We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few snafoos; but in terms of room size & standard- the overall quality here, is far superior.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Dublin
Ranked #13 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I believe that when one stays in a facility for over a month; their perspective is slightly different than a weekend- only guest.
Compared to the average hotel room- it was usually much more comfortable.
The full array of deluxe amenities, {such as French toiletries, flowery curtains, soft bed linens, cotton slippers & terry cloth robes} was there, as expected.
The room thermostat worked quite well- and I was able to adjust the temperature as desired.
I really liked watching a full array of international channels- on the TV set.
The room was kept very clean, to general Four Seasons standard.
The room lights are quite bright; and thus could use dimmers.
During the night hours; it was delightfully quiet.
Most often, the days were tranquil, too.
The bedroom carpets helped with soundproofing the room- as did limited buffering on external doors.
The walls are solid, & thicker than those at most hotels that I've stayed at.
Occasionally, issues would crop up with inconsiderate housekeepers- but management was responsive to my requests not to be unduly disturbed.
The expected standard of Four Seasons' front desk & concierge services- is definitely there.
I am pleased to note that management, {especially Mr. Pritam} bent over backwards to resolve any & all issues or requests that I had.
As for the overall lobby & public area's atmosphere; it is a bit snobby and pretentious.
Despite a lack of written dress code; men are predominately wearing suits & ties, and casual attire is almost unheard of.
The surrounding Ballsbridge neighborhood, is upscale- but not low key. The denizens tend to be EXTREMELY haughty & condescending- towards those they deem not to fit in here.
It was a bleak & dismal place to spend the holiday season alone.
The Four Seasons Dublin is best suited to specific types of people; especially those who enjoy dressing up to the tee, & being seen.
I would most highly recommend it for business conference attendees, formal groups, familes, & certain couples.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xerophytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, Assistant Director of Rooms at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Good afternoon Xerophytic,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your on line Trip Advisor review. We appreciate your open and honest feedback. We endeavor to deliver consistency and excellence in all aspects of our product and service. I will ensure to review your feedback pertaining to a dimming option on our room lighting. I am delighted that you found our management team to be responsive to your particular needs. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me personally if I can assist you directly, my email is lucius.farrell@fourseasons.com.

Yours sincerely,
Lucius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,068 of 2,019 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

I took a suite here with my family for a few days break. It is the best hotel that I've been to in Ireland, of which I've visited many. However, it wasn't the best Four Seasons that I've been to. I was at the one in Vegas recently and that was much better. I don't remember what the Vegas one cost but this one was certainly Four Seasons prices. We paid about £750 per night for a suite that comfortably slept 4 and did another couple of hundred on room service without any effort.

The pool was quiet and good for the kids. The jacuzzi is very nice and big. The food was good, but not great... but then it never is in Ireland. They don't get food.

The only complaint I have is that my 5 year old found a pill (some medicine) on the floor under the bed. She didn't eat it. Could happen somewhere I guess.

If you are going to Dublin, this is certainly the place to stay. Dublin doesn't have anything better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, Assistant Director of Rooms at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear NickR,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your Trip Advisor review. I was delighted to see that there aspects of your recent visit that you enjoyed. I was concerned with the feedback you had concerning your child finding a tablet on the bedroom floor, I do apologise for this. I would be more than happy to speak further with you on this matter, please feel free to contact me personally at 01 6654669 or email me at lucius.farrell@fourseasons.com.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Four Seasons Hotel Dublin in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Lucius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Four Seasons was a dreamy, unforgettable destination in Dublin. Staff do their best to accommodate or anticipate the needs of weary and eager travelers alike. We loved the luxury, décor and comforts of our room and larger-than average bathroom. LOVELY

Room Tip: our room was not overlooking anything note-worthy, BUT the quiet was impressive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noreen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear noreen s,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Dublin.

I am delighted that you had an unforgettable stay with us and that our staff was very accommodating to your needs.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

A special and luxurious hotel. The room was huge and beautifully decorated. The staff was super Friendly and waited on us hand and foot. A really nice surprise was A basket of treats in our room upon arrival. Unfortunately my son has a nut allergy so he couldn't indulge. They more then made up for it bringing everyone popcorn and ice cream. The only downside was that the kids loved the hotel so much that they didn't want to leave and do any sight seeing. They just wanted hang by the pool and use the exercise room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEdem2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear DEdem2014,

I am so pleased that you and your family had a memorable stay with us, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Four Seasons Hotel Dublin.

We would love to welcome you and your family back in the future for another memorable stay.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

When you check into a Four Seasons you expect perfection. And this is what the hotel delivers. From arrival to departure and everything in between this is a true five star hotel. Service is impeccable, personalized, unobtrusive yet attentive. Rooms are spacious, perfectly appointed, with bathrooms to live in. The bar is a treat, breakfast in either the lobby bar or seasons restaurant is sumptuous. The location is a bit out of town but therefore serene and quiet. Take the hotel's limousines for your daily trips, they are immaculate and hardly more expensive than taxis which can be hard to find at times in Dublin. The Spa is elegant and soothing, sauna could be a tad hotter and of course mixed (but only for us Europeans). All in all, one of the best hotels I ever stayed in. Look no further if in Dublin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear hjslaw,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

I was so pleased to learn that you had a perfect stay and received 5 star service throughout your time with us. I will certainly share your comments with the team and thank them for the impeccable and personalized service which they showed you.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Four Seasons Hotel the next time your travel plans see you return to Dublin.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in December with my brothers. Everything about this hotel is 5 stars. The staff was terrific, the accommodations were amazing and the food outstanding. It's the little things in life that I truly enjoy and in this case, having slippers laid out at my bedside is one of them. Who knew that something so simple was all I needed... loved it! On our last night in Dublin, we arrived back at the hotel kind of late and the bar was already closed. The bartender was kind enough to re-open it so we could enjoy a few pints as well as the best burger I've ever eaten in my life.
Is this an expensive hotel? Of course it is, it's the Four Seasons, what do you expect. But when I booked, they were offering a special stay 2 nights and get the 3rd night free. For what we paid, it was actually an incredible value. We had two rooms for 3 night, all for under $1,400. Normally when I travel, it's with the wife and kids so this was a rare opportunity to stay at an awesome hotel and only be on the hook for a 1/4 of the final tab. Would I do it again? in a New York minute!
If you want to experience Dublin on a first class level, this is the hotel you want to stay at.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevstravels_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear kevstravels_10,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Dublin.

I was delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your most kind comments regarding our staff and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your travel plans see you return to Dublin for another enjoyable stay with us.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Arriving a few minutes early for lunch with a group of friends in the Dublin 'Four Seasons Hotel' recently, I foolishly asked the gentleman on reception whether there was a convenient washroom that I could use.
He confirmed that this was the case and assured me, with lofty contempt, that the hotel had a full range of such modern amenities.
I can do without overly friendly greetings in some hotels, but this is the first occasion on which I have been swiftly and gratuitously insulted by a receptionist on arrival.
Who do these people think they are? Is this the image which the hotel's management wants to project? I won't be back in this snooty and supercilious hotel, notwithstanding its full range of modern conveniences.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eugeKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, Assistant Director of Rooms at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear eugeKualaLumpur,

Thank you for completing your Trip Advisor Review. I appreciate your open and honest feedback. I am truly sorry for the nature of the interaction you encountered with a member of our team at reception. We endeavor to deliver excellence and efficiency in all aspects of our service, all communication should be executed in a warm friendly manner with a view to connecting to our customers. I am sorry that this was not the case on this occasion.

I do hope you give us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel. Please feel free to contact me personally if I can assist you in any way.

Yours sincerely,
Lucius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,560 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
620 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,098 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dublin

Address: Simmonscourt Road, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Four Seasons Hotel Dublin)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#13 Business Hotel in Dublin
#18 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $201 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Dublin is a 20 minute stroll from Trinity College and Grafton Street and a short walk to Aviva Stadium to experience the thrill of championship rugby. The Hotel offers a landmark location in the city's most desirable neighbourhood, combining embassies and stately homes with pubs and restaurants. For Dubliners, this is the most attractive place to live in the city. Guests enjoy authentic experiences of today's Dublin; fresh and modern, yet warmed with a sense of Irish tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Dublin
Four Seasons Dublin
Dublin Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing