We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #51 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay.... Comfortable bed, funky decor and nice bar. Cracking breakfast and friendly staff. Close to all the action..

Only issue stay away from the doubles on spirts and stay on the guiness at the bar.... Pricey

Less than 300m from the tour buses and templebar.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,307
    1,252
    451
    146
    69
See reviews for
479
1,382
125
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here for only one night and we will be going back. We were met by the unique velvet chairs in the outer lobby, giving us a taste of the decor to come. The lobby happily bombards you with so much to see, from oversized purple chaise, to gilt statues, mirrors and chandeliers. We were welcomed by Anna on reception, who was very friendly, efficient and extremely helpful. We walked past the two baby grand pianos to the lift for the rooms. The hotel feels like a haven and is very secure, as you need to use your keycard to access the lifts.
The rooms are decorated in dark woods with accents of the main hotel colours of purple, reds and pinks in the curtains, cushions and chairs. This is very complimentary, as it lends to a more restful ambience. The bathroom is well equipped and we found both this and the bedroom spotlessly clean.
The entire hotel public areas are also spotlessly clean, not even a cobweb on the statues!
Breakfast was good and filling and constantly being replenished. A full buffet of fruit, cold meats, cheeses, cereals, different breads and rolls, hot food of a full irish breakfast was on offer and tea and coffee were brought to your table.
The staff are very friendly and at breakfast I noticed that instead of the restaurant manager barking orders, she saw her staff were busy with customers and re-set the tables herself and smiled at her staff.
We were very relaxed and delighted with our stay and we will return. The Hotel and staff compliment each other and the entire hotel team are to be praised in their excellent work and service.

Room Tip: Opt for the Courtyard side of the hotel as the road is very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
I'm delighted to read your glowing review, especially the comments about the relaxing ambience and cleanliness.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Staff all very friendly, buffet breakfast was good, we were in a room overlooking the fire station and were worried about noise, however I have no complaints of noise during the night, in fact it's one of the quietest nights I have experienced in a city centre hotel. My only gripe is there is no heating in the bathroom and at winter it would be nice to have hot towels, also the curtains are so thick they stop the heat coming from the radiator so rooms was cold too, had to bunch all the curtains onto the windowsill to let the heat out, for a short stay in Dublin it's a good choice, I liked the dark rich decor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Had a lovely stay. The decor is so creative and relaxing. We were only able to stay for one night unfortunately. All staff we met were lovely and friendly, especially the night staff in the bar. Pawel I think was one of the bar mans name, so pleasant, chatty and professional. Ate out while we were there so can't comment on the food. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
241 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We wanted to return to the Brooks Hotel at the end of our trip but it was fully booked. After searching for another hotel that was centrally located, I found this one located across from Trinity College. It offered a very competitive Last Minute rate. Walking into the lobby of this hotel is like a Lion King Nightmare, with chair backs standing 8 feet high in an African motif. The front desk was not as friendly as others experienced elsewhere in Ireland but we did get checked-in and received directions to park our car in a muddy, dirt lot a block away. The room was the smallest of our trip but it was clean. We had an issue with noise from Pearse Street during the first night. The noise was much diminished the second night when I realized that an outer window was open. Another issue we had was the lamp shades were an opaque red which prevented light from entering the room. These shades made it impossible to read in bed at night. The morning breakfast was in the Cairo Café. We had a small issue the first morning when the hostess said that our rate did not include breakfast. I showed her my evidence that breakfast was included and she handled the problem pleasantly that morning and was also very nice to us the next morning. Breakfast was only from a buffet and compared to other places we stayed on the trip, it was of the lowest quality and offered the less variety.

Room Tip: This was the worse room of our 10 night trip. Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnGalt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'm sorry to read that you did not enjoy the style and decor of the hotel. I'm dissappointed to see that you found the staff on the front desk to be less friendly and the breakfast buffet less satisfactory than at other hotels you have visited.
We pride ourselves on having friendly staff and good quality food, and most of our reviews on Tripadvisor would reflect this.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
129 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The interior decor of the Trinity Capital is funky, but really cool! Rooms are nice as well, less flamboyant than the lobby, but last time I was there I saw you can upgrade for little money to larger rooms, or rooms with Jacuzzi. Maybe an option if you want to make your stay a bit more special.
The room I stayed was newly renovated, and everything worked fine. Bathroom is large and the work desk is big enough to work on a laptop.
I read the hotel has a fitness room, although I didn't have time to visit it this time. However there's a large fitness/leisure centre almost next to the hotel, if you want to swim or have a good workout.
Breakfast was good, with enough hot and cold choices.
The hotel is in front of Trinity College, excellent position in Dublin, both for leisure and work. It's a 15 min pleasant walk to the Congress Centre, for instance.
If you have some spare time, visit the Science Gallery, just two minutes from the hotel on the same street. It's also a good place to have coffee or lunch if you are in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: The hotel is next to a fire dept. station, so you may want to ask for a room away from it if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bingo_the_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
294 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Ditto on all of the positives stated about this hotel by other reviewers. The room was spacious and comfortable. We had asked for a 'quiet' room, and they put us in a room in the 'Tara' wing. We did not hear anything from the street, but did hear our neighbors through the relatively thin walls. We, too, had a problem with the room temperature.

Still, all in all, we would return to this hotel when visiting Dublin again. The staff was terrific, the food was very good, and the positives outweigh the negatives - without question!

Room Tip: Ask for a 'quiet' room in the Tara section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,623 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Jetsetter, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing