We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Ranked #52 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, D.C.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good choice for Dublin”
Reviewed September 9, 2007

The Davenport is a solid choice of hotel in Dublin. Like all hotels in the city, it is costly but on the more moderate end. For your money you get a clean room - large for European hotels. The bathroom was spotless and roomy as well. The location can't be beat - a short walk to Grafton Street and Trinity College as well as the Tourist Center. The staff was pleasant and accomodating. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rubyfoo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    668
    232
    58
    31
See reviews for
281
660
71
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

We stayed at the Davenport for two nights and really enjoyed it. It is walking distance from Temple Bar and Grafton Street, yet far enough to be in a quiet neighborhood near Trinity College. There is a great pub across the street called The Gingerman. Stop in for a pint. Our room was large and well appointed and the bathroom was great. My only complaint was that the card reader in our door may have been defective. I had to keep going and getting new keys. I had read some other reviews before I booked that the hotel was a little worn, but I did not get that impression at all. Breakfast was really good. As for as Dublin prices go, I think the Davenport is a real bargain for a really nice hotel.

  • Liked — Room and Location
  • Disliked — Offsite Parking
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1parrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

The Davenport is well located for anyone visiting Dublin but that aside, it is not as good as it thinks it is. The first impression of the hotel and indeed the friendly staff is all well and good. However, there are too many of the rooms that while well finished are dark and dreary because they have little or no natural light.

My most recent trip to the Davenport again supplied me with a lovely looking room with a window but the window has a view of a wall directly outside and brings little or no light into the room.

This and a couple of other issues led me to question if the Davenport is really as good as it thinks it is. The first issue is that while I booked a double room at €142 a night, when I checked out there was a further €17.75 'Service Charge Accommodation' on my bill. I have no idea what this charge was and I don't really care but why wasn't it quoted during my original booking. What is the point of booking a room at one price if what you really have to pay is a different price.

The second issue that bugged might have been a once off but it did nothing for my overall impression of the establishment. When I arrived I asked at the front desk as to whether hotel parking was available and I was happily told 'Yes' and directly to a secure garage about 200 metres from the hotel. Upon checking out the following morning, I was asked if I need my parking ticket validated which the staff member duely did. When I walked to the car park and tried to exit the barrier wouldn't raise as my ticket had a error and I needed 'to return to the paystation'. At this point I had to park my car again (to get out of the way of others trying to exit the car park) and look for assistance. I found an intercom button for O'Callaghan hotel and explain what happened. I was informed that a staff member would come to the car park in the next 10 minutes. When the staff member did turn up (within the 10 minutes), I explained that my ticket had been validated at the front desk at check out but that I still couldn't exit the car park. The porter explained that validating the ticket only meant that a reduced rate of €10 per day rather that the standard €24 per day needed to be paid. Brialliant!! Is this the way that all other guests find out about this also? Anyway, I paid my €10 and exited the garage a half hour behind schedule for getting to work and with the joys of Dublin traffic still to look forward to. Needless to say the next time I'm in Dublin, I'll look for an alternative to the O'Callaghan group hotels.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Car parking
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HilBil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

I only stayed one night here but I thought it was great value and very nice indeed. The bath and shower were superb (lots of water pressure) and the room itself was old-fashioned, stylish (exactly what I like!) and spacious. There was a magnifying mirror in the bathroom too and loads of wardrobe space, which I didn't need as my stay was so short. I didn't eat here but the location is really handy for Trinity College and good pubs (in the Baggot Street area). There were black-out curtains and it was quiet. We had a great sleep here. The staff were friendly and I wished I could have stayed another night or two!

  • Liked — the location and history
  • Disliked — no complaints!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank patandalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

Great Hotel and worth the online rate. Room was clean and very large. There were a few problems when booking in and also when I booked out but tis could be put down to the fact it was fully booked, they tried to charge me €90 too much, Lucky I have the paperwork from my reservation. other than that,i would stay again because you get a great sized room, most simular stared hotels at this price would give you a room half the size. (the King room is the same size as a Suit at the hotel across the road.)

  • Liked — Size of Room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Wildthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2007

When we arrived it was before recommended check in but the room was ready and the staff was very accomidating. They arranged taxi and wake up for the early am and gave us some places to go for the afternoon for food.
The room was nice size, clean and comfortable and the breakfast buffet was perfect for a quick on the go morning. I would stay there again. The location was great and close to everything in the city.

  • Liked — Location and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2007

The hotel was well priced and in a nice location. The staff was professional and the room was clean. However, we were offered a fruit basket in our room as an online “deal.” It was not much of a deal and it was more like a “fruit plate.” Some of the fruit was inedible. If you stay here, you may want to pass on the fruit basket.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank crookersnooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,286 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.2 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing