We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All round great hotel with good transport links” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uppercross House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Uppercross House Hotel
Ranked #78 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“All round great hotel with good transport links”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my elderly grandmother who didn't want to leave! Hotel is bright, clean, spacious rooms, plus friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was really good - continental or Irish full breakfast. Restaurant and bar, Mother Reillys, had excellent home cooked food and had a great atmosphere. Location was out of town though on major bus routes and was a pleasure to see another neighbourhood - even with an 85 year old in tow it was all very easy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BritishMigratoryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear EnglishMigratoryBird

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. Im delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and that our staff in the hotel and bar were so helpful.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    135
    46
    18
    7
See reviews for
48
99
41
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, staff were friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Breakfast was good full Irish plus good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and juice. Attached is a great pub called Mother Reilly's serving good food and fresh pints through clean lines.
Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Very clean throughout the whole hotel with a big lounge/reception area with pictures of the family on the wall.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Uppercross for the second year in a row to attend the John Ford Film Symposium 3 day event in Dublin. Having booked the hotel through trivago.ie we were very pleased with the rate we got. Our room was spacious and clean. Breakfasts were generous in the mornings and there is a buffet as well as a cooked breakfast. Staff were all extremely helpful, polite and friendly. And of course I must mention Mother Reilly's bar..definitely worth a visit. We got the bus to and from the city centre from across the road from the Uppercross and were never waiting more than ten minutes for one. I recommend the Uppercross Hotel for a friendly, clean, comfortable enjoyable stay. Definitely at the upper end of its hotel star rating. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed on Friday night for the Robbie Williams Concert. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. There is a small car park at the back of the hotel.

We ate in Mother Reilly's before going to the concert and I was really surprised how good the food was. We had the fish and chip. The fish was a large piece of fresh fish and quite a big portion of chips.

There is a taxi rank just across from the hotel which was really handy. We definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke ask for a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadOwl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The staff here are very friendly but that's about as far as the positives go. It is a dated building with some nice Tudor features, and the room we had was very old too. You could hear everybody walking in the room above and so it made for a difficult nights sleep. The floorboards are really creaky and it feels as if the walls are made of cardboard. Our bathroom door didn't close let alone lock but the shower was surprisingly good.
The cooked breakfast was menial although there is a buffer option too.
As mentioned, the staff are lovely and accommodating, and by far the hotel's best feature.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quibbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dylan Hotel
#15 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Kilronan House
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
West County Hotel
#87 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#90 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Castle Hotel
#60 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uppercross House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uppercross House Hotel

Property: Uppercross House Hotel
Address: 26-32 Upper Rathmines Road, Dublin 6, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Dublin
#65 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Uppercross House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppercross House Hotel is a beautiful 3 star boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of Rathmines and very close to Dublin City. We offer a warm welcome and easy access to all attractions. Our hotel has 49 en-suite rooms and an award winning bar and restaurant “Mother Reillys”, The hotel is located 3km from Dublin City in a popular and vibrant district of Rathmines which offers an array of good restaurants, café-bars, pubs, shops, fitness centres & swimming pools. The AVIVA Stadium is within walking distance (2.5km).We are serviced by excellent transport on our doorstep, the nearest bustop is directly across the road and the Luas tram stop is around the corner.We pride ourselves in our friendly hospitality and comfortable surroundings. Why not stay and find out for yourself?We offer FREE secure car parking, and FREE WIFI for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Uppercross House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppercross Hotel Rathmines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing