We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best reception and lobby ever”
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best reception and lobby ever”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great position for Trinity Grafton Street and in the other direction,OConnol street and with the city tour bus stops handy for further afield. But the hotel itself is so brilliantly styled you should visit it's lobby or bar as part of your Dublin list of things to do. We loved it. Great breakfast and a every nationality staying.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesusangeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,371
    1,294
    477
    154
    74
See reviews for
508
1,444
132
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were in Dublin for a concert at the O2 so stayed here for just 2 nights in a standard double room. All previous comments sum the placed up, entering the foyer my partner exclaimed 'Wow'!
The public area all got a similar reaction from her (and I). Great place to sit, even for a coffee. We didn't get a chance to eat there in the evenings but the breakfast was a very well serviced hot and cold buffet, plenty to choose from.
One tip: one our return from the O2 which is away from the City Centre, we came upon great Pub - O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse. Only a short walk from the hotel left on Pearse Street.
Only negatives I can think of:
We were at the back of the hotel and there was a din (sounded like someone trying to start an old diesel engine) at 7am which turned out to be the staff dealing with the laundry! I think that could be done a little later or with less noise.
We didn't stay long enough!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrynEastSx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We staid 3 nights at the Trinity Capital Hotel, and really liked the hotel. The location is perfect, right next to Trinity College. The hotel is charming and quiet. The staff is trully friendly, and the bar really cool!
We were upgraded to a room with a jaccuzzi, such a nich surprise!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel 3 times to date for short city breaks and will be back again. The location is excellent, with any number of good pubs and restaurants within a short stroll. (Mc Turcaills around the corner is a nice city pub, and great value at 3.60 for a pint of very good Guinness. The car park for the hotel is just behind this pub.)
The decor is fantastic in this hotel, eclectic and interesting. The rooms and lounge/dining areas have a feeling of luxury to them with a lot of nice touches that lift it above the ordinary. We stayed this time in the Tara rooms and the upgrade to an executive room was well worth it in terms of space and comfort. The bed was huge and the mattress was very soft and comfortable.
Staff are efficient and pleasant, and the general atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly. The bar was quite busy when we were there but the staff managed well. The bar food is very good and came surprisingly fast considering how busy the staff were at the time.
The thing that really stands out about this hotel for me is the wow factor in the beautiful furniture and decor in every part of it, because it gives you the feeling that you are cocooned in luxury, but with a quirky twist everywhere you look, such as the purple hallways with mirrored doors and the interesting maps of Ireland, or the giant armchairs in the lobby...its just fun to be in such nice surroundings!
Staying here always feels like such a treat and I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Dublin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonardCohenFan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
I'm delighted to read that you have enjoyed staying with us and especially that you have already returned! There is no better recommendation like return visitors!
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

From the outside this place looks like any other hotel but just open the front doors and you're immediately transported into a magical exciting place very reminiscent of Alice and Wonderland! The front entrance starts with these giant chairs in rich purples and reds and blues with large dog statues! It continues on to the reception which has plush extremely oversize lounge chairs and the front desk has vintage luggage displayed on the shelves. The hallways are painted in pinks and purples and the rooms are really unique!
We stayed for 4 nights and each day our room was refreshed and tidied up like the first day. The bathroom was quite large and had a jacuzzi tub. The king size bed was comfy but we were glad we found the extra pillows in the closet as the ones on the bed were kind of flat. The room was quite warm when we arrived but we opened up the windows and left them open throughout most of the stay and it kept the room comfortable. The Hotel is located above a Fire station but it never bothered us.
The restaurant and bar area continue on with the wonderment of the decor. The bar is called Cafe Cairo and has a very lavish Egyptian style. While it was quiet on the first couple nights, Friday night it became a hot spot! The staff was very attentive and were able to interact with everyone! The lounge offers two pianos, one black, and one white. On Friday night they had a singer and piano players to entertain the crowd.
We really enjoyed our stay and found the location perfect. We were just a couple blocks from the University which was a stop on the Hop on Hop Off tour. This is a great ticket to buy as it's good for 2 days and you can see all the sites you want throughout Dublin.
This was a truly unique hotel and we really enjoyed our stay! Hope we can visit again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel in the future.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A very comfortable trendy hotel in the centre of the bustling city and just a short walk from Grafton Street. Friendly, efficient staff with vibrant comfortable,surroundings. We met friends from the UK and I would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing hotel stay in Dublin.

We will certainly be back !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

ROOM : we had a double room, big enough for two. Bed comfortable, very clean, tea/coffee facilities, good wifi inside the room, bathroom was nice too. I liked the decoration and colors, it was a very nice room.
Be advice of the noise. Everyday, more than once, we could ear a bell ringing from the building outside, it was very loud and could ring until 11pm. It woke me up one night. We complain about it but the hotel acted like they didn't know about it... I seriously doubt this because it happen 5-6 times a day and everyday we were there... I don't think we were the first one to ear it...

AIRPORT : very easy, with the city link bus. The bus stop is 4-5 min walk to the hotel, very convenient. Inside the bus it is easy to find the right stop to the hotel.

We had diner once and it was very good. The service at the bar is good. The service from the hotel is so so. They forgot everyday to bring new soap and shampoo, we had to get it ourself. At the reception they seems to avoid clients, weird. But we still had a great stay there since we didn't have any major problem. I would stay there again if it's a deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
The bell you have mentioned is likely to be the silent alarm in the fire station, they do not ring their full sirens if they can avoid it. It can be heard in some of our rooms, and bothers some guests while others find it no nuisance at all.
I have taken note of your comments on the housekeeping staff and the service at reception and, we appreciate your comments.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel in the future.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
2,775 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,225 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#47 of 151 in Dublin
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,494 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing