We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Uppercross House Hotel
Ranked #76 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed over weekend,good hotel,rooms are comfortable and staff very friendly.i know ther is a bar underneath but this had no impact on our nights sleep.this is at the top end value for money hotel,good food,good service not a rip off,will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Humphrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    146
    52
    19
    7
See reviews for
53
110
43
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The room and the hotel was really dirty everywhere. Finally we had to buy a Domestos and clean up the bathroom ourselves to feel comfortable.
Once per week there is a koncert in the pub, which can be heared from the room till 2 am.
The breakfast is good and the hotel staff is friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Deme Sandor

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room. I feel, however, that your report was a little overzealous.

I do indeed recall your early check-in that day which we did our best to accommodate. Unfortunately when you checked into the room, the flowers outside the bathroom window had just been watered (via the bathroom window) and the floor had not yet been mopped. We did send a chambermaid up to your room immediately to re-clean the bathroom for you. Your room was also serviced each day which means the bedroom and bathroom was cleaned and fresh towels are provided where requested.

It is unfortunate that for whatever reason you were unhappy with the room and you did not bring this to our attention. As we are a 50 bedroomed hotel with a mixture of older style rooms in the listed building and newer rooms in our extension. We would have gladly shown and offered you one of our modern rooms as it might have been more to your taste.

Our staff work very hard at keeping the standards to the high levels we set ourselves and we are continually upgrading and renovating the hotel and bedrooms.

We hope to welcome you back in the future,

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here over the weekend and my overall impression was meh. Our room was clean but the floor was tiled and the general feel was that it was old...our bed rolled around the tiled floor and the window overlooked a wall...! The staff were all very friendly, the parking free and again it was very clean but it wasn't a hotel room. It was B&B standard at best and the breakfast was poor. It's really not too hard to get decent sausages in Ireland (..and carpet..) but I could have bounced mine off the floor. It has a great location for a stroll into the city center but I wouldn't stay again to be honest. Needs a little TLC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starryeyed99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear starryeyed99

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied during your stay with us.

In reference to the tiled floors, half of the hotel has bedrooms with tiled flooring as they have underfloor heating in them and many guests find this preferable especially those with allergies. The other half of the hotel has carpeted bedrooms with centreral heating system for those who prefer carpet under their feet.

It is unfortunate that the breakfast did not meet our usual standards. We take pride in our service and are very disspointed that we did not meet these standards on this occasion. We will certainly look into the matter to see where the problem lied.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel so we can continue to better ourselves for your fellow travellers.

Kind regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here in may and to be fair, the hotel were quick to reply to emails and also very accommodating when we needed to check in early. However, the breakfast is not value for money and at that price it should be a buffet breakfast, not a few rations! The rooms are not the quietest either as we and our relatives in the next room could hear the occupants walking in the rooms above. It was more like heavy people and I'm being polite there!
Overall you get what you pay for, next time I'd pay extra to stay somewhere that's value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sanjeev

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay. I am sorry to hear you were dissapointed with the selection of breakfast and that it was not value for money.

The breakfast which includes a full buffet and full Irish breakfast. This includes a selection of cereals, fresh and tinned fruit, juices, yogurts, eggs (fried, poached, boiled, scrambled), grilled rashers, tomato, sausages & pan fried mushrooms. We also provide hash browns, beans and omletes for vegetarian options. I am sorry if this was not made clear to you, we do however, provide a breakfast menu on each table.

Some of the rooms in the older wing of the hotel do have wooden floors so there is a possibility that you had some disturbances from any (noisey) guests above. This is rarely an issue. We hope it did not hinder your sleep too much.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my elderly grandmother who didn't want to leave! Hotel is bright, clean, spacious rooms, plus friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was really good - continental or Irish full breakfast. Restaurant and bar, Mother Reillys, had excellent home cooked food and had a great atmosphere. Location was out of town though on major bus routes and was a pleasure to see another neighbourhood - even with an 85 year old in tow it was all very easy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritishMigratoryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear EnglishMigratoryBird

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. Im delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and that our staff in the hotel and bar were so helpful.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, staff were friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Breakfast was good full Irish plus good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and juice. Attached is a great pub called Mother Reilly's serving good food and fresh pints through clean lines.
Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Very clean throughout the whole hotel with a big lounge/reception area with pictures of the family on the wall.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2017
Hi Tim H

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, bar & restaurant following your stay. We really value our customers feedback and it's great to hear you had such a positive experience.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ann Marie Brannigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
Dylan Hotel
Dylan Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
994 reviews
4.1 mi away
West County Hotel
West County Hotel
#87 of 151 in Dublin
300 reviews
2.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#59 of 151 in Dublin
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
1,343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kilronan House
Kilronan House
#41 of 151 in Dublin
896 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#7 of 151 in Dublin
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uppercross House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uppercross House Hotel

Property: Uppercross House Hotel
Address: 26-32 Upper Rathmines Road, Dublin 6, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Dublin
#65 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Uppercross House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppercross House Hotel is a beautiful 3 star boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of Rathmines and very close to Dublin City. We offer a warm welcome and easy access to all attractions. Our hotel has 49 en-suite rooms and an award winning bar and restaurant “Mother Reillys”, The hotel is located 3km from Dublin City in a popular and vibrant district of Rathmines which offers an array of good restaurants, café-bars, pubs, shops, fitness centres & swimming pools. The AVIVA Stadium is within walking distance (2.5km).We are serviced by excellent transport on our doorstep, the nearest bustop is directly across the road and the Luas tram stop is around the corner.We pride ourselves in our friendly hospitality and comfortable surroundings. Why not stay and find out for yourself?We offer FREE secure car parking, and FREE WIFI for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Uppercross House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppercross Hotel Rathmines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing