We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean, quiet, comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mespil Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mespil Hotel
Ranked #43 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
birmingham, uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights in Dec2012-Jan 2013. Good location , about 15-20mins walk from the city centre but there is a bus stop round the corner so no problem if you don't want to walk (€6.50 bus day pass).
Our room was quiet, clean and really comfy.
Wifi is available throughout hotel and is fast enough . You can also use computers with Internet downstairs and it is free plus if you need to print something there is a printer available.
The staff is very helpful and friendly .
Unfortunately didn't have a chance to use their restaraunt because after reading trip advisor reviews we decided to try Thai take away few metres away from the hotel: it was really good ( surprisingly there were no Thai staff working in that place but whatever nationalities they are they do a very good job!)
Would recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fruit_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Great to read that you enjoyed your 5 night stay with us and that you found your room quiet, clean and comfortable. Great to read that you were impressed with the customer computers in the lobby and free wifi throughout the hotel. Thank you for the very kind comments in relation to our staff, which I have forwarded to the team. Good to hear that you enjoyed the local Thai restaurant…close to the hotel.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    828
    302
    71
    33
See reviews for
275
612
83
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here using an online deal which was amazing value.
The staff are welcoming and friendly and helpful and smiling always.
The rooms are spotless. The bathroom was immaculate. Lots of hot water. Free hotel parking.
The breakfast was yummy. Lots of everything. Although a buffet, it was hot and freshly cooked. I had fresh fruit scones that were divine.
Great location. Walk into city in 15 mins. no need for taxis.
Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: canal view at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siobhan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel. We very much appreciate your very kind comments in relation to our staff, which I have forwarded to the team. Great comments too from breakfast...which is good to hear and again location was convenient for you – 15 mins walk to the city.

Great to hear you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The mespil is good value for a clean, centrally located hotel. The rooms are always tidy, clean, the bathroom spotless, and I've never had a problem with noise. I've stayed here a few times for nights out and it's perfect. Can walk to Grafton St & home again, no problems.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you have enjoyed your recent stays with us and that you find the hotel central, clean and comfortable. The location is an ideal walk to Grafton Street and we hope we will see you again in the New Year on your next visit to Dublin.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for one night in November and it was our first time to try this location. We got a very good deal on a voucher scheme and bottle of prosecco and chocolates were included in the room price. Car park is free and usually you will find a spot I think unless you are checking in very late. Our room was a good size with double and single bed. View was of the back of the hotel which means it is quieter as the front is on a busy main road. Bathroom was basic with little room for storage of toothbrushes etc. Heat was high in the room but radiator is controlled by you so easy to switch off. Lily O'Brien chocolates left in the room and we had our bottle of prosecco in the bar. Breakfast was ok, nothing to write home about but service was quick and tables were available for everyone that turned up. Would recommend if you are heading into town, going to a match in Aviva or concert in RDS. Very reasonable rates and good location.

Room Tip: If you want to be in a quieter room, ask for the back rather than the front rooms, views are not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dermotswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the location perfect for the city centre, Aviva and RDS. Great to see that you enjoyed your Prosecco and chocolates and found the hotel ideal for your needs in Dublin

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel in the near future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clashmore, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The staff were very welcoming, the room was a fine size and great shower along with comfortable bed and quiet location. For the money it really is outstanding. I wouldn't even consider anywhere else to stay in Dublin. It's only a 10/15 min walk into St. Stephen's Green where there's loads to do, shopping, pubs, restaurants etc...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will definitely return. Location, comfort and value all scored highly with you which is great feedback and thank you for the very kind comments in relation to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel in the near future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

stayed here a few times, latest Dec 2012, and find that the hotel is fairly convenient for dublin city centre and probably one of the most central hotels with free parking (that i'm aware of...) rooms are clean but the last room we had, the en-suite could have done with a bit of a refurb. overall, we cant complain and will stay here again as it is only a 10 min walk to grafton street area. also, reception staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmcd83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Great to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you really found the location and parking ideal for your needs when visiting Dublin. Thank you for kindly mentioning our reception team and I will forward your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel in the near future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford IRl
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Needed to stay in central Dublin for a family dinner! Booked online with minimum fuss! Arrived at 4pm and parked at hotel car park,which is a huge plus.Check in was effortless,very nice reception staff! First floor non smoking room,whilst not big was very adequete! The big thing goin for this hotel is the location! Within walking distance of everything! Good value for money hotel,no frills but very comfortable!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWexfordIRl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us and that you found our location ideal. Great to hear that you found the hotel good value for money and that the car parking was a major plus. Thank you for kindly mentioning our reception staff.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#18 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#30 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#66 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#21 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mespil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Property: Mespil Hotel
Address: 50 - 60 Mespil Road, Dublin D04 E7N2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#60 Family Hotel in Dublin
#66 Business Hotel in Dublin
#67 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mespil Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mespil Hotel is a modern 4 star hotel located within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15-20 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green/Grafton Street, Aviva Stadium, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre, Ballsbridge and the RDS and a further 10 minutes to Temple Bar. The Mespil Hotel offers 254 bright, spacious, non-smoking guest bedrooms with free WIFI Internet access. Lock Four Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and is over looking the Grand Canal. In the Lounge you can enjoy morning coffee, a quick and healthy lunch or treat yourself to a tasty snack and a refreshing cocktail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing