We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long Weekend in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Ranked #41 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long Weekend in Ireland”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at the O'Callaghan Davenport on our first visit to Dublin. Location was very good however we found a couple of discrepancies with the website. Firstly our room did not have a safety box in it, secondly the Aircoach (transfer) did not stop next to the hotel, or if it did we did not find the stop. Told by Aircoach that the closest stop was Kildare Street on the way there and Dawson Street on the way back. Would also like to comment that the Gym was not at all what we had hoped for. It had obviously previously been a room and had been converted into a Gym, and not very well in our opinion. The Air Conditioning was pointless, it was cooler in the corridor than the "gym". There were no towels to use and we had to change the water bottle as this was empty. We found the staff very accommodating when we needed to approach them, however after asking for poached eggs on our first morning and getting fried eggs, then on the second morning asking for poached eggs again and getting them some 10-15 mins later, then on the third morning asking for one poached egg and getting two, you did begin to wonder if they actually listened to you. That said, Dublin is a lovely city and we would certainly visit the City again. Not sure that this hotel would be top of our list for a re-book.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Michelle W,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Davenport Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I would appreciate if you could contact me at the below email address to discuss your comments further

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
graham.cooley@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    642
    212
    50
    25
See reviews for
272
630
69
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great location, all the services you need without the corporate chain feel, local character, helpful staff, good sized rooms, very reasonable price. We would stay there again. Breakfast was adequate but not great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Twliebt,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
graham.cooley@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

What's good:
I found the staff to quite pleasant.
The bed was very comfortable.
I've never seen a hotel bath fill that quickly.

What's bad:
The junior suite was just an acre of dark empty space.
The furniture was missing handles.
There is the smallest ironing board. In a coffin box. Bolted to the wall. Mad.
The TV was tiny. It had a very limited number of stations. And yes, it has that special world renowned centralised HTR (Hotel TV Reception), where the picture is crap and the sound is delayed. It was also bolted to the table, so it didn't even swivel... not good for a room of this size.
"WiFi Free when you book on-line". This is a lie, and it didn't work anyway.
The heating in the room didn't work. At all.

Overall:
By the time you find all these faults, you don't feel like moving or complaining.
So, AVOID. There are better and cheaper places to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MontyMullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear MontyMullan,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Davenport Hotel.

I would appreicate if you could contact me on the beow email address so that we may discuss your comments further.

Many Thanks,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
graham.cooley@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent our first two nights here and it is a good location for seeing the town and walking home. The breakfasts were very good with a lot of variety. The cleaning staff was very friendly and did a great job. I did wish it had free wifi like most other hotels. Taxis wait right out front and the hop on hop off bus stops just on the next block. The windows open and even in November it is nice to have fresh air. We had two twin beds one was soft and the second was a bit firm. All in all a great two day stay with them.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Amanda D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel in Dublin for one night at the beginning of our "Jewels of Ireland" Tour with CIE Tours International. I was not sure what to expect, but must say that we were pleasantly surprised and pleased with the quality of the hotel for a tour group. It is a lovely old building, yet comfortable and clean.

We thought the buffet breakfast was outstanding. As someone previously mentioned, the quality of the bacon (ham) and the sausages was excellent. The meat was extremely tender with no fat. The buffet included cheeses and meats, fresh fruit, mushrooms, eggs, cooked tomatoes, baked beans, pastries, cereals and yogurts as well as other breakfast items.

The pub and breakfast/dining room are nice, large rooms. The lobby area is not overly large, but everything is tastefully done. Staff was friendly and helpful. Someone mentioned in a previous review that there was excessive wear. I'm usually pretty observant, yet what I saw did not bother me if I take the entire hotel into consideration. The hotel has a nice, old-world ambiance.

As I think over our two weeks in Ireland having stayed at ten different first-class hotels, I can honestly say that our accomodations at the O'Callaghan Davenport were very nice. The breakfast buffet was among the best we had during our stay.

Good location for Trinity College and the Book of Kells.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelOften2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear ChestertonRudy,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend period, the hotel is very well located in Dublin. The service is top class nothing is to much trouble, the rooms are very comfortable. The only negative is that breakfast is served buffet style so if you don't get down at 07:30 it will be cold.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear DDM19,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Davenport Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am surprised to hear that you thought that breakfast was cold beyone 7.30am, our buffet is maintained at a consistent temperature right up until the buffet is over.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Perfect location, but the hotel doesn't live up to its 4-star rating. Checkin was efficient and the staff friendly. Hotel is in need of serious refurbisnment. Corridors exhibit flaking paintwork and damaged woodwork. Inferior furniture both in rooms and public areas show signs of excessive wear (see armchairs in main lobby). Cracked tiles in bathroom. We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on food service. Would recommend the sister property Alexander Hotel across the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank beachbum44122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear beachbum44122,

Thank you for taking the time to reivew the Davenport Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I would appreciate if you could contact me at the below email address to discuss your points further. We have a continual maintenance program which consists of painting, re-polishing and fixing damaged woodwork. This usually eliminates any of the issues that you mentioned but obviuosly on this time we fell short.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Davenport Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
graham.cooley@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
1,394 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing