We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding reception review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #51 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wedding reception review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you are interested in having an intimate main wedding reception of 50 guests or under the Trinity Capital Hotel in Dublin is a superb venue. It couldn't be more centrally located – right beside Trinity College. The Capital is a four star hotel, with a uniquely exotic and stylish decor. It was the first venue we considered and those that we subsequently viewed left us under-whelmed in comparison. In our experience, there can be a certain atmosphere of exclusivity in hotels of this calibre. In the Capital, the staff could not have been more down to earth, welcoming and helpful.

We were very fortunate to have Amanda Brolly, Reservations and Events Manager as our main support in planning the reception. She was completely reliable throughout our contact with her – responding promptly to every communication and acting on any requests we made immediately. She was highly discerning in her judgement of how everything should be laid out on the day. Amanda also dealt with the room reservations for our guests. Her efficiency took a lot of stress off our shoulders and was all the more impressive in that she was carrying out these tasks at very short notice – we had been quite late in organising our wedding.

John Pigott was the Capital's Duty Manager on the night before the wedding and throughout the reception and afters. He was in fact with us until we left on the afternoon of the day after. John put in a virtuoso performance from start to finish. He was consistently thorough and supportive at each step, and without ever making us feel crowded. There were so many individual touches to his management of the event (not to mention the pre and post events) that went beyond any level of service we had ever experienced. The rapport that John established with our guests is one of the main reasons that many of them have made plans to stay at the Trinity Capital on their next trip to Dublin.

We departed slightly from the standard wedding schedule – our ceremony was at 11:30; our drinks reception started at around 13:00 and we had our dinner at 15:30. A DJ played from about 20:00 to 00:30. Although we finished up earlier than most weddings we got very positive feedback from our guests on this format. Increasing the tempo of the schedule slightly helped to maintain people's energy and interest.

The Trinity Capital function room accommodates approximately forty guests when round tables are being used. We sacrificed a bit on space and managed to include ten more guests by using rectangular tables. The room was stunning and the food was perfectly cooked. We had sixty extra people for the afters but the hotel could easily have catered for at least twice that amount. The Capital's selection of evening food was in keeping with the elegance and excellence of all that came before it.

The Trinity Capital staff ensured that we were able to keep the stress of the wedding to a minimum and they helped create an atmosphere in which all our guests felt welcome. The seemed to be really enjoying the event and could not have been more professional or accommodating in their dealings with us. All of our guests were highly impressed with their rooms. Our wedding suite was the ultimate in comfort and classiness -- friends and family who dropped in usually took a few minutes to form sentences after they had finished gasping. And as well as all this, we got excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 52Leeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Trinity Capital Hotel - I really appreciate the detailed description of our suitability as a wedding venue. It is a honour to be chosen for such an important day, and I'm very happy to read your comments about our staff. We try very hard to make sure that all our staff provide the service levels required for such a special event!

All the best wishes for your the future, and we hope to welcome you back to the Trinity Capital hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,307
    1,252
    451
    146
    69
See reviews for
479
1,382
125
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed there late September for several nights. Our room was very nice, large, clean and quiet.
We never heard fire engines though we were over the station. Nice courtyard view. Friendly staff and an excellent location near the City Centre. We walked to everything, Temple Bar, Grafton Street, Cathedrals, and it's blocks to the Hop on Hop off bus. Also convenient that there is a Spar market around the corner for any last minute needs. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandradot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to be able to welcome you back again should you return to Dublin.

Best Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I loved this hotel and our stay. My husband and I were meeting up in ireland for a well deserved holiday and we stayed here 3 nights while in dublin. The staff were fabulous and went out of their way to accomodate us . I loved the quirky entry and reception area.
It was quiet and we felt very at home. The included breakfast was delicous and so too was the other food we ordered throughout our stay. The location was fantastic for us, and we could easily walk to pubs restuarants, and city sites. Highly recommend the BraZen head during your visit too for good irish food (officially oldest pub in ireland) which is 30 minutes walk along the river.
We actually travelled in March 2011 but the selection did not go back that far.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j_is_back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to be able to welcome you back again should you return to Dublin.

Best Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

"Taste is not up for discussion" - this relates to the striking colors this hotel employs. According to other reviews may guests liked them, we did not. But this should not be the decisive point.

Overall, we found this hotel OK but not more. House-keeping did a proper job, but often came very late to our room (maybe management should hire a few more people?). Breakfast was somewhat uninspired and replenishing at at the buffets was rather slow.

The location fully satisfied our expectations because we had to divide our activities between the city and the convention center - it is situated between those two, slightly closer to the city. But there are more central locations if you want to concentrate on the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreshMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, I have passed on your comments on housekeeping to the departmental manager. On a general note I'd say that housekeeping staff generally go to departed rooms first so as not to disturb guests who may be spending time in their room in the morning or early afternoon, as well as to ensure that arriving guests can get their rooms as early as possible.

With regards to the decor I can only agree with you - it's a question of taste as the style is quite different from most hotels I know.

Best Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed there 3 nights upon arrival in Dublin. Great place to stay to sightsee in Dublin. Convenient to the "hop on hop off" bus.. could explore Dublin easily from there. Staff was great, breakfast was good, room was good and clean... recommend this be at the top of your list when stying in Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to be able to welcome you back again should you return to Dublin.

Best Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Baden, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed @ Trinity Capital for 6 nights, the hotel is in a very convenient location. Easily walkable to numerous attractions, restaurants and pubs. Directly across from Trinity College, and just around the corner from the Green Hop on Hop off bus. We stayed in an executive room which has air conditioning, not that it was warm during our stay, but it helped to keep the room from being stuffy.
The room is a great size, and had a good layout. the only complaint about the room would be the lighting in the bathroom . It is quite dim for doing makeup, etc. There is not an outlet for hairdryer or curling iron in the bathroom, but I think that is normal for Europe ( no GFI). The room did not have a window , but the 2 skylights were nice. We only had breakfast @ the restaurant once, it was sufficient for a buffet.
Front desk staff were helpful and friendly.The bar was nice for an end of night cocktail.Bela was the friendliest bartender we met, asking where we were from, were we enjoying our stay, just trying to make us feel welcome. Overall we would recommend the Trinity Capital for a nice stay .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Epic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to be able to welcome you back again should you return to Dublin.

Best Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Staying at this hotel while on town for 1 night for work. Get in and the room isn't ready so I go and get breakfast. €12 for cold eggs and stale bread. After breakfast go back and still no room and the staff is incredibly unhelpful in letting me know when one will be available. I have a meeting and would like to shower, brush my teeth, and change after being on a plane for 8 hours. I have stayed at many hotels in Dublin and never had this problem before.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsgTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

Our check in time is 2pm and unfortuantely if the hotel has been full the night before we are not always able to accommodate guests who arrive in the morning. We do always try our best and on most occassions a room will be ready well before the check in time - it is however very difficult to tell in advance exactly when a room suitable for a specific reservation would be ready. It would only add to a guests dissappointment if we give a specific time and are unable to deliver on this promise.

I have sent your comment on the breakfast quality on to the Food and Beverage department - we do usually get very good feedback on the quality and value of our breakfast buffet.
Best Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,623 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing