We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Russell Court Hotel
Ranked #136 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Have stayed here a number of times for convenience reasons,
and as such most preferable rooms, worth the request, (in order of preference):
303/301
201
111
30/40
Obviously top floor being less impacted by the nighclub downstairs.

Room Tip: good rooms: 303/301 201 111 30/40 Obviously top floor being less impacted by the nighclub downst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Okay so maybe I'm comparing a premier inn which also has the same star rating as the Russell Court on Harcourt st. I don't often stay in 3* hotels other than a purple palace for this very reason, its shabby and not kept well. I would rather have a small basic fresh clean and well maintained room than turn up just to find door handles missing from wardrobes, stained bath tubs, badly flaking paint, stains on the carpet... Need I go on? Quite a lot of promise regarding the size of the room but its shabby. Sorry Russell court. I hope the breakfast is better than the room! Here's hoping!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank TheReviewGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very charming with its decadence and antique furniture. The rooms are spacious and very clean. However if it's this hot in April and stiflingly humid I'd not like it to be summer!
Breakfast is quite nice could have been a little bigger but good enough for the price.
There is only one downside to the hotel. It's not just a hotel but it's also a night club which means that you will need to use the earplugs they kindly provide on arrival. The club doesn't closed until around 2-3 am and the music is very loud from the rear rooms of the hotel; I couldn't comment about the front rooms.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

If you book with this hotel make sure you have all your information correct!! Having made a recent genuine mistake with booking dates, I have been informed by the hotel that they are now fully booked on the night I require and refunds on cancellation aren't available (3 months might I add), despite their website publishing a 48 hour non chargeable notice on cancellations. Having read further reviews on here its looks like I've had a lucky escape not having to stay there!!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank RedBowRabbit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have just returned from a stay in the Russell Court Hotel, thankfully it was only for one night!

The rooms were dark, dated and creepy, with chipped furniture with handles missing, a TV that didn't work and water that was only luke warm at best. They had the cheek to take a €50 deposit on arrival incase of damages!

The complimentary earplugs should have been the giveaway. The music was unbelievable - it was still going strong when I finally passed out from exhaustion at 3am. I was using my own earplugs that are used in the local power station to block out noises from heavy machinery and could still hear every word. When you went to the bathroom the whole floor was vibrating with the beat.

Added to this the fact that being nearly 7 months pregnant with a toddler in a buggy, the porter sat and watched me struggle up the steps and in through the door on my own. Knowing that the lift barely fits one person I then had to fold the buggy and carry that and my toddler and bags upstairs while he sat there. A simple offer of help would have been nice.

This is an absolute pit, the worst hotelier have ever had the misfortune to stay in. Stay away!!!

Room Tip: Choose ANY other hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fresa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just home from a two night stay at the Russell Court Hotel. Let's start with the positives: The room was clean and reasonably comfortable, the location made seeing Dublin a breeze and most places were walking distance from the hotel.

Sadly, as many have commented, there were lots of issues that would prevent a return visit. In the room itself, the TV had little to no signal. We had a blurred picture of TV3 and Sky News was crystal clear on over 20 channels. Those were our only channel options. The TV itself would be better suited to Kilmainham Gaol, as it was older than I am. The room was dated and furniture broken. The money garnered from the nightclub could be spent on renovating the rooms and giving them a much needed 21st Century facelift.

The worst thing about this hotel though is the nightclub itself. A decision needs to be made as to whether the Russell Court would like to be a hotel or a nightclub, because advertising it as both is deceptive to the guest. It was literally thumping music until 3am both nights, then two to three hours of taxi horns, drunk conversation, screaming, vomiting, police cars/arrests and no sleep whatsoever. According to the Front Desk, taxis are not permitted to drive down Harcourt Street to pick up clubbers. This is simply untrue. We even went as far as to mention this to a passing Garda, and she was disinterested, as the complaint was not from a resident of the street. From what we could see, Harcourt Street has no residents, as nightclubs have now completely taken over.

If you are a disabled guest, don't bother staying, as the lift barely fit one person and two cases. The stairs aren't much better, as they are worn down completely and some have sunk to the point where there is no step left. As others have mentioned, there is no air in any of the rooms. In order to cool the room down, you need only open the window and increase the noise from the street outside. A guest should never have to make a choice between those two options.

Breakfast was decent, but the staff were wearing their shirts from the nightclub, so it made me wonder if they'd actually gone home or not? The orange juice could be chilled, the porridge less salty, but the Full Irish, although not the largest portion size, was tasty.

In summary, this is a "hotel" for nightclubbing guests and nobody else. Regardless of the price, you would be better off paying 20 Euro more for a good nights sleep, so you're not exhausted while attempting to see the great history Dublin has to offer.

Room Tip: Do not face the nightclub, or the street. Try not to get rooms on the first, second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetroglodytes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Worst hotel I've stayed in and that includes a one-star in Paris...3 stars my eye. Room has an irritating smell, as if they've just sanitised a murder scene. I had to pay a security deposit, despite the fact that I had paid upfront with my debit card on checking-in, as I wanted a quick check-in. Then had to wait for my deposit, while they checked I hadn't thrown the 1970s TV out the window Mick Jagger style. Terrible. Rude, intimidating staff. Don't stay here -gives all hotels in Dublin a bad name

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#70 of 150 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#83 of 150 in Dublin
1,169 reviews
Albany House
#63 of 150 in Dublin
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West County Hotel
#84 of 150 in Dublin
312 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 150 in Dublin
1,148 reviews
North City Centre
Kingfisher Townhouse
Kingfisher Townhouse
#68 of 150 in Dublin
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Court Hotel

Address: 21-25 Harcourt Street, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $64 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Russell Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Court Hotel is just off St. Stephen's Green in Dublin city centre. The Georgian-style hotel has great nightlife and individually designed rooms with period furnishings and antiques.The hotel features some of the Dublin’s hottest nightlife. Dicey's Garden is extremely popular with visitors and locals. Russell Court Hotel hosts Krystle and Bojangles nightclubs. Krystle was winner of Best Nightclub in Ireland in 2007,2008 ,2009 ,and 2010.The Russell Court is a hotel for those who like to party with its bars and nightclubs open 7 days a week. Because of this all rooms can be affected by noise. We do not recommend the Russell Court Hotel for those looking "for peace and quiet ". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Russell Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Court Hotel Dublin
Hotel Russell Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing