We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, large rooms and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, large rooms and great location”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great location and lodging for the price! We were surprised at how large the room was when we got there. Was very clean with several windows, unfortunately no view of the city though. Breakfast was large and very good. There was fruit, cheese/cold meats, 2 kinds of eggs, sausage, bacon, various breads, cereal, etc. The Irish dancing and music was very fun, but always very packed. The Irish Dancing is advertised as free, BUT it's offered as a dinner show with tickets and typical sells out per the front desk. We tried on Monday night and arrived a little before 9, there were 1-2 table free so we did end up seeing the show and just ordering drinks at our leisure. Was definitely worth it this way, but from the sounds of it we lucked out.

Great location. Several of the airport buses stop about 2 blocks from here, the Hop on and Hop off bus tour has a stop right in front of the hotel. Many good restaurants and some tourist sites are within walking distance. There is a grocery store about 2 blocks away across the water.

Con: the water pressure was too hard and the temperature was varying from average to very hot several times per shower. I never burned myself, but had to jump to the side a few times.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLT6973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    1,182
    454
    151
    74
See reviews for
401
1,231
118
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a night stay in the Arlington Hotel with friends as we were attending an event in the O2.

Like I've said in my title it is a reasonable budget hotel in a great location, check-in was smooth and quick. We were early for check-in but allowed to leave our bags and head into the city.

Our room was big and clean but was very old fashioned and could have a bit of work done to it, as on the wall there was a big dirty mark. The bathroom was very grimy looking too with the towel holder falling apart.

Breakfast was nice and quick also so no complaints.

So if you want a good priced hotel in great location this is a good call but don't expect Luxury

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DFitz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights while in Dublin. The location is great. It's within walking distance of almost all of the attractions in Dublin. The staff was also very nice and let us drop our baggage off early in the luggage room when we arrived hours before our check-in time the first day. A lot of the reviews mention noise and it was, in fact, pretty noisy. We had a room that faced the alley and on the Friday night we were there loud music played until about 2am. To combat the noise, I'd recommend requesting an interior room away from the alley and what I think is a nightclub down below. The hotel room itself was OK, very no frills. Our double bed was two beds pushed together, I'm not quite sure if that's the norm in Ireland or not but it was different for us. The shower was also a bit weird. The water would switch back from hot to cold during the course of a shower and would never stay one or the other. This wasn't a huge negative for us so I didn't mention it until we left. I'm not sure if it would have been fixable or not. Overall, good location but a mediocre room. It did the job for the couple of days we stayed in Dublin.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the alley, it may help with the nightclub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hschofield08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Reviewed 6 October 2013 NEW
We stayed at the Arlington for two nights over the weekend, our children booked the trip as a wedding anniversary present because they thought the hotel looked great on the website. The hotel was easy enough to find & it is very centrally located, just 15 minutes walk from Busaras station too. Our first impression was that it was rather drab outside & it wasn't much better inside either. The staff on reception were efficient but not very welcoming. Our room was on the fourth floor at the back of the building overlooking the roof with expel-air units droning away night & day, the room was very hot & had no air conditioning, the window opened but the drone from the fan/units was just too loud....awful. The bed was very big and very hard, felt as if you were on it & not in it. The room was clean but slightly shabby. We had the usual tea and coffee making kit, a bit shabby & dirty too. The wash-hand basin had a big crack in it & the plughole had a scum around it as did the plug stopper too, we didn't feel like filling the sink to wash our face we used running water & that was only cold water because the hot tap gave just a little trickle of water. There were nice clean towels supplied but I couldn't be sure that they were changed daily. We had a full fry for breakfast & we both agree that it was tasteless, even the mushrooms..... huh. Our positive comment would be that the cleaning staff were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have the constant noise from the fan units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemima G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I took my girlfriend here for a 2 night stay in Dublin. The room was clean and tidy with a massive bed and very comfortable. The location was the main reason we selected this hotel as it was easy access to everywhere in the city centre. We took the bed and breakfast deal. I was disappointed at the breakfast. The spoons at our table had dried in cereal stuck on it and the tables were very sticky which put me off eating any breakfast at all. It was also quite noisy but we expected this before our stay and put location ahead in our list of priorities while selecting a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eamokerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Not good value at all, good location, room overlooking river very noisy, traffic and fights! Iron didn't work, shower dreadful, little pressure, bathroom tired. Friendly reception. Very tourirsty. Breakfasts just about passable.

Room Tip: Not at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardinspain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight for a business meet in the City Centre - location is excellent. Checked in and was greeted by a very friendly Dublin girl (something which I think Irish hotels lack, local people at reception). Very welcoming and down to earth chat. Room was on the 3rd floor and unfortunately no lift's, good job I would consider myself still quite fit....room itself was fine, bed was huge and reasonably comfortable, pillows though a disappointment, thin and no puff. toilet and shower area fine, not pristine but fine. Another nice local Dublin girl on reception again then on check out. Good, old style Dublin hotel with Dublin charm that I would probably stay in again if I was in the same situation as price was very good in comparison to other hotels locally also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helmet_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,221 reviews
The Morgan
#37 of 151 in Dublin
2,772 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 151 in Dublin
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wynn's Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
1,171 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,367 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Property: Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Address: 23-25 Bachelors Walk | O'Connell Bridge, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Dublin
#59 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Dublin
Arlington Hotel o Connell Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing