We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great location”
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #52 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Great location”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for 6 days on our first trip to Dublin. We really enjoyed our stay here!

We first arrived a few hours before check-in. We were really jet lagged and it probably showed on our faces b/c the girl at the front desk offered to take our luggage and try to find us a room. It took about an hour, but was still 2 hours before check in which was nice. The room was nice, tidy and looked just like the picture on the website. The bed was large, the bathroom was nice and modern. We slept in daily, so left our room about noon and when we returned our room had always been cleaned. We stayed in the Courtyard rooms, which are the budget rooms but it was more than enough and exceeded my expectations. Apparently there are no air conditioners in the courtyard rooms, but since it is February we didn't need it.

The hotel itself is very unique. As many have commented before it looks like something out of Alice and Wonderland. Very large furniture in the lobby, lots of mirrors and unique accent pieces, very fun.

There's free WiFi which is awesome. There's also a small exercise room with a treadmill, an elliptical, a stair stepper, a yoga mat and a balance ball. There's water and fresh towels provided in the exercise room with is a plus.

The location was GREAT! Walking distance from all major attractions and pubs in Dublin, but tucked away so not right in the middle of it all. Just what I like.

There were 2 cons and that was the thin walls and the food. We could hear everything going on in the hallway and could hear voices from the rooms adjacent to us. This was a bit disturbing on those nights when we just wanted to crash early. We decided to have our last meal in the hotel bar and boy were we disappointed. The prices for the bar food weren't bad, but the taste was. I had the pasta arrabiata and it was very bland. My fiancé had the burger and there was a huge hunk of not so tasty mayonnaise on it. The pasta was so far from what was advertised (no sundried tomatoes, no garlic) that I mentioned it to the waiter. When I did he said he would tell the chef. He returned a while later to say that the chef himself tasted the sauce and agreed that it was bland. He apologized and took the charge off the bill. That was very nice of them.

All in all a great stay that I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: No A/C in Courtyard rooms in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY2theWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

We have air-conditioning in our executive rooms and suites, but unfortunately not in our standard rooms. I'm sorry to hear that you were dissappointed with the taste of the food in the restaurant, however I'm happy to see that the staff took your remarks seriously and tried to rectify the issue.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,357
    1,286
    472
    152
    73
See reviews for
503
1,431
132
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great location next to Trinity College and the center of Dublin. bring your flab light with you as the rooms are so dingy. The style is funky yet struggling to find its identity. Pay attention to the room you pick-- every room is different. We had to check out 5 rooms before we settled on the Georgian Suite for an additional cost.

Room Tip: The rooms vary a lot. Avoid the third floor rooms that have no windows but only skyelight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

The Trinity Capital Hotel consists of several buildings, and the rooms are indeed different from eachother - we have a large variety of room types available to book to reflect this. I'm sorry to read that you found the athmosphere dingy, a lot of effort has gone into the decor and styling of the hotels public areas and rooms.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Easy to find from the AirCoach stop (5 minute walk), when you walk in it has a huge WOW factor, the décor is amazing - where do they get the huge chairs from!!! We booked a king room with a Jacuzzi bath and it was lush. You have a double door which opens up like a TARDIS to be met by the huge bed and again amazing décor. The bathroom was lovely - a little dated and showed signs of age (especially the yellow curtain and the seal around the bath) - that said the spa bath was wonderful both me and my wife sat in it with a take away pizza and a Guinness from the hotel. The shower was disappointing but in fairness we used it to wash hair nothing else. We only used the TV for background noise but one thing to improve? Get a flat screen TV - they are cheap enough - but not complaining as the channel selection was good and it worked!!! The buffet breakfast was great value and had a tremendous spread of continental and cooked items - all help yourself (12 euros each) Staff were polite and friendly, especially the bar staff which also had a good tariff considering it is a 4 star hotel.

Dublin is an amazing place to go - will definitely visit again and probably stay again at the Trinity Capital Hotel - strongly recommend this classy boutique hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baggyboy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
424 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Everything is within easy walking, the Central Bus Station where we took a +2hr coach to Belfast, the Connolly Rail Station, the Tara Station where we took a 25 mins Dart line to Howth, the Grafton Street where shopping was done, Temple Bar, and of course the Trinity College which is just on the opposite.

Room clean spacious with everything you need, but TV channels are limited. Bed comfy but a bit small. Shower strong and hot. Staff ok and buffet breakfast is Irish style, tasty and fresh (we paid an extra of 12 pounds each person).

There is a SPAR convenient store nearby, but it's not 24 hr.

We had a nice stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissHK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is one of the best hotels in Dublin. Perfect location, great rooms, fabulous bar and restaurant and the service was fantastic. Grafton St is less than 5 minutes walk - great shopping, bars and restaurants. Henry St another 5 minutes away, great shopping. Did I say shopping?? This hotel is in the best position to shop, have a few beers, chill out and just enjoy Dublin. Perfect for business travellers too. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Hotels nowadays are often pretty bland and uniform places.....the Trinity Capital couldn't be more different! The public areas are gloriously dramatic - out-sized furniture, huge mirrors and dramatic chandeliers, and a colour scheme of purple, red and gold - like a cross between Alice in Wonderland and an 18th century bordello, but really quite fabulous for it. The bedrooms are slightly less dramatic but keep with a toned down version of the same theme. The receptionist was friendly and helpful; the full Irish breakfast was hearty and filling; the bathroom was spotlessly clean and well appointed; the hotel has free wifi throughout (it's a real bug bear of mine if you have to pay for an internet connection in a hotel) and a small fitness room/gym; and all only a couple of minutes walk from Temple Bar and Grafton Street. There are things which could be improved (there is no air con in the standard rooms, and the TVs look very out of date not being flat screens) but these are minor quibbles really. For the money (I paid £125 per night for a room for 2 including full Irish breakfast, on one of the business weekends of the year for Dublin tourism) I think the place represents excellent value for money and I will certainly return.

Room Tip: If air con is important to you, you need to book an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed the decor of the hotel, we are hoping to replace the last of the televisions this year, so that all rooms will have flat-screens.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Well located hotel in the city Centre. We were greeted upon arrival by a friendly member of staff. She told us where to grab a quick bite to eat as we had arrived about 9pm. We had to sort out parking and although they validated the ticket for a set price, it was hard to find and you had to get out of your car and punch in a code and it was kinda dodge. The decor of the hotel is quirky and fun and I enjoyed it! The bedroom was clean and spacious. The only thing was it was sooo hot at night and I tried to locate a thermostat in the room but couldn't find one. Eventually in the wee hours of the morning we opened the window. This was fine at first but then early in the a.m. the traffic below started and it wasn't enjoyable. We did have a drink in the bar and it was grand. I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guinnessfeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

Most of our rooms are heated by radiators and have individual regulators, some rooms have Air-Conditioning and electronic thermostats.

I'm happy to read that you would stay with us again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,738 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,197 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 151 in Dublin
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,462 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trinity City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing