We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eastern Promise Western Delight”
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #48 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This trip was an Christmas Gift from my sons who thought as we like visiting different places why not try Dublin for their warmth and hospitality.(mind we needed it as the temperature outside was a mere 2 degrees).
Upon our arrival we were met with a friendly smile from Francheska (who I found out was Hungarian) at the reception and explained this was our first visit to Dublin and said we can have a free upgrade.
The hotel entrance and through to the Courtyard had some of the finest furniture and fittings we have ever seen before, mostly all original items imported from countries in the east (Egyptian Earthenware ,Statues and the largest mirrors we have ever seen..
Our room was spacious and modern with a spotless bathroom and a Six Foot bed that did not look out of place. The Irish breakfast was fantastic our waiter called Brian forgot our milk for the coffee and for the times we saw him again he kept apologising( a bit of friendly banter kept up during our two night stay) Food was excellent even the lovely wine washed our meals down well. We can highly recommend this hotel for it's terrific atmosphere and ambience with staff always being so helpful .a great hotel with character in a very central position. I give it a 5 star hotel rating if it was up to me instead of it's 4.

Room Tip: For a large spacious room (families) try the executive rooms above believe or not the fire station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to see that you had an enjoyable time with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Franciska. We are very fortunate to have such a welcoming Front Office team, and Franciska is regulary singled out for praise by our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,047 - 2,053 of 3,546 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Arrived early on a rainy friday morning from Bristol, found the bus at the airport easy to use, tickets purchased from machine (10 euros return), only thing was the traffic to the hotel, must of been morning rush hour as it took about 45 minutes to get there!

On entering the hotel we were greeted by hotel the reception staff who offered small towels to dry ourselves off. Left bags behind reception as rooms not ready till 2pm. Went exploring in the rain.

Returning back to the hotel we got our keys to our rooms, the rooms themselves were fantastic, really clean, lovely decor and complimentary tea and coffee. Also no need to have bought my hairdryer as there was one in the room, along with ironing board and iron!

Couldnt fault the staff, all friendly and hepful with their local knowledge of where to go etc, what to see. The breakfast was great, from toast, cereals, fruit, full Irish breakfast and continental.

Really reccomend this hotel, would definately go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Avoid this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing break in Dublin.
This hotel caters for hen nights and stag nights and is very expensive for what they offer.
Location is what you are paying for , however there are far better hotels in the vicinity for the same price. The lobby reminded me of a train sation and the reception is understaffed for the volume of check ins.
The hotel is very dark, and while some people might like this atmosphere, I was concerned as to what the very limited lighting in both the rooms and common areas was hiding.!!!!
Fo a few eUros extra you could stay in the wesbury or westin and have a far better experience. This hotel was not for me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KildareCian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. We do very accasionally cater for smaller hen and stag partys. At all times we try to manage these groups so as to ensure our other guests are not disturbed.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again and give you the real Trinity Capital Hotel experience.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have stayed here a few nights for work night outs. It's perfect location for a night out in the city or shopping trip. Hotels decor is trendy & modern. Rooms are spotless and decor is lovely. We will definitely stay here again. We have never eaten here but cocktails were great. Staff very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkGal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel was centrally located by the university. It was clean and and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast bar was very good with lots of options. The food was very good both lunch and dinner. The bar was very inviting. Hotel is clean. It could use some updates.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here st paddys night.It was a little expensive but that was because of the date.Arrived at the hotel and was taken in by the funky decor and friendly staff.The receptionist inform me that we had a complimentary upgrade to one of the Tara bedrooms.Got to the room and found a beautifully laid out room with high windows and funky furniture.Bed was very comfortable and bathroom was lovely.Was a little noisy with traffic throughout the night but could have been due to paddys day.Overall stay very good.Would stay again if the price is right.

Room Tip: Tara rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kttoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great price and location..the hotel is clean, and has a trendy feel. Centrally located within walking distance to the city center and 10 minute walk to Temple Bar. We did not eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on that, but we did have cocktails at the end of the night in the bar area which was also fun and trendy. The hotel decor is very cool - would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurasimpson519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 150 in Dublin
992 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
2,391 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#58 of 150 in Dublin
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#15 of 150 in Dublin
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Dublin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $151 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing