We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Ranked #41 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel is ideally located on Merrion Square. It is within 5 mins walking distance to pubs, restaurants and shops. Last Saturday night we had a group booking for 8 persons and it changed to 9 last minute. The hotel was full and it was proving impossible to find alternative accommodation in Dublin. I asked (Hugh I think) at reception if they could do anything and without any fuss he arranged an extra bed from their sister hotel and put it in our room. He called me when I was out for dinner to tell me it was done so I could relax and enjoy my night. Great service, I will be returning on my next visit to Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Mark S,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your wonderful 5 star review! I am very pleased that you had a great stay and that you found our location and service to be excellent. A special mention will go to Hugh for his assistance.
We are delighted and looking forward to your return to the Davenport Hotel.

With warm regards,
Andrei C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    635
    208
    50
    24
See reviews for
266
620
68
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

The Hotel is located in the center of Dublin in walking distance from many of the city recommended attractions (including Temple Bar street...). The reception process was good and efficient. The staff is polite and willing to help. The room is big enough with a flat TV and coffee making options. The view from the room is not great but its a typical urban view so I guess it's expectable in a city hotel. The bed was comfortable with 2 pillows to chose from. The bathroom is big enough. WiFi was good and stable. Breakfast was poor. Limited variety and no vegetables. It opens at 07:00 so if you have an early start you can't have the breakfast in the hotel. The walls are thin so it can become noisy sometimes.

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kushi1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear kushi1963,

Thank you for staying with us recently and also for taking the time to give us your Hotel review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the staff, rooms, and location to your liking.
As you mentioned, we are blessed with a central location that puts you within walking distance to many of Dublin's attractions, including Temple Bar area, Grafton street, Hop on Hop Off and many others. I am disappointed to hear you found breakfast to be poor. Your constructive criticism was passed on to the team to further discuss it. While the full Irish breakfast begins at 7am, we do understand some guests have early flights or early meetings and cannot wait until 7am for breakfast. As such with a short notice ahead, we are flexible in arranging some continental breakfast for guests before 7am.

Overall it sounds like you enjoyed your stay and the team and I look forward to welcome you back when next in Dublin.

With warm regards,
Andrei C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel with some decent facilities. In the centre of town so close to the river and other amenities. I use this for work which is based 5 mins away in Merrion Square.

The rooms are large and the staff are very helpful. You get free wifi and the bar is nice too.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank anthonyformanzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Anthonyformanzz,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Davenport Hotel and also for your kind review!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again when next in Dublin.

With many thanks and kind regards,
Andrei C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

We toured Ireland for two weeks and stayed here the first two nights and the last night of our vacation. The rooms were great, beds very comfortable and the hotel itself had lots of character. Very centrally located; we could walk to Trinity College, Grafton Street, the Liffey and Temple Bar easily. The only problem we had was that each time we checked in, they could not find our reservation. This was very politely taken care off.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear digmac,

Thank you for staying with us twice while touring Ireland and for writing your Hotel review which we greatly appreciate.
First of all, I hope you had a lovely trip to Ireland and that you will come back in the not so distant future. I am delighted that you had a great stay on each occasion, and that you enjoyed our rooms, character, and location. As you mentioned, the location is very central and puts you within walking distance to many of Dublin's tourist attractions and points of interest.
I do apologize that on both stays there was an issue in finding your reservation, but I am glad it was politely taken care of by the staff. If you have the time to email myself your confirmation number or the details of your booking at andrei.ciugulea@ocallaghanhotels.com so I can investigate why we couldn't find your reservation on both occasions and to ensure it won't happen again, I would very much appreciate it.

The team and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel in the near future.

With warm regards,
Andrei C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

This hotel makes me shudder to think of tourists arriving to Ireland, staying here and thinking we are living in the 1960s. The room was ok, but the bed linen had a slightly damp feel to it. The breakfast though was dreadful. The white pudding was like rubber. The automatic toaster machine took 4 circuits before the cheap bread got a vague bit of colour. Far better and cheaper hotels to stay in Dublin. Only positive is location, centre of Dublin.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corkboy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear corkboy2009,

Thank you for staying with us and also for taking the time to give us your constructive review which we greatly appreciate. As you can see from most reviews here, tourists staying with us greatly enjoy their stays and the warm Irish hospitality we strive to provide.

Unfortunately, I am very sorry to learn that the service which we endeavor to provide was found to be lacking on this occasion, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and the matter as a whole. I wish to assure you that your points raised have been taken very seriously and they will not go unaddressed. I would appreciate it if you would contact myself directly at andrei.ciugulea@ocallaghanhotels.com with your confirmation number so I can investigate the issues raised more thoroughly.

Should you decide to return to us at any time, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly at the above email address and I will make the necessary arrangements for you to have an excellent stay!
.
I look forward to hearing from you then.

Again with many thanks and kind regards,
Andrei C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

stayed here over the weekend hotel was lovely room was perfect the girl that i was dealing with on the phone was very pleasant and couldn't have done enough for me her name was sinead she made everything so easy would defiantly come back. elsa murphy

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elainem76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear elainem76,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and also for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we are looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here again when next in Dublin. Thank you also for mentioning our colleague Sinead, who was very thankful for your kind comments.

With many thanks and kind regards,
Andrei C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is a church which has been converted into a hotel. We had book a junior suite however when we checked in they didn't have one ready so upgraded us to a full suite. Sweet! A beautiful room and within walking distance to most of the attractions downtown. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and the room was very quiet. I blame their beds, which were so comfortable that after an overnight flight, notwithstanding a nap and going to bed early we totally slept in until checkout time! This was not a problem for them. They graciously told us to take our time and did not impose an additional fee, which we deserved. Rooms are not cheap in Ireland however having said that, this was not expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djreeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Djreeve,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a wonderful 5 star review!

I am delighted to read that you had a very very comfortable stay! Our location does indeed put you within walking distance to most of the attractions downtown, yet is quiet enough for a good night's sleep. I'm glad the quiet and the comfortable beds provided you with a great sleep.
Thank you also for your kind comments in regards to our staff, who are very thankful to receive them.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope we will see you back here again when next in Dublin.

With warm regards,
Andrei C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing