We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Convenient and upmarket” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Dublin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Dublin
Ranked #20 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Convenient and upmarket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was in Dublin for the Ireland vs South Africa rugby test. The hotel is convenient to the Aviva Stadium ( a short 10 minute walk) and to the restaurants and bars in the Ballsbridge area. Arrival by car was good with the valet service attending to parking. The room (a twin) was large, comfortable with good natural light. The hotel has a small bar area with little atmosphere. Concierge was helpful in recommending and securing a reservation at a good restaurant. The restaurant was full for breakfast and we were directed to the lobby lounge for breakfast. This was disappointing, with poor presentation and not particularly eager service. Overall a good experience for a Dublin Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear macarad,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Dublin. I appreciate your kind words about the rooms and the service provided top you by our Concierge Team.

I was most disappointed to learn of your breakfast experience. All feedback is taken seriously and communicated throughout the hotel so we can learn more about our guests' experiences and ensure we continually seek to create the highest standards of service. I really hope that despite this experience you had a pleasant stay with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance or if you would like to discuss your experience in greater detail with me.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    305
    118
    29
    27
See reviews for
375
533
53
343
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Well what can I say yet another fabulous stay at the four seasons! You're decor can only take a little of your credit but the majority goes to your staff, always so friendly, helpful and polite.
Great hotel lovely, rooms, tasty food and luscious wine!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilford82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear GQS,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I will be sure to share your kind words of appreciation with our team as there is no better motivator than the praise of a "job well done".

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the near future.

Warm regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Close to the city centre and easy access to all of South Dublin, this hotel is just the business. Fab rooms with every facility. Huge flat screen smart televisions with loads of channels, just everything you could want in a room. Nice lounge and restaurant downstairs and great gym. Staff cant do enough for you - just the best

Room Tip: If you want tea/coffee facilites, you need to tell them when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara_cantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear barbara_cantor,

Thank you for your glowing review! I was so pleased that we managed to create a special memory of Four Seasons Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin,

We hope to welcome you back in the near future for another memorable stay.

Kind regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
482 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

What a spectacular hotel. Beautiful, spacious, and extraordinary service.

We only had breakfasts here and they were very good.

It is a very pricey hotel - we only stayed here as AMEX had a special offer for Gold Members (or whatever) - 50% off, breakfasts included. WiFi was outrageously expensive.

There is one serious downside - location. We had turned in our car and this hotel is a 5 minute, $10 plus ab ride to city center. So we racked up a lot of taxi fees.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeHouston52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I was so pleased to read that you were completely satisfied with the service and surroundings of the Four Seasons Hotel Dublin. However, it was disappointing to read that you were unhappy with the wifi charge. We now offer complimentary wifi in our public areas and we also offer our guest the full use of our Business Centre.

I sincerely hope that you will consider us again in the future if your travels see you return to Dublin. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance or if you would like to discuss your experience in greater detail with me.

Kind regards,

Robert Nolan
General Manager
robert.nolan@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights in the summer and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is out of town a little but this means it is quiet and only a short taxi ride with taxis always outside so no problem. The room was lovely and the service in the restaurant just right. Would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJoFabandMarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear ChrisJoFabandMarci,

Thank you for reviewing your summer stay on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that you had a relaxing time and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robert Nolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel is not in the city centre so bare this in mind if you're a tourist and want to walk around Dublin. But it's only a short stroll away from Dart station (Sandymount) and few stops away from the city centre. So very easily accessible. Hotel itself is impressive and stunning. Booked a standard room (250 euro/night) which was more than adequate. Spacious, spotlessly clean, with huge bed, HD TV, fabulously stocked minibar, huge marble bathroom, literally no detail was spared to make a guest feel comfortable. I don't think that room pictures itself are making this hotel justice. What I've seen was excellent. By all means. I've been in many 5 star hotels in Dublin and for some reason this one is on a completely different level. Resident bar is open very late, Ice bar looks very trendy and funky, restaurant is very good as well and wellness lovers would definitely enjoy spa and swimming pool area. I was a bit disappointed when having a breakfast though. Service was just chaotic, I was offered complimentary orange juice while waiting which I was charged for later on. If you don't want a buffet breakfast you're not sure where to order stuff of the menu as there was no one around to ask. Maybe just a bad coincidence. Overall, this is a stunning hotel. Worth every minute of your stay.

Room Tip: Even moderate rooms are a little piece of heaven. Any room will do in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatTul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear CatTul,

Thank you for tanking the time to review your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Dublin.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast experience. Please rest assured that I will share your comments with the appropriate managers for follow up to ensure this does not occur in the future. I am pleased that this did not take from your overall view of our hotel and that you enjoyed all of the other aspects of your stay.

We would love to welcome you back in the near future and hope you will consider us as your hotel of choice the next time you stay in the city.

Sincerely,

Robert Nolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The four seasons was a very nice hotel with lovely staff and food.The hotel also offers a lovely spa and swimming pool witch was nice. The only slight down fall was the room,it was nice but a bit small and it had no flat screen tv. We had a box tv witch was alright but the movies and games were a bit over priced,but I liked the complimentary coke and popcorn over all a nice hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear John K,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Dublin.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. In relation to your comment regarding the TV's, the great news is that we have recently installed the most up to date flat screen TV's in all of our guest bedrooms. We hope to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy the benefits of this new enhancement.

Sincerely,

Robert Nolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.4 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#21 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,322 reviews
1.9 mi away
Westin Dublin
Westin Dublin
#11 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,075 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dylan Hotel
Dylan Hotel
#18 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dublin

Property: InterContinental Dublin
Address: Simmonscourt Road, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Four Seasons Hotel Dublin)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#13 Business Hotel in Dublin
#18 Family Hotel in Dublin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Dublin is a 20 minute stroll from Trinity College and Grafton Street and a short walk to Aviva Stadium to experience the thrill of championship rugby. The Hotel offers a landmark location in the city's most desirable neighbourhood, combining embassies and stately homes with pubs and restaurants. For Dubliners, this is the most attractive place to live in the city. Guests enjoy authentic experiences of today's Dublin; fresh and modern, yet warmed with a sense of Irish tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Dublin
Four Seasons Dublin
Dublin Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing