We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First stop on CIE tour.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Ranked #42 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bath, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First stop on CIE tour.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Nice Hotel. Stayed as part of CIE Tour. Rooms were quite nice quite spacious, view from Room OK. Great Pub across the street called The Ginger Man. Breakfast was good and staff quite competent.Our whole group seemed quite pleased.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    635
    208
    50
    24
See reviews for
266
622
68
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed in The Davenport Hotel for four nights recently and got off on the wrong foot. I parked outside the hotel and asked about parking facilities. I was directed around the block to a gated complex and I was given a code to gain access. I assumed I had arrived at the rear of the hotel. Having parked the car I had difficulty trying to find the lift/stairs to the hotel before realising that it was a separate entity. I went out onto the street and walked about 200 metres to the hotel with my suitcase and suit. I had to walk back again to get another bag and came upon a gang of about ten boisterous youths. Once I collected my bag I had to pass them again. It was dark at the time and there didn’t appear to be anybody else around and it was a little intimidating. I imagine that it would be worse for a lone female in the same situation. It cost me €40 for the privilege and when I went to check out of the hotel I discovered that I couldn’t include it on my room bill and had to pay at the car park. Because I didn’t validate the ticket at reception before I left, the machine in the car park was charging me €182, so I had to trundle back to the hotel again. I found this business to be frustrating and time consuming to say the least. There is no mention of parking on the website and I would caution visitors to be aware of this arrangement before booking the hotel. Apart from that, the room was very comfortable, quiet and clean and the food was good. The location is excellent, just a few miniutes walk from Stephens Green.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Nice hotel, great location. Decent size room with huge bed. Breakfast very comprehensive. Staff on the ball. My only disappointment was the lack of free wi-fi, only the house computer available @ 2.99 hour. Yet wi-fi was free in cafe across the road.

Hotel particularly handy for National Gallery (two minutes). Would definitely stay he again. Certainly would stay if free wi-fi was available!

Room Tip: We had 530 and 630. Brilliant rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmeliaJoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

What a great base for our long weekend in Dublin. This hotel were helpful in every way to us and the weather was kind enough to jump on an open top bus. The hotel served the best pint of Guinness in Dublin and the tall maybe Dutch maybe Belgium duty manager certainly made us feel welcome. If you also want the best bar in Dublin then find O'Sullivans Bar. It is in the centre but we found it the best true Irish experience. (Temple Bar area is more like Blackpool). Breakfast at the hotel was first class they even managed to get me the only English Times in Dublin to relax with too.

Room Tip: Bars across the street were open but not noisy so no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank portmanrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear portmanrd,
Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your kind comments to the duty manager involved. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Kind regards,
Martin Dagger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We have stayed at the Davenport the last 3 times in Dublin. Again we had great friendly service and fantastic food! Best location in the city, close to everything. Sylvia the waitress was extremely friendly, wonderful and one of the nicest waitresses! The front desk person Luchia remembers us every time we arrive and is a true pleasure. Highly recommend this hotel! Fantastic food in the President's Bar. Thank you for making our stay in Dublin delightful!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear mapeterson25,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments.We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, I have passed your kind comments on to both staff members mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
With Kind Regards,
Martin Dagger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

My family and I had a two night stay recently in Dublin. This hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to many of Dublin's sites. The rooms were nice sized, but nothing special, especially the "junior suite" - a room that wasn't much larger than a standard room. Furnishings seemed in need of an upgrade - Bathroom linens were worn - no shampoo or conditioner in two of the three rooms we rented. My bed was hard as a rock - really uncomfortable, but not much I can do about that. Service was just ok - the breakfast had good choices but the food tasted like it was hanging around too long - eggs were overly salty and not enough fruit was offered.

I did ask someone at the desk for a dinner recommendation - were there any places near the hotel that would accept a reservation? He said no, but recommended Foley's as an ideal place for dinner. Unfortunately, we had dinner at Foley's the previous night, and it was dreadful!! I figured he must've had friends working there, otherwise,why would he recommend a pub several blocks away, when there were two good pubs right next door?

The worst of all was having to pay for wifi - I had traveled through Ireland, stayed in many charming B&Bs with FREE wifi (even in Doolin!). I guess the hotel is geared towards soaking the business traveler on an expense account. Ironically, they advertise a business center, but don't have one.

Definitely not a 4 star quality hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank speg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We were well satisfied with our stay here. The breakfast buffet was included in our booking price and was very good. The room was not small by european standards, but smaller than the larger hotel we stayed in previously in Dublin. It was still quite large compared to those in London! The room was quite cozy and comfortable. The hotel was clean and very convenient for walking to the major attractions in Dublin. Lots of nice pubs and restaurants nearby as well as a short walk to St. Stephen's Green. Public transportation is quite good in the area also. Just a short ride to the Guiness Factory! This is a must see, even if you aren't crazy for Guiness!!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view...not sure if it mattered...as we couldn't see any other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LInda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.2 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing