We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, reasonable price, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Ranked #49 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were staying one night in Dublin. Hotel reception staff were friendly and allowed us to check in our bags early as we had arrived that morning before our room was ready. I had asked for a room higher up as I had read in previous reviews that rooms on lower floors could be a bit noisy from the entertainment in the bar and from the street. Overall it was clean and functional, if a little tired (paintwork, worn furniture), but this wouldn't stop me staying again. The shower was good, bathroom spotless, bed very comfortable. We slept very well. There is a live Irish dancing show every night but we didn't have the energy to see it after a long day touring round Dublin. By all accounts it's supposed to be very good though. The location was just ideal for sightseeing - the red sight seeing bus stops right outside the hotel. Breakfast was plentiful, no complaints. Overall I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and towards the back of the hotel, also away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsszme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,849 - 1,855 of 3,092 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I booked a stay at the Arlington for me and my boyfriend for his birthday present. After reading some earlier reviews, I was very nervous to arrive at the hotel. However, do not listen to the bad reviews, as I was more than pleased and we had an excellent experience.
A month prior to arrival I requested a quieter room as people had had trouble with noise, this helped as we had no trouble whatsoever. For people who are saying the hotel is 'dated', yes, the bar may be considered so, however this is what you want when in Dublin! The bar is quite dark as it is wood panelled, however this is fab at night when watching the shows. The reception area is much lighter than the bar and offers a lovely welcome. The rooms cannot be considered 'dated' at all; they are light, airy, big and everything else you need from a hotel room!
Breakfast is served between 7;00-10:00am and offers a huge selection. Cereals, fruit, scones, pastries, yoghurt's, toast, juice and a huge choice of cooked breakfast. Tea and coffee is brought to your table and you help yourself to as much or as little as you want/need.
We didn't book the dinner/show, however after returning to the hotel and finding it was still on, we had a drink in the bar and watched it. The band and dancers were great and it really added to our experience of Dublin.
All in all there is nothing at all I could fault about The Arlington, and I would urge everyone to book it. Great price, the best location and a fantastic find!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyjackson94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel in early August. This hotel receives 5 stars for location but for the actual hotel only an average rating. The rooms were fine but they were extremely hot. You can't open the windows except for a small portion from top (approximately 1 inch). So it was a sweat box and very uncomfortable. We asked for a fan after the first night and were told they didn't have any left so all we could do was suffer until the last night of our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is very centrally located just a stone's throw from Tempe Bar and O `Connel street. The room was clean, but unfortunately the window to one cooling system that whining all night. The personnel at the front desk had varying levels of service, but all in all it was OK. When we arrived at the hotel, we had traveled for more than 12 hours. We therefore wanted to sleep late the next morning and hung out signs that we would not be disturbed. Nevertheless, the maid tumbling into our room at 9 without knocking on the door. The next day we found many pieces of glass in the toilet and in the shower. The maid had broken one of the drinking glasses without cleaning up after herselves. The hotel deplored in the strongest, something we are thankful for, but this should just not happen. We ate in the bar on two occasions and the food was below average in our template. The music was also extremely high even though we were there before the show started. If you are looking for one hotel that is smack in the middle is the hotel for you, you want something a little out of the ordinary look for something else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights just recently. The hotel is in a great location in the city centre with easy access to all the shopping areas and temple bar. It was clean and had all we needed does the job when you are staying in a busy city as you do not spend much time in your room. The hotel has Irish music and dance show on every night. It was great fun really enjoy it, only down side was that our room was on the first floor and situated right above the bar area. The music went on till about 11pm so if you would normally be in bed then make sure you are not on the first floor. Also out room faced on to a lane which had a hostel on it. One of the nights around 2pm we were woke up with its residents returning they were very loud and were standing outside smoking. There is also a surprising amount of traffic travelling on this narrow lane. The Breakfast was delicious and loads of choice. The staff were very friendly giving us loads of tips of the best way to see the city. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely return on my next visit to Dublin. I would just try to make sure I was not on the first floor. =)

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor or above or make sure your room number is above 140 on first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hetty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were meant to stay here but due to a mistake made by our booking agency (they had not reserved the correct number of rooms for our party) we were unable to. The staff could not have been more helpful whilst we were sorting out alternative accommodation and helped us to find rooms in another great Dublin hotel. When we return to Dublin in the future we will definitely stay at the Arlington!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Not knowing anything about Dublin and locations there, we chose the Arlington Hotel kind of blindly (other recommended hotels were either too pricey or already booked). It was a good choice for an older hotel - they had helpful staff, clean rooms, a terrific location and the Internet worked well. (I can't say this about any of the other places we stayed on our Ireland trip.) It was walking distance from Trinity College, museums, shopping, several important historical sites including the General Post Office where the 1916 Easter Rising began, as well as restaurants and the hop-on-hop off bus. We did not eat in the restaurant because the prices seemed high and there were better recommendations for meals.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#42 of 152 in Dublin
1,021 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#62 of 152 in Dublin
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Academy Plaza Hotel
#44 of 152 in Dublin
4,800 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#35 of 152 in Dublin
2,415 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 152 in Dublin
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Address: 23-25 Bachelors Walk | O'Connell Bridge, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $105 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Céad Míle Fáilte! - One hundred thousand welcomes The Arlington Hotel is well known for its convenient location, friendly atmosphere, caring staff and unforgettable Celtic Nights. From the moment you arrive our goal is to make our hotel your new home while you’re in Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Dublin
Arlington Hotel o Connell Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing