We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #50 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A nice hotel for the price. We were there during the heat wave (first in the last ten years) No air conditionting and they ran out of fans It was very hot and stuffy in the room. They are also next to the fire station so it can be a little noisy. So try to get a room away from the station. but all in all I would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank pat33020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,430)
There are newer reviews for Trinity City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,738 - 1,744 of 3,430 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a very avant garde hotel, people looking for a traditional hotel may not like the décor. I on the other hand liked the uniqueness of the place. When you walk into the hotel you see fun, oversized velvet tufted chairs in a variety of colors as well as ornate decorations and a various statuary. The staff was very helpful and friendly! Thankfully we reserved one of the Tara Bedrooms, which was air conditioned. The room was large and as uniquely decorated as the lobby...when I first stepped into the room I felt like I was in a Johnny Depp or Tim Burton movie set. It was fun! But past the décor the room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was very nice and actually traditional in comparison with the room décor. The breakfast buffet was large and the food was good. Parking for the hotel was off site but close. The hotel location is not far from Trinity College and shopping, but it is in a more business than tourist area. One thing I did not like was that we were not allowed to check-out an hour later than normal check-out time. I don't feel this was a 4 start hotel, but it was a nice lace to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hi! I would NOT recommend this hotel for the price you pay, not worth it! At arriving I got a funny look from the staff behind the desk and I don't think she was very polite while checking in. I asked standard questions and she looked at me as though I was stupid (asked for a street she did not know of, not my problem..) well, the rooms were ok but no extraordinary. The wifi only worked in the bathroom. The bed was very hard, slept poorly. My breakfast was not included, my mistake, but for such an expensive hotel, why? I had my son of 4 years old with me, and only one in the staff paid him any attention, I would not say its a childfriendly hotel. I would not stay there again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tregmida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will discuss the points you have made with our team.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I booked the Trinity Capital Hotel for as a place to stay for my brother's stag do (I think we were the only stag do group in the hotel). Having done a lot of research it was a great value 4 star hotel well located in Dublin which satisfied all budgets and tastes (we took the two dads with us and they were both very happy with it). The staff were very friendly, our rooms were very clean, spacious bathroom, access to fee WiFi, flat screen tv, safe, electric fan, hair dryer, kettle and ironing board all in the room. The bar was excellent with outside and inside seating. The breakfast was also very good I would advise booking it within the room rate (25-30% discount I think) as otherwise it can appear quite expensive but it is a very good buffet and you can eat and drink as much as you like. The location is very good only a 7-10 min walk the temple bar region, 3 mins to Trinity College. The reception are very helpful and will call you taxis if you need. Overall great decor, great staff, great breakfast and great location! Top of my list if I head back to Dublin!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njf294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great Georgian Vibe and lovely high ceilings in an airy Georgian styled room.
Large Quirky animal figures throughout main floor and oversized Alice in Wonderland Chairs to relax in as you enter reception.
The Georgian rooms don't have an elevator but staff will help.
Charming details such as the period fireplace.
Long tall windows allow a nice breeze and fans supplement. This is vintage Georgian this part of the hotel.
Staff Friendly and helpful.
Make sure you ask for the Breakfast vouchers to offset half of the cost of the sumptuous buffet breakfast.
An excellent location.
Can walk to Shopping and to Trinity College.
Staff Friendly and helpful.
Felt well rested.
The Tall Tall, ceilings added to the airy relaxed feel of our room
Clean.
Lighting could be brighter in bedroom, but again this is vintage Georgian.
The whimsical animals are fun to search out.

Room Tip: There are rooms served by elevator but the Georgian ones are reached by stair. Nice large bathroom a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BKen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband, daughter and I happened to check in while Dublin was experiencing temps in the mid 70s, which constitutes a problem for a hotel w/o air conditioning. The major problem came with a room assignment on the side of the building that got afternoon sun - you could have baked a cake in there. We asked for, and got, a room on the other side of the building, and that helped - the staff was terribly apologetic for a situation that was not of its making and made fans available, but the building needs a ventilation system badly. All that being said, this is a nice place with a decor that certainly isn't staid. The beds are comfy, bathrooms modern with roomy shower stalls, and the lamps for the bed actually are bright enough to read by. The location is quite good - it's a short walk to Trinity College, Grafton St, museums, and the Temple Bar district. Lighting in the bathroom could be brighter, but that's a minor point. I would certainly recommend the hotel but only in cool weather.

Room Tip: If it's warm, get an odd-numbered room (the side that gets only morning sun).
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Polishfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Recepionst were outstanding! They went above and beyond our expectations in helping resolve a luggage issue for us. The location could not have been any better. I would not consider staying any other place in Dublin other than Trinity Capital Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bobkoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#39 of 150 in Dublin
2,874 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 150 in Dublin
916 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,549 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $166 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing