We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotwire Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #50 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Hotwire Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I am beginning to use the secret hotel booking service Hotwire more and more nowadays and have the confidence to do so because of Trip Advisor ratings.

This hotel vindicated my judgement.

It has quirky decor, but it is confined to the hotel's public areas so if it's not to your taste you don't have to sleep in it.

Breakfast is reasonably priced and of good quality, and I was welcomed by very friendly, Irish, reception staff.

The hotel is in quite a quiet area for a city centre but it is only a very short walk from the action of the Liffey, bars and nightlife of Dublin

Room Tip: Ask to be in the modern annexe (I've forgotten what it was called).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrinityCityHotel, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Gordon C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

Thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel. I have already passed on your kind words to the team and they join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have you the pleasure of welcoming you back again to us.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Regards,
Denyse Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    1,265
    457
    149
    69
See reviews for
491
1,396
127
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

The location is central, the room was modern and what you would expect from a decent hotel, not large but more than adequate. Breakfast was good value and plentiful. Next time in Dublin I will probably book somewhere near St Stevens Green though, just to be closer to the South William Street area where there are more restaurant options nearby. A bit plus is that the room really was quiet as advertised, this was really my main concern.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DunaH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrinityCityHotel, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi DunaH_12,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope it is not too long before we have you the pleasure of welcoming you back again to us in Dublin.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Regards,
Denyse Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I spent only one night at the Trinity, in the middle of Dublin with an excellent location for getting around. The decor is not really what I would choose (a bit over the top), but I must say the bed was absolutely comfortable and the linen thick and crisp. Good toiletries and very good breakfast, lots of options, either continental or Irish breakfast. A good experience, in all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luli O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrinityCityHotel, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Luli,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I have already passed on your kind words to the team and they join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have you the pleasure of welcoming you back again to us in Dublin for more than one night again.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Regards,
Denyse Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

A short walk to Temple Bar and other downtown landmarks, this beautifully decorated hotel is worth a visit. Good service and very nice breakfast buffet. Rooms are spacious and free wifi always nice, although quite common nowadays.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrinityCityHotel, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hi Tommi S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I have already passed on your kind words to the team and they join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have you the pleasure of welcoming you back again to us.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Regards,
Denyse Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here last july and stayed here again this july.The lobby and bar areas are great but missing the large budhas they had before(where have they gone?),Likewise breakfast was fine to.Still an issue and something I commented on last year is that the room was far to warm.Last year it was in the 70's but this year even though it was a lot cooler outside the room was still stuffy and hot.I know some rooms do have air conditioning but I don't know why the room should be so warm when outside its quite a pleasant temperature.When we arrived there was a toenail on the floor by the bed left by a previous guest.The next day we went out about about 10.30am and got back about 3pm.The room hadn't been done so we went to the bar for about 40 mins.came up again and the room was being cleaned so we waited 10 mins for the room to be done and got in about 4pm.The next day we went out about 10am got back about 3.15 and again the room hadn't been done and as we wanted a break before going out we had to forgo having the room cleaned.I found this unacceptable as I think we gave plenty of time to have the room done,the service room sign was on the door and hotels should realise that we do spend some time in the room and not use it just for sleeping.Overall disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padsmcginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrinityCityHotel, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hi padsmcginty,

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay but I am disappointed to read your other comments. Firstly, we do at the moment have 100 bedrooms out of 198 bedrooms with A/C and the rest coming on board soon. Lastly, I have also spoken to the accommodation team following your comments.

In the meantime, should you wish to share any other feedback, please don’t hesitate to contact me at the hotel but I hope the experience will not deter you from revisiting us again in the future.

Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

They made us wait more than 30 minutes to give us the room. We reserved a room with 2 beds and instead they gave us a suite with just 1 bed and a sofa bed that injured my back.
The room was on the third floor, and no elevators were available.
The hotel pretends to be luxurious but it isn't.
There are much better hotels for less, and even better located.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrinityCityHotel, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hi Alejandro A,

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us, which I was disappointed to read.

I am very disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your night sleep with us and to read about the other comments on your stay. I would appreciate, if there are further details, to contact me at the hotel.


Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Bang in the middle of Dublin sharing a wall with a local fire station, the Trinity City Hotel is a great location for exploring the city and getting around. The decor is a little off the wall, a hint of the last third of the film Bettlejuice meets a wannabe steampunk cross-over that's just on the right side of tasteful. Service was grand, food very good but the outstanding thing about this place is the wifi - freely accessible and lightening fast it had no problem streaming HD video for hours on end. As place to park my head for the night on a business trip it done just the job and I'll be choosing to come back here next time I visit Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrinityCityHotel, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hi Gareth R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

Glad you had a pleasant stay with us and yes we are very proud of our 200mb Fibre Connection within the hotel. I do hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us for a business trip again.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Regards,
Denyse Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,660 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#41 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing