We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Ranked #59 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 23, 2013

In looking at the hotel's web-site before booking, it looked really very nice. The reality wasn't bad but had we known the hotel would be so shabby we would have gone elsewhere. The breakfasts were great and the location for central Dublin was great too. Service at breakfast was slow despite the dining room not being that full. Our bedroom was nice but room service ended early and had a very limited selection to choose from. Could do better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JustWilliamtheSecond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Operations Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear JustWilliamtheSecond,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel.

Although you were disappointed with your stay I am glad to hear that there were some aspects that you did enjoy, including our breakfast. We have just completed a review of our breakfast service and steps are being put in place to improve the speed of service and overall presentation.

We have a continual maintenance program as well as plans for a soft refurbishment in the near future. I hope that if we get the opportunity to welcome you once again that we can change your opinion.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,149 - 1,155 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is our 3rd time using this hotel. We found it comfortable and friendly. On this occasion we stayed for just one night as we were visiting the theatre. Breakfast was good value as we had booked it online and been given an internet rate. We didn't eat in the bar this time as on our last two visits the service was slow and we were almost late for a theatre starting time, however there are plenty of eating places not far away. The Dart is close by and we used it a lot plus there are taxis just outside the door. We would stay here again as it is a good value, convenient hotel and the reception staff are very helpful and we were able to leave our luggage for a departure late in the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank der R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Operations Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear der R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel.

It is great to hear that you have stayed with us so many times and that you would not hesitate to return again. I have taken your comments on board about the slow service that you experienced in the bar and this will brought up at our next departmental meeting.

We do hope to see you again soon in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stephen was his name. Quiet thorough and a complete complement to the entire staff. Stephen waited the dining room lounge, served the most delicious scones and tea we encountered during our trip around Ireland. He deserves a extra pat on the back on behalf of your staff.
David James Delaney
P.S. Stephen is no relation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Operations Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear david d,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Davenport Hotel.

It is great to hear such wonderful comments about a member of our staff. I have passed these comments on to Stephen, who is a valued member of the team here at the O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff makes this hotel special. Both front desk and servers in the restaurants are extremely helpful and friendly. I found the rooms/bathrooms quite average and somewhat worn. The beds were not very comfortable and headboards didn't match the mattress (?). Buffet in the morning was adequate. The restaurant/bar in lobby is nice. Internet didn't work well. Location was quite good, within walking distance of most things. Cabs right out front. Overall, a good place to stay in Dublin!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lotoole0968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Operations Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear lotoole0968,

Thank you for taking the time to to review the O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel.

Although I am disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during you're stay, I am delighted to hear your positive comments about our staff and lobby and bar area.

We do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and hopefully next time we can surpass your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed 10 days at the Davenport. It was great. Room was comfortable, restaurant delightful. The breakfast buffet was great. Possibly could use a little more variety. The staff was very helpful. The Guinness in the pub was very tasty.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank abbypuckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Operations Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear abbypuckett,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Was a very nice hotel in the heart of where I needed to be in Dublin.
Attended a conference in the Hotel for two days and the food (which I had low expectations of) was really good and offered a wide selection of food during the Conference Lunches.
The Service at Breakfast was a little slow (for instance I was not asked if I wanted Tea/Coffee or what my room number was) but the food was really really nice.
I would stay at the hotel again but if not travelling for work I might find a cheaper option. However, it was really good value for money.
Wish I had used the swimming pool now... (didnt know they had one!)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alfie-Travelling-Cub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Operations Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Alfie-Travelling-Club,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel.

Although disappointed to hear your comments about the service at breakfast, I am pleased to hear the quality and offering at breakfast and lunch exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel in the future and please feel free to contact us directly for the best offers.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights at the Davenport after 14 days of touring Ireland. We found the rooms clean, comfortable and well apppointed. The service was exceptional! At one point when our electric kettle stopped working, I went to the front desk to request another. The teapot actually was delivered to my wife in the room before I got back there a few minutes later! The breakfast buffet was abundant and had quite a selection. The wait staff was friendly and efficient. When we return to Dublin, we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Operations Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear David A,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you were truly pleased with the breakfast available at the hotel as well as with the efficient service of our staff.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.2 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 150 in Dublin
3,508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#39 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $114 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing