We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Ranked #56 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Make no mistake this is a very good hotel situated on the south side of the river Liffey about 10 minuutes walk from Grafton Street and two minutes walk from Trinity College. Bus routes, etc are literally through the front door and turn left, while the Dublin Area Rapid Transit (DART) nearest station is a turn to the right and about 400 meteres away. The Dublin tram system does not extend south of the river so if you want to go over to O’Connell street – the main shopping area, etc then you can walk (20 mins) or use public transport.

The hotel is described as a boutique hotel offering a blend of old meets new and to be honest this description is spot on. The hotel isn’t huge but it does have a very grand feel about it when you step through the door. The reception area forms part of the lobby which in turn gives way to a small relaxation area which itself gives way to the Presidents Bar. Here you can get alcoholic beverages, tea\coffee, light snacks or even a full meal. If you want a full dining experience then you can make use of the main restaurant on the same level as the lobby.

The whole layout of the hotel is clean and comfortable – and quiet – away from public areas. There’s a very grand and regal feel about it! The guest rooms are the same. Clean, comfortable and with all the facilities you would expect from this class of hotel. Ironing board, trouser press, tea\coffee making facilities, TV, internet access and all the rooms are made up fresh each day. If you want extra towels, etc you only have to ask.

During our stay we were there for the Dublin Marathon and obviously The Davenport is in just the right place for the start and finish and it’s so nice to come back after the race to a comfortable hotel.

There were only two minor points that gave some cause for concern during our stay and so therefore I would say this to the hotel manager. 1) Don’t employ anyone who doesn’t really want to work there. Bar staff rolling their eyes and tutting when you ask them if you can order a drink isn’t very warm and welcoming. 2) When ordering room service can you ask the kitchen staff to cover the meals on the tray during their journey from the kitchen to the 5th floor. This helps them stay warm and stops dust and germs, etc from getting on to them. You might also want to make sure that the salt a pepper pots on the tray contain er; salt and pepper!

My opening line still rings true and we’ll be back.

Room Tip: Always get a room away from public areas. Perhaps a couple of floors up. But this is a quiet hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hooglemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear hooglemeister,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
graham.cooley@ocallaghanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and the hotel was great. Check in was quick, room was nice and big, clean and whilst not modern still great for a few nights. The rooms were quite warm and you need to open the windows so ask for a room at the back. Didn't eat at the hotel but bar was fine for drinks and coffee. The two things that make this a good hotel to stay at is the location and price. Location is further enough from the centre to be in a bit of peace but close enough to be able to walk in 10 mins. Rice was very reasonable for a city centre hotel and a hotel of this standard. Staff very helpful so no complaints there. When in Dublin again I would look to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kstand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Kstand,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
graham.cooley@ocallaghanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I recently spent seven nights at the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel and were very pleased with our stay. We arrived early the first day and I was pleasantly surprised to find that our room was ready for us. This was greatly appreciated after an overnight flight. We stayed in a king room which was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The room was larger than I had anticipated with a small seating area with two comfortable chairs and a table so you didn’t feel like your only option was to sit on the bed. Housekeeping did a wonderful job each day. We spoke with multiple people at the front desk throughout the eight days for various reasons and each person we encountered was polite, friendly, and helpful. The building itself is lovely and all areas (lobby, breakfast room, bar) were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included in our rate and we were more than happy with the selection of both hot and cold items and quality of the food. While it was the same buffet set up each day there was enough to choose from that you didn’t feel like you had to eat the same thing every day. Although, if breakfast had not been included in our rate it would have been too expensive for us and we would have just walked to a nearby café. The hotel was conveniently located next to Merrion Square and both “Hop on, Hop off” buses had a stop less than a block away. It was also an easy walk to the Grafton Street area and Trinity College. If you are planning to take a one of the airport express busses from the airport it is a bit of a walk to the hotel. For the return trip to the airport we took a taxi and at about 25 Euro it was much easier and I wish I had taken one when we arrived. When we were ready to leave we ask a staff member at the front desk and a taxi was there for us in only a few minutes. Every review mentions the lack of free internet and yes we did feel that only an hour of free wifi was a bit cheap compared to what is commonly offered at other hotels. I did book directly with the hotel and still only had the general free hour. There was a computer in the lobby that was easily accessible for guest use which was helpful and we were able to print our boarding passes from that computer. Overall it was a bit of a nuisance but it would not be a deciding factor on choosing to stay at this hotel. This hotel was a great value for the price and I believe the benefits of the Davenport outweighed any negative. We would certainly considering staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rors31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Rors31,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
graham.cooley@ocallaghanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at the O'Callaghan Davenport on our first visit to Dublin. Location was very good however we found a couple of discrepancies with the website. Firstly our room did not have a safety box in it, secondly the Aircoach (transfer) did not stop next to the hotel, or if it did we did not find the stop. Told by Aircoach that the closest stop was Kildare Street on the way there and Dawson Street on the way back. Would also like to comment that the Gym was not at all what we had hoped for. It had obviously previously been a room and had been converted into a Gym, and not very well in our opinion. The Air Conditioning was pointless, it was cooler in the corridor than the "gym". There were no towels to use and we had to change the water bottle as this was empty. We found the staff very accommodating when we needed to approach them, however after asking for poached eggs on our first morning and getting fried eggs, then on the second morning asking for poached eggs again and getting them some 10-15 mins later, then on the third morning asking for one poached egg and getting two, you did begin to wonder if they actually listened to you. That said, Dublin is a lovely city and we would certainly visit the City again. Not sure that this hotel would be top of our list for a re-book.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Michelle W,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Davenport Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I would appreciate if you could contact me at the below email address to discuss your comments further

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
graham.cooley@ocallaghanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great location, all the services you need without the corporate chain feel, local character, helpful staff, good sized rooms, very reasonable price. We would stay there again. Breakfast was adequate but not great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Twliebt,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
graham.cooley@ocallaghanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

What's good:
I found the staff to quite pleasant.
The bed was very comfortable.
I've never seen a hotel bath fill that quickly.

What's bad:
The junior suite was just an acre of dark empty space.
The furniture was missing handles.
There is the smallest ironing board. In a coffin box. Bolted to the wall. Mad.
The TV was tiny. It had a very limited number of stations. And yes, it has that special world renowned centralised HTR (Hotel TV Reception), where the picture is crap and the sound is delayed. It was also bolted to the table, so it didn't even swivel... not good for a room of this size.
"WiFi Free when you book on-line". This is a lie, and it didn't work anyway.
The heating in the room didn't work. At all.

Overall:
By the time you find all these faults, you don't feel like moving or complaining.
So, AVOID. There are better and cheaper places to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MontyMullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear MontyMullan,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Davenport Hotel.

I would appreicate if you could contact me on the beow email address so that we may discuss your comments further.

Many Thanks,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
graham.cooley@ocallaghanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent our first two nights here and it is a good location for seeing the town and walking home. The breakfasts were very good with a lot of variety. The cleaning staff was very friendly and did a great job. I did wish it had free wifi like most other hotels. Taxis wait right out front and the hop on hop off bus stops just on the next block. The windows open and even in November it is nice to have fresh air. We had two twin beds one was soft and the second was a bit firm. All in all a great two day stay with them.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Amanda D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.2 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 150 in Dublin
3,467 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $157 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing