent anyway polite to residents. The room was quaint but clean but the noise from the bar was unbearable, i could hardly hear the miniature tv (all 4 channels available) in the room and seeing 3 pairs of free earplugs in the bathroom wasnt a good sign. The room was also boiling and opening the window was a no no as that was just going to add to the noise level, not that the one pane of glass was keeping out much noise anyway. I've stayed on this street before in hotels across the street so would recommend going to them instead of this nightmare.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corkog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

Had a great time staying here, very helpful staff combined with a busy bar scene make it a good hotel for staying in central Dublin. Be warned that it can be noisy on Harcourt Street so if you're looking for silence it may not be the best choice for you. The Irish breakfast is served properly cooked with good quality items on a plate by nice waitresses to your table, beats a buffet anyday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

We asked for a no smoking room, yet it was smokiing. The room stank of cigarettes. I had to hold the shower over my head to have a shower. We were greeted by security gards in high visibility jackets to get into the hotel at 8pm. We were not allowed to bring our two friends into our hotel while my husband made a few business calls. The hotel turns into a full on nightclub.I was thorougly disgusted to hand over good money for a night in this awful hotel. i couldnt wait to leave.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

Although we had read one or two comments from previous guests that indicated a certain level of noise from the attached night club, we were totally unprepared for the decibel level we experienced through saturday night/sunday morning. From midnight through to 4am, there was an unbelievable din coming up from the club below. This was not helped by the fact the room was very hot, and there was no sign of a radiator to turn down. Even with the window closed the noise was unbearable (no doubt not helped by the fact that 2 window panes were cracked.
The room had seen better days, with ripped wallpaper, shabby carpets and rotten window frames. The elctricity point for the tv was also hanging loose. The bathroom had a very tight freestanding shower - very uncomfortable for the slightly rotund!
The full Irish breakfast was almost unedible - bacon and sausages greasy and overcooked and horrible hash browns. Also croisants were not topped up on the buffet table.
The hotel was, however in a very nice location - just of St Stephens Green - a ten minute walk to all the pubs and restaurants.
Staff were fairly indifferent to our request to switch rooms, saying all they could do was move to a fourth floor twin room that 'would be even noisier'!!
If you use this hotel insist on a room facing the street.
We should have known there was going to be a problem as there were two set of earplugs supplied in the room!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rourkton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Albany House
#66 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
South City Centre
Harcourt Hotel
Harcourt Hotel
#112 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#90 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harrington Hall
#85 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Maple Hotel
#133 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Court Hotel

Property: Russell Court Hotel
Address: 21-25 Harcourt Street, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Russell Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Court Hotel is just off St. Stephen's Green in Dublin city centre. The Georgian-style hotel has great nightlife and individually designed rooms with period furnishings and antiques.The hotel features some of the Dublin’s hottest nightlife. Dicey's Garden is extremely popular with visitors and locals. Russell Court Hotel hosts Krystle and Bojangles nightclubs. Krystle was winner of Best Nightclub in Ireland in 2007,2008 ,2009 ,and 2010.The Russell Court is a hotel for those who like to party with its bars and nightclubs open 7 days a week. Because of this all rooms can be affected by noise. We do not recommend the Russell Court Hotel for those looking "for peace and quiet ". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Russell Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Court Hotel Dublin
Hotel Russell Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing