We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and conveniently located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Ranked #59 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent two nights at the Davenport, which is adjacent to Merrion Square and a convenient walk to Trinity College. Found the staff to be very helpful and accommodating. Excellent breakfast, and room was charming and comfortable. Only downside was the hairdryer that was more like a vacuum cleaner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Susan60898,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
graham.cooley@ocallaghanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

A nice hotel located within walking distance of the main shopping and tourist areas of Dublin. The hotel is clean with large well appointed rooms and friendly helpful staff.

Breakfast was good, but slightly surprised that it was a buffet type, with all the options available, although I was expecting it to be cooked to order. None the less it was still good.

As mentioned it is within walking distance of everything located on a quiet street, well away from any noise. All in all a good hotel and I wouldn't have any reservations staying here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank re1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear re1980,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I enjoyed this hotel. it was conveniently located to the things I wanted to do in Dublin. I thought it was a nice mix of a historical building with newer decor. Staff was helpful, bed was comfortable. We only ate the breakfast buffet but I thought it was quite good. Limited free Wi-fi would be only complaint. However, I wasn't really in the hotel long enough for it to be an issue. I was on vacation and not working so it was adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sphillips_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear sphillips_12,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The rooms and hallways have old charm, rooms are typically on the small side. The President's Dining Room food was outstanding and reasonably priced. Near Merrion Park and not far from St. Stephen's Green. Down side is that internet costs 8.95 euros per day. Everywhere else we stayed in Ireland in Kinsale and Galway, internet was included.

Room Tip: The windows do open, there is a very lively pub across the street. There are 2 other Davenport Hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Operations Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Rosemary S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal at the President's Bar and also took advantage of our fantastic location. We look forward to welcoming you back again

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

You hear comments about the hotel "needing love" "update needed" ect and you just have to realize that its an OLD building with a modern hotel in it.

I think a lot of the comments in the other reviews are due to the older people who were staying at this hotel; and to be honest they are QUITE needy.

I only ate breakfast in the hotel once and it was .....ehhhh ok but most of that was due to an elderly tour group running the wait staff ragged with their endless demands.

My room was good sized, modern, well cleaned and stocked along with having an EXCELLENT staff at the front desk that did everything they could to help me.

Only complaint I had was the charging for WiFi, other than that I would highly recommend this hotel for all around great location and accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask to be booked with a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Davin G,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff so helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed eight nights and found this hotel very conveniently located 1/2 block from Merrion Square. We walked everywhere downtown, and the Hop-On-Hop-Off Busses stop at the corner. Our room and bed were quite comfortable once we got the window open and the heat turned off. The staff were helpful and friendly. However, we learned the advertised amenities are only included if you pay full rack rate. We booked through hotels.com. When we checked out, we were charged 27.euro/day for the full Irish breakfast advertised on the web as included. WiFi was be limited to 2 hours/day before the meter started running. Also, if you use WiFi today, it will be inaccessible tomorrow until you call the front desk and ask them to perform a reset. We were in Ireland 7 weeks and this WiFi was by far the most difficult to use.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishJan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear IrishJan2013,

Thank you for posting your review of the Davenport Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Our rates through hotels.com do not include breakfast, and this is stated on their website. We do offer BB rates through many other channels.

I am sorry that you had difficulty using our wifi system, it does not need to be reset each day and apologies if it was not working properly for you, we are working on improving this,

I do hope that we get to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel staff is very nice and helpful, and the hotel is in a good location. Unfortunately, the rooms are old and dreary - worn bedding and carpets, outdated bathroom, etc. It is way overdue for some updating. Also, the breakfast was barely ok. This could be a great hotel, but it is not.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA-MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.2 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 150 in Dublin
3,508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#39 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $114 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing