We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #52 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night and thoroughly enjoyed experience. Service good, staff very helpful, room good, breakfast and food good and great to have car parking so handy in city centre! A minor grumble would be that although you can leave your bag an earlier check in would be preferential and a better, more iPad friendly, website would be of benefit.

Would recommend and will be back!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CSferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
Unfortunately it is very difficult to guarantee an earlier check in than 2pm. If a room is ready earlier that suits a guests reservation we always allow earlier check in, we just couldn't guarantee it from a practical point of view.

I have taken note of your comment regarding the website on Ipads - we do have a dedicated site for Iphones/Androids, but currently the main website is default on Ipads/Tablets.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,357
    1,286
    472
    152
    73
See reviews for
503
1,431
132
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Rverything, fron booking to checking out was flawless! Service great! Even the bar man went out of his way to perfect the drinks... Room amazing (booked an executive king) - huge, clean and very cool interiors, of course this can be a matter of taste...
Come back?? Of course!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank John Andre A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We stay here quite often just for a mini break. Room decor and overall hotel decor is quite funky not what you would usually expect. It's a great location in the city centre. The bar is good and food is above average and good value. The breakfast buffet offers a great selection also. If you can get a deal or are splashing out try one of the Georgian suites.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you like quirky and colourful (as long as those colours are dark) then you'll love Trinity Capital Hotel. I quite liked the hotel, although it suffered the same problem all hotels seem to be prone to - too much noise penetrating the room from the hallway. It wasn't helped by the fact that the lift seemed to be haunted and would stop on my floor every now and then and 'bong' repeatedly. I had also specifically requested a quiet room, away from the lift and stairs, and guess what I got? Yup, a room close to the lift.
However, the service was very nice, both on the front desk and in the restaurant. The room service chicken with cous-cous was so-so, but the avocado and tomato salad was nice, and the breakfast buffet was faultless. The coffee was good too.
The biggest problem I had was the low level of light in the room. There were 4 lamps in the room, all with 40 watt bulbs, which meant you could barely see anything. On the plus side, what I could see seemed very clean.
Overall, not a bad stay, but room for improvement.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank u_luv_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We always try to meet all room requests, but unfortunately it can not always be done. I would recommend contacting the reception as soon as possible to see if they can help you and maybe change your room if that's required.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were a group of 24 guests who went to Dublin for the rugby! Excellent hotel, great location, front desk staff extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Rooms were fantastic and beautifully furnished along with the rest of the hotel, nice and different!
Overall a superb stay, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you and your fellow Rugby fans back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
268 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is situated perfectly if you like to walk to the most popular shopping areas and attractions in the city. The hotel itself is very colorful, so if you like a minimalistic style – this hotel is definitely not it. Huge furniture and a mix of old and new styles fill the hotel.

The room was very spaces and comfortably. The bathroom needed a shape, but clean and. The TV from early 90s manifested that there were some years since the hotel was renovated last time.

The breakfast was like you get it in most of british hotels.

From my point of view the hotel is a good choice for a weekend in Dublin, it’s not average, but not very good either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norwegiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Great service, great value for money. Very centrally located In Dublin. We would stay here again. Rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is very helpful around the city, the consierge is very knowledgable.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank arctickoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,735 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,197 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 151 in Dublin
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,462 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trinity City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing