We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service - great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Dublin
Ranked #19 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Manlius, New York
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent service - great staff”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at the Four Seasons Dublin on a recent trip to Dublin. Our two rooms in the hotel were booked by a travel agent with a vacation package. The accommodations were very nice. The rooms were large and well appointed. Large king sized beds, a desk, smart TV, DVD player, room safe all included. The only complaints were one room booked as a double and was a king. The other room provided was handicap accessible (not by request) and the shower was unmanageable.

On the plus side, we arrived in Dublin early in the morning, fresh from a redeye flight. Although check-in is not until 3pm, the front desk clerk checked us into one room right away which allowed us to rest and freshen up before starting our day. The staff was just as responsive to every other request; hypoallergenic pillows and comforter, extra bedding, coffee service, etc.

The restaurant was expensive, but the food was very good. There were other restaurants in the area, but there was not much in the way of sightseeing nearby. Fortunately, Dublin is not too large and travel around the city was quick enough. We had rented a car and the hotel offers free self-parking, a nice touch when you're already paying a high price for a room.

We visited on a family trip with older teens. While the hotel was nice, it would not be my first choice for another family stay. I would look for something closer to sightseeing, or a better value.

Room Tip: Avoid the handicap accessible room if not necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNY-Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear CNY-Tripper,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Dublin.
Your constructive feedback allows us the opportunity to review and improve upon our facilities and services. I do apologise for your disappointment with the wheelchair accessible room that was allocated to you.
I am happy to hear that overall you did have an enjoyable experience.
We would love to welcome you back to stay with us in the near future if your travel plans were to see you return to our city. If I can ever do anything to help make your time with us more enjoyable please do not hesitate in letting me know.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    378
    141
    39
    30
See reviews for
441
645
59
425
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

A long weekend gave us a taste of this top class hotel. The foyer is traditional and you get an idea of how well everything is done around here. The staff are pleasant and always around, the dining room was a well run ship with the lunch menu a real treat, the paté was a taste of heaven. The room was large and comfortably traditional, we liked it all. One of the best hotels we've stayed at. Reassuringly expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear John S,

Thank you for leaving feedback following your recent stay with us in Dublin.
I am pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and that the food and beverage offerings were an enjoyable feast!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Oldesloe, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The entire chain is expensive, but is worth every Cent. I have spent probably a couple of months in that particular hotel over the past few years and, even though, the crisis in Ireland left its mark there too, it is still the best address in Dublin. A more personal experience is impossible to find. When, after having stayed away for almost 2 years, you are still addressed by your name right at the door you cannot help it but feel right at home. I can only recommend this place.

Room Tip: The question of value is a relative one. It depends on what you want to spend. If you are willing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Nicholas K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Dublin.

I was delighted to learn how much you have enjoyed your time with us in your "home from home". Thank you for your most kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another enjoyable stay with us.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

we stayed three nights over a very busy weekend, big conference in the hotel and international rugby match in Dublin. Staff were very attentive, food was great, both breakfast and dinner, room was spacious and spotless.
Can't speak highly enough of Liam, restaurant manager, and Fiona, lounge manager. They took time to chat with us, remember our names and our little boy. In a busy hotel this is just a good feeling.
This is the best hotel in Ireland by a long way, they go the extra mile in every wait.
Can't wait tip next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Rugrig,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay with us at Four Seasons Hotel Dublin.
I am delighted you found your room was very spacious and that you were satisfied with the food and beverage offerings. Most importantly it is wonderful that you had a great service experience in the hotel, thank you for your comments, I will be sure to share them with the team, Liam and Fiona in particular.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another memorable stay.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Was attending the same company dinner as I do every year in this hotel.
First impression: many of the familiar faces that used to work and run this successful property seem to have left it.
The Restaurant has closed as such, now they have downsized the food options to the Lobby area and reading room. Food is OK, not great for a supposedly 5* establishment.
Bedrooms have not changed at all, same flower deco on the curtains, same carpets in the common corridors, same Xstmas decorations on the front door. Tight budget we can call it, but it does not go unnoticed.
Same goes for the Main Ballroom were our event was held, supposedly the biggest in the city and the most run down probably as well. The carpet is screaming for change, the whole interior design of the Main Ballroom of this hotel must have looked dated 15 years back, imagine how it looks in 2014. 10 years I have attended functions in this hotel and that Main Ballroom has not changed a bit... more than your home away from home, it feels like visiting your Granny's living room when away from home. Staff serving the function spaces has also changed quiet a bit, a lack of professionalism and passion seem to be the rule. Blame it on the busy end of the year push...
I have not stayed in other Four Seasons properties recently, but my fear is that Dublin is losing to tough competition in the city and struggles to retain good employees. I hope it improves for next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRAZAPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, Assistant Director of Rooms at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear FRAZAPA,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your Trip Advisor review. I am sorry that our product and service has not lived up to what have been accustomed to in the past. I appreciate your constructive feedback pertaining to aspects of our ballroom. Rest assured your feedback is important to us and we will take it on board. We do plan on reviewing a number of these areas in due course. I do hope you give us an opportunity to restore your faith in us. Please feel free to contact me personally at lucius.farrell@fourseasons.com if I can assist you in any way.
Your satisfaction is our primary goal.

Yours sincerely,
Lucius Farrell
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

1. The staff are incredibly helpful and courteous. Everyone we met was wonderful.
2. Bathrooms and Mattresses: For us, these are the two biggies in a hotel room. This hotel passed with flying colours. Great room.
3. Food: The restaurant food was superb, perfectly prepared and presented.
4. Cleanliness: Spotless.

Two downers: a) Wifi service is hard to access (the concierge even had trouble trying to help me), is not available throughout the property, and is restricted to one device per room (of course, one can pay for the other device access). Get it right, Four Seasons. It matters. b) Inconvenient to tourist attractions, unless by car. Public transportation available, but staff was not sure how to use it. Long (40ish minutes) walk to Grafton St., but very scenic and pleasant.

Bottom line: Up to Four Season standards overall. If the two hiccups matter to you, you might want to consider another site.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Glenn F,

Thank you kindly for your thoughtful review regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Dublin. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your room and dining experiences, and that you found our team helpful and courteous. I will be sure to share these comments.

I would like to apologise for the difficulties that you experienced with our wifi services. We will certainly take your comments on board as we do understand the importance of having this service right for our guests. For your consideration on your next stay, complimentary car service is available to take guests to the city centre (subject to availability) and we will be happy to assist you with any transportation needs you may require during future visits.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Four Seasons Hotel Dublin the next time your travel plans see you return to Dublin.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Simply perfect location and perfect stay! The staff is very firendly and professional.
Even if the transfers have been organized by an external company, it has been done perfectly. The driver gave us good recommendation and took care to organize our return transfer.
The welcome was very warm and the service very smouth.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurelie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Aurelie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us in Four Seasons Hotel Dublin.

I am delighted that you had a great service experience in the hotel, thank you for your comments, I will share them with the team.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,216 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,287 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
1.5 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
1.4 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#11 of 151 in Dublin
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dublin

Property: InterContinental Dublin
Address: Simmonscourt Road, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Four Seasons Hotel Dublin)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#13 Business Hotel in Dublin
#18 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Dublin is a 20 minute stroll from Trinity College and Grafton Street and a short walk to Aviva Stadium to experience the thrill of championship rugby. The Hotel offers a landmark location in the city's most desirable neighbourhood, combining embassies and stately homes with pubs and restaurants. For Dubliners, this is the most attractive place to live in the city. Guests enjoy authentic experiences of today's Dublin; fresh and modern, yet warmed with a sense of Irish tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Dublin
Four Seasons Dublin
Dublin Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing