We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel + friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #50 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel + friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

This was the best hotel I stayed at during my one month trip to Europe. Firstly we got upgraded to a Suite, Suite 7. The horrible part was there was no elevator for our 2 heavy heavy heavy suitcases but it was a Suite. Don't know why we got upgraded but it was a great hotel and very easy to find after taking the Shuttle bus down from the airport to downtown.

Good location, very good service although one of the plasma tv's in the room was broken and noone came to fix it eventho I mentioned it to the receptionist. There were 2 tv's in our room so that was okay - one in front of the bed and one in the living room area!

The hotel is very unique compared to other hotels and I loved the creativity put into it. The purple, reds, pinks. Makes the hotel very welcoming and warm. Best part for me was the duvet/blanket. I dont know what exactly it was but it was the single most comfortable sheets I have ever slept in when it comes to hotels! I need to ask them what they are because I realllly want to buy one myself.

The hotel is 5-10 mins walk from Temple Bar where there are restaurants pubs and bars. I chose this hotel due to all the reviews on trip advisor and so I gave it a try. I usually stick to international brands but this time I chose a local hotel and it was a good choice. Thank you to all the reviews before this that helped me pick this hotel!

No complaints at all. A fantastic experience for me for a first time in Dublin, Ireland!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    1,265
    457
    149
    69
See reviews for
491
1,396
127
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

After doing a lot of research on hotels in Dublin, this was one of my top picks and after getting a really good deal, we booked it, and were very happy with the choice. We arrived before check in (9:12am), and the room was ready. Smooth check in process, nice personnel. Gave us a map of the city, explained some things. The décor was vibrate and fun. The room was smallish, but very nice. You had to leave your key card in a slot in the wall for the lights to work, which was a first for us. Also the hair dryer was in the desk, another first. The beds were very comfortable, which was the most important thing to us. Great location, just down the way from Trinity College and a Hop on Hop Off Bus stop. We were able to rent a power converter because the one we brought didn't work. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristikayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

I stayed a total of three nights at Trinity Capital but had I known the room was going to be as hot and noisy as it was, I would have looked elsewhere. The hotel is beautiful and the staff outstanding but you will not get a quiet nights sleep. The fire department is next door and well Fireman don't sleep on the night shift. I will say that they changed my room after the second night to a much cooler room but the Fireman didn't go away. If you sleep like a log this is the place for you but if you need the room to be cool then forget it. Overall I would recommend it because of the staff being so help and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novice32080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

I regulary go to Dublin for work and stay here...it's v central, stylish, reasonably priced etc. It's true it can be noisy and warm at times but if you want a quiet room ask for hte courtyard area. I also book room only and stayed this weekend for 3 nights and was given free breakfast vouchers for worth e10 each....or so I thought!

A full Irish breakfast costs e15 and when I checked out I was charged e10 per breakfast as the voucher was only for e5! The voucher is very misleading and while e10 isn't bad for breakfast just beware if you get e10 breakfast vouchers!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerfromcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

I got a stay 3 nights pay 2 deal on their website which is a good deal considering the convenient location and standard of the hotel. The lobby and the bar area are really funky and eccentric. The room that I got was really spacious, even though it is in the old wing of the hotel. It's probably best to check if you got the old or the new wing. Not that my room was bad, I love the space I got, but I think I may have just been lucky to have got the corner room. The bathroom could do with a little refurbishment and updating, but it is clean.

Location wise it is an easy walk to Trinity College and all that, so it is pretty centre. However, it is not exactly located in the best looking part of the city centre, and the immediate surrounding does look a bit industrial and dodgy.

I'd recommend this hotel if you are looking for a decent hotel that is within easy to reach the centre of Dublin. But it may not be for those looking for a more upscale and glamorous stay. Well, you get what you pay for, really, and The Trinity Capital is very good value for the price you pay.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

This hotel was very clean and stylish however it was located directly over a fire station which was very noisy throughout the night and morning. The hotel was also extremely hot. We were on the 4th floor and couldn't sleep the heat was so uncomfortable. This was on a rainy day! The next day we found out that fans are available on request from reception. It didn't help that we had to sleep with the window shut due to the noise from the fire station though!! If I was to stay again I would request a fan when making the reservation and a room on the opposite side of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

Great hotel in super location but make sure you're not on the first floor above the fire station. We could hear the fire station's main garage door opening and closing right throughout the night. Asked to be moved but no more rooms available so we paid extra to be upgraded to an executive room - but beware: these rooms don't have air-conditioning! So we had to have the window open all night which of course meant more noise from the street.
Wouldn't stay here again just because of noise levels - maybe it's better if you get a room at the back though. We didn't have the option.
Also staff not particularly friendly - it doesn't make or break a stay for me but it's nice to be greeted with a smile. Also doorman/concierge is hopeless with advice on local restaurants - ask someone else.
Location is great - a short walk to everything and the decor is interesting with lovely restaurant/bar/lobby area.
Rooms were clean and spacious and equipped with everything you'd expect and thick lined curtains keep out the light - but not the noise!
Overall I would recommend the Trinity but only if you specify a room at the back (the view from both sides of the hotel is pretty grim so it doesn't matter - unless you're on the top executive floor in which case you have a lovely view over the cricket green and city to the front).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breck_newbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#41 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing