We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawed Diamond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Dublin
Ranked #20 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Flawed Diamond”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We love the Four seasons but why can't they sort the front desk out !! Having booked through Amex Platinum that guarantees early check in (12 noon) we arrived about 2ish but were told at check in that our room wouldn't be ready for another 20 minutes, after waiting in the lobby for 20 minutes we were told the room would be another 1/2 an hour ! The most frustrating part of this was the attatude of the staff and how we were dealt with. 5 star hotels not only have great rooms but give great service from great staff. Ps this isn't the first time we have had this treatment from the four season reception, please management sort it as otherwise you have a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony4669, Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear 'doakie'
Thank you sincerely for this honest assessment of your recent arrival experience. I can appreciate the value of being able to access your room immediately upon arriving to the hotel. You latest interaction is simply not good enough and falls short of the standards we set ourselves at Four Seasons. I would always encourage the team to prioritise our Amex guests especially on the very busy days when rooms are not always vacated in a timely fashion to facilitate our new arrivals. This said, I can only apologise on behalf of the team and ensure we maintain a focus on this aspect of the hotel's service.
If you would like to reveal your profile details in full to me, please drop me a note on e-mail to tony.coveney@fourseasons.com and I will ensure we record this requirement for all future bookings. This way, we can avoid this happening again.
Thank you once more for your patience with us and for being forthcoming with your feedback. It will certainly help us improve.
Regards,
Tony Coveney
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,251
    357
    135
    35
    28
See reviews for
414
620
56
400
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a quick gate away from the kids, we had breakfast and lunch and then walked about 5 mins down the road to the French Paradox for our dinner, and also had a beer in paddy cullens in ballsbridge again 5 mins from hotel. Might not be in the heart of Dublin but lots to do and see within walking distance. The room was nice decor getting a bit dated and could do with an update flat screens etc but fine.
Breakfast was lovely and the breakfast room very spacious so you have your privacy which is nice, staff are attentive without being in your face. Will defo be back.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Namylimaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Namylimaf,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us here at Four Seasons Hotel Dublin.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your relaxing get away with us. I am pleased to share with you that we are in fact currently updating all of our bedroom TV's and hope to welcome you back in the near future to experience them for yourself.

Sincerely,

Robert Nolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth Devon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here on 18 July 2012 in a suite. From the moment you arrive until you leave you are aware you are in quality surroundings and high standards synominous with the Four Seaons brand. The staff deliver in every way, attentive and very focused on making sure your experience is exceptional. The prices for food and beverage are what you expect of a 5 star hotel but the quality from everything from the breakfast cup of tea to the chips served with a sprinkling of truffles, means you are not left questioning the final bill !
We had to quickly become accustomed to wondering through the hotel and finding yourself seeing some very well known figures, Steven Spielberg is shorter than we imagined - but we didn't stare because that would be rude!
I have slightly marked the location down as it is not completely central and you may need to utilise a taxi etc now and then but nothing really to worry about.
The actual suite was fantastic, large lounge area, balcony and the adjoining bedroom and bathroom were really spacious, clean, well appointed and tastefully decorated. The public areas were also very clean and elegantly presented.
We will definitely be staying there when we next visit Dublin, and I would highly recommend this hotel, so go on - treat yourselves!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devonfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Devonfletch,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us following your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Dublin. I appreciate you taking the time to do so.

It is very encouraging to hear that our team delivered an attentive and exceptional experience for you. I will be sure to pass your kind words onto them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely

Robert Nolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was stunning, service was amazing and the entire hotel, rooms and staff certainly had 'all the little touches'. Absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Scoosher,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Dublin. I am pleased that you had a fantastic stay and you were happy with all aspects of your stay from your room to the amazing service from our team.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robert Nolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the four seasons for Springsteen concert next door rds . Room spacious , and spotless , food excellent , not expensive considering 1st class service we received in every department , will definitely return when there's a concert at rds which is a two min walk away , only negative was having to pay for wi fi €12 aday which wouldn't send emails for some reason but I could receive them ,

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seaview1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear A1bet,

Thank you for choosing Four Seasons as your hotel of choice for the recent concert you were attending and for then taking the time to review your stay.

I am sorry that you had some issues with sending emails. I will share your comments with the appropriate department head for follow up. I was really pleased to read your comment regarding the "1st class service received in every department". I will be sharing your words of appreciation with our team.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Four Seasons Hotel Dublin in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robert Nolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

more of a business hotel. we paid 305€ for a junior suite which was very nice and very clean but not even a complimentary bottle of water or tea making facilities in the room as we arrived after midnight. all extras had to be paid for and not even a continental brealfast was included in this price or free wifi at 12€ extra. Ive stayed in much better hotels for less. the location was very quiet and certainty not in the heart of Dublin. we'll be back to Dublin but definitely not this hotel

Room Tip: dont bother with junior suite unless a free upgrade which is very doubtful as you get nothing for fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnOrmerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony4669, Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear 'DawnOrmerod'
Thank you for the honest feedback on your July visit to the hotel. Needless to say, I am disappointed to hear that we were unable to provide you with the value you were looking for in your stay. I can appreciate that it is the little things that make the difference. As it happens, tea and coffee facilities are provided free of charge but we chose to put them in rooms upon request only for a variety of reasons that include hygiene as well as ensuring a consistent level of quality product. Our location is indeed a quiet place which may not suit everyone but certainly gives the hotel a competitive advantage in other ways. I will be happy to include complimentary turn-down water in your room for any future stays and have now updated your booking profile with this information.

Once again, I am sorry that we were unable to deliver on every level for you this time around. I hope that some day you may grant us the opportunity to make it right for you. If I can assist further wih any queries or concerns, please feel free to reach out by e-mail (tony.coveney@fourseasons.com) or by phone to 016654000.

Very best wishes,
Tony Coveney
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I have stayed other five star hotels in Ireland too but this is the best by far in every sense. Recommend to anyone who visits Dublin.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sptravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFSD, General Manager at InterContinental Dublin, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Spa_Junkie_007,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks following your recent stay with us. I am thrilled that you rate Four Seasons Hotel as your number 1 in Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay as it is our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer.

Sincerely,

Robert Nolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dublin

Property: InterContinental Dublin
Address: Simmonscourt Road, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Four Seasons Hotel Dublin)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#13 Business Hotel in Dublin
#18 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Dublin is a 20 minute stroll from Trinity College and Grafton Street and a short walk to Aviva Stadium to experience the thrill of championship rugby. The Hotel offers a landmark location in the city's most desirable neighbourhood, combining embassies and stately homes with pubs and restaurants. For Dubliners, this is the most attractive place to live in the city. Guests enjoy authentic experiences of today's Dublin; fresh and modern, yet warmed with a sense of Irish tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Dublin
Four Seasons Dublin
Dublin Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing