We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel a little dated”
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #51 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel a little dated”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Stayed 2 nights about €65/night, standard room

Pros
- Location - 10min walk to Temple Bar/O'Connell Sts (and airlink bus)
- Old style boutique hotel, furnishings getting a little dated maybe refubishment/refreshment required.
- Free wifi

Cons
- Staff did their job but not overtly welcoming/friendly attitude
- Very dark in the room. too much mood lighting needs to have more light if required.
- No airconditioning/heating just one window (with no netting - opens straight onto safety balcony connected to several rooms)
- Firestation directly behind hotel - can be a little noisy at night (we were on second floor directly facing the large firestation

Booked through expedia and was told when arrived that hotel was closed the next day (23Dec2011) and they had prebooked room at nearby hotel - they should really have let us know as soon as they knew they would be shut so that we could arrange alternative accommodation or take up their offer. Other hotel was a further 15mins from this place east further away from the city centre - other hotel turned out to be very nice and we were only there for one night. Staff did provide complimentary transport to new hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prozerran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,370
    1,293
    476
    154
    74
See reviews for
507
1,442
132
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed here with friends as part of my husband's 50th birthday celebrations. Hotel has very interesting decor. We were all upgraded to a Georgian suite.Our room was very dark. The bathroom was very light though with a great swivel mirror for doing make-up! I have to agree though with a previous review regarding the shower. The shower screen was ill fitting and didn't have the usual rubber seal against the edge of the bath - and as the shower was quite powerful a lot of water leaked over the edge and onto the floor soaking the floor and bath mat. If I was being really fussy I would also say that the sink was very small and shallow and took a long time for the hot water to come through. Our bedroom was huge and a bit cold. The heating system didn't appear to be working. I called Reception and someone came up straight away to take a look and then came back with an electric heater to plug in for us. The bed was huge and very comfy. The staff were very friendly. One waitress in particular seemed very proud to be an employee. The bar food was very good - particularly the Seafood Chowder, the tuna wrap and the spring rolls. Good location - walking distance to all city centre attractions. Heard the sirens from the fire station at about 1am on both nights wer were there. Would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valgarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

the hotel located in a good part of town. it cost about 23 euro to get there by taxi from dublin airport, may cost more when traffic is bad. i went everywhere in dublin on foot because of the excellent location of the hotel. it was right next to a fire station so no worry about fire. there was also a spar convenient shop around the corner.

browsing through the photos, i just know i got one of those worst rooms that have not been re-decorated yet. but nevermind, the location and price were more important to me. stayed in a standard double room for 4 nights. the room was on the street side, there were double glazed doors in front of double glazed windows, so extra insulation and acoustic. the room was very warm. there was no noise from the street and fire station, but the noise came from inside the hotel. the wall on the corridor side was very thin and there was hardly any acoustic at all. first night i was woken up by a boy crying outside the corridor, i actually thought the boy came into my room and cried on my hallway, the sound just went right through the wall. the second night i was woken up by a loud water running sound, it was so loud that i thought my room was leaking due to heavy rain. i switched on the light to check this big patch of watermark on the corner of the ceiling next to window, there were also water running marks on the wall right below it. that was not really assuring, wasn't it? so i went out of bed and checked if the water was coming in, gladly no, the wall was dry, but why fixed the leak but not repaint the ceiling and wall? is this really a four star hotel? and why have the rain gutter inside the wall?

anyway, the rest of the decor was outdated, the tv was an old bulky one. there was no sky or digital channels, only the basic ones. wifi was free and ok. there was no socket near the tea tray, so have to move the bulky tv to one side in order to use the kettle. there was ironing facilities, hair dryer and a safe inside cupboard. bed was ok, comfy enough. bathroom was clean and ok in size. toiletries included body lotion so that was convenient. there was not enough towel rail around the wash basin. toilet roll holder was too far away from the toilet bowl. shower was bad, inconsistent water pressure.

staff were ok but not much of a smile. breakfast cost 12 euro so i didn't bother. plenty of choice in town and only a 5 min walk. tea and coffee making facilities were available in room and was refilled sufficiently everyday. never tried the restaurant and bar so no comment.

Room Tip: it doesn't matter which side of the building you are staying, there is hardly any noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood,Fl
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Well located, friendly staff, well priced. Quirky decor and comfortable rooms. Very clean. Wifi was sporatic but worked fine if using an ethernet cable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights for our anniversary and was very impressed.
We were a bit early for check in so left our bags with reception while we had some lunch in the city.
When we got back to the hotel the friendly lady on reception informed up we had a free room upgrade from King room to Executive suite which was a lovely surprise.
The room itself was huge and very well decorated.
A few negatives would be the aircon/heating was very loud at times and even when it was turned off it still made noises every half an hour or so (but not too loud). We were right above the fire station exit so on 3-4 occasions you could hear the sirens and see flashing blue lights but luckily this was just in the day/early evening, not in the middle of the night.
We had a pizza from the room service menu for dinner on our first night and we were quite disappointed considering it was 10 Euros and quite small.
Location-wise, this hotel is ideal. Situated right next to Trinity college, the city is within walking distance, and we walked everywhere during our stay – the furthest was a trip to the Guinness factory, but this was only about a 30 mins walk. To and from the airport, we used the aircoach service, which we booked when landing at Dublin. This took around 20 mins and cost 12 euro return each, and the coaches superb, running regularly through the day. There is a cheaper alternative local bus, but with many more stops, we decided to go for the slightly more expensive option.

All in all, we had a great stay, and for a weekend break in Dublin, would thoroughly recommend the Trinity capital hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We spent 3 nights in this hotel, which location is very good. Easy few minute walking distance to Temple Bar area and Grafton Street shopping. I think Trinity capital is reasonably priced and a good quality hotel. Let's start with cons and end with pros.

There are nothing that is totally bad or wrong with Trinity Capital, but a few things came to mind. Some of these propably a normal visitor wouldn't even notice or think about, but I have travelled a lot around the world and I know the difference been luxury and bad.

First of all the staff could have been smiling a little more and all in all be a little more eager to help. Secondly, the breakfast buffet is not really a culinaristic experience, but I guess that's how it is in Ireland and Great Britain. There was a pretty good selection of food, but for example no vegetables, only fried tomatos and beans.

I would hope for fresh lettuce, peppers etc. I am really not a vegan, but i would like to have something fresh on my sandwiches. I love bacon too, but the bacon was nothing that I am used to, it was very thick and not crispy at all. Well I have to say that usually only in USA they know how to cook bacon. So the breakfast buffet was just ok, not very healthy and the quality of food wasn't very good by my standards.

The few very little things that annoyed me about the room was the very bright LCD-display on the tv, which was on all the time even when the tv was off. Not very big thing, but when your room is completely dark and you try to sleep, it really pops in to your eye and at least it annoyed me a little.

The other thing was the bathtub and the glass beside the bathtub. It's not so nice to shower while standing on the tub and all the water splashes on the bathroom floor. There is a glass which should help a little, but it really doesn't help that much. And when the water gets on the floor there is no floor drain so the water can't go anywhere and it stays wet a long time. Also one thing about the bathtub is that is not easy entering the tub if you have bad feet, because the edge is so high. The tub is also very slippery so it's easy to fall and hurt yourself while stepping in or out of the tub. Like I said, these things propably most people wouldn't even notice, but some little details sometimes annoy me.

Then the good things. The location of the hotel is very good, the surroundings of the hotel is very peaceful even though there is a fire department downstairs, but I didn't hear them leave. We were in the other side of the building so I think that is why I didn't hear them. Trinity Capital is like 5 minutes walk away from Temple Bar area and Grafton Street, so location is ideal.

Staff was helpful, but pretty formal. good staff, but they could smile a little bit more and enjoy their work.

The room size was what I expected and it was very clean absolutely no complaints on that.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel to my friends and I would say it is a better middle class hotel, not by any means absolute luxury. But if you value good location, clean and nice room and reasonable price then Trinity Capital is your choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tomi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We got an upgrade and stayed in a huge suite, very well decorated and comfortable. The location is also very good. My only remark is regarding breakfast because it wasn't good enough for the price. But still, this hotel is a very good choice!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriscilaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#37 of 151 in Dublin
2,772 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,221 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 151 in Dublin
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,492 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trinity City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing