We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed from a hotel that should have delivered more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Dublin
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were so disappointed with our stay at this hotel. The foyer and atmosphere as you enter is brilliant as was the gentleman that checked us in. Unfortunately our stay went downhill from here. We were in Dublin for a rugby game so decided to check in and have a light dinner before the match. I had a soup and spring rolls and my wife had a burger. The food was only lukewarm when it arrived and within a few minutes the fries and onion rings had gone completely cold! We were upgraded to a deluxe suite on check in. This room was huge but felt completely empty as there was so much space around all the furnishings. It unfortunately didn't have the level of luxury that I would have expected from such a fine hotel. The furnishings were all a bit dated too. The real let down was definitely the concierge service. We asked if they could book us dinner in an Italian restaurant as the hotel restaurant was booked up. They rang one place and it was full, so the concierge asked the other concierge what he thought about a different restaurant to which he replied, 'it's alright'. Not exactly getting me excited about eating at the other restaurant option. He then turned to us and told us that we would be better off just walking around town to see if anything was free. Not exactly 5 star service!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BNM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, Assistant Director of Rooms at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear bmartin,

Thank you for taking the time to post your Trip Advisor review. I appreciate your open and honest feedback. We endeavour to deliver consistency and excellence in every aspect of our product and service. I am truly sorry for the poor meal you had in the hotel and for the interaction you experienced at our Concierge desk. We clearly did not meet your expectation on this occasion. I would welcome any opportunity to discuss your feedback further, please feel free to contact me at lucius.farrell@fourseasons.com with your contact information and I will reach out to you personally.
I do hope you allow us restore your faith in our hotel and service.

Yours sincerely,
Lucius Farrell
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,999 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Four seasons and it was wonderfully relaxing. The guest rooms are beautifully appointed, spacious and bright. There is a centre light in the bedroom which gives great light and something that is missing from most hotels. The bathroom is spacious with separate bath and shower. The staff are very attentive and professional. The hotel is centrally located and convenient to access most of he the city attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Breda G,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Dublin.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I will be sure to pass on your words of appreciation to our attentive and professional team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here with my fiancé for a weekend getaway treat. It is a really nice hotel and has a great sense of luxury. The room was lovely and bed very comfy but all a little dated. The bathroom was a great big size but we were really disappointed that the shower head was super low and not adjustable. Breakfast was awesome - lots of variety and very good service. The location is out of town but in a quiet leafy area and a couple of minutes walk from good bars and restaurants. Would recommend the Four Seasons and hopefully a refurb is on the way!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moejodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Moejodo,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay.

I was disappointed to hear you were not satisfied with the shower head in your room and I will certainly share your comments with the appropriate department. It is only through reviews such as yours that we are able to improve our guest experience.

I am happy to hear that overall you did have an enjoyable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel that defines luxury. The reception staff made us feel welcome. Our room was luxe, immaculate and nicely arranged. The artwork throughout the property would not have looked out of place in a gallery or museum. Every little thing was just so. I only wish it wasn't so large. I missed the "personal touch" that made our stays at smaller properties so memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandishoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Sandishoes,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you were made to feel very welcome by our Reception team and that you were very pleased with your room and the hotels surroundings. I am sorry that the personal touch was missing for you this time.

We would love to welcome you back in the near future if your travel plans see you returning to our shores.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

we did not want to leave. the suite was spacious and lovely. But what really makes this hotel is the staff. In the "land of 10,000 welcomes" this place excels in welcoming guests and going way out of their way to make sure everything is perfect. The restaurants are great too. Hint- try the lobster mashed potatoes!

Room Tip: if you're able to upgrade to a suite-it is well worth it! you will be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Liz D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay with us in Four Seasons Hotel Dublin.
I am delighted you found your room was spacious and comfortable and that the food met your expectations! Most importantly it is wonderful that you had a great service experience in the hotel. Thank you for your comments, I will be sure to share them with the team.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Lovely hotel. The staff were exceptional, they could not do enough for you. Particularly Graeme on the Concierge's desk and Rory on the front desk.

When we return to Ireland we definitely will be returning to the Four Season's Hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure not to get one with a view of the area dumpsters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0hn_N0ble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear J0hn_N0ble,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Dublin.

I was delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your most kind comments regarding our staff. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Graeme and Rory.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another enjoyable stay with us.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed at Four Seasons during short business trip to Dublin. The hotel delivered on promise of luxury and top quality service. Consistenly a great experience and definately one of the best top-end hotels in Dublin

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Angus D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Dublin.

I am delighted that you had a lovely stay with us and that you found our service was top quality.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,502 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 151 in Dublin
591 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,077 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dublin

Address: Simmonscourt Road, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Four Seasons Hotel Dublin)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#13 Business Hotel in Dublin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#18 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $225 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Dublin is a 20 minute stroll from Trinity College and Grafton Street and a short walk to Aviva Stadium to experience the thrill of championship rugby. The Hotel offers a landmark location in the city's most desirable neighbourhood, combining embassies and stately homes with pubs and restaurants. For Dubliners, this is the most attractive place to live in the city. Guests enjoy authentic experiences of today's Dublin; fresh and modern, yet warmed with a sense of Irish tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Dublin
Four Seasons Dublin
Dublin Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing