We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Raw Vegetables,Reheated half frozen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Ranked #42 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Raw Vegetables,Reheated half frozen”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Went for a celebration meal with friends, there was over 350 people in the group, it took over 3.5 hrs for the kitchen staff to serve soup, with a reheated half frozen bread roll, then warm chicken with very raw vegetables for the main meal, no extra gravy I might add. They would have been perfect served as carrot sticks with dips for starters! Won't be going there again in a hurry,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POPIEDUBLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    642
    213
    50
    25
See reviews for
273
632
69
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

The hotel was beautiful and an easy walk to everything we wanted to see. However for the price not worth it. There were only a five channels on the tv, no free wifi, extra cost for breakfast and the rooms were very hot. The shower was good and the beds were soft, it was clean but the sheets were not changed during our five day stay.
The staff at reception and the bar were absolutely horrible. They were rude, unhelpful and acted like it was a waste of their time to be helping. Even the most basic information about Dublin they were unable to help and directed us to the computer to Google it ourselves ( which was slow and cost money). We had stayed at a budget accommodation the weekend before with the most helpful front desk staff. Our stay in the Davenport could not be more different. In several encounters with a few different front desk staff they were constantly rude, unhelpful, unaccommodating and the opposite of what someone travelling for leisure in a new country would expect from a hotel of this reputation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel is very nice the room we stayed in was equipped with an ironing board and a flat TV (though the selection of channels was very limited), the bathroom was conveniently large and everything was very clean. The downside was that there was no free WiFi service and neither a minibar nor a safe was available in the room. The little cabinet in the closet took away a lot of space and made the hanging up of clothes very difficult. Also the room was very hot and the air condition did not work. The window opened to a ventilation shaft which was very noisy so we could not keep it open during the night. I also found it strange, that the computer in the lobby seemed to be restricted as I could not get internet access there. Still I would rate the hotel very good as the beds were really comfortable, the breakfast was very good, the staff was very friendly (even when we checked in really late at night) everything was very clean and the location is excellent. The tour busses for the Dublin Tour stop about 150m away, for the day tours they stop in front of the hotel, taxis were always available and many sights (Merrion Square, Museums, Trinity College, St. Stephens Green) as well as the shopping area are in walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raibrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

The hotel was in a nice neigborhood, aprox 5-10 min away from the city centre. Junior suites were HUGE with comfy beds. English breakfast served every morning from 7.00am to 10.15 am. Really nice hotel: BIG beds, ironboard, flat screen. No minibar. The rooms were very hot, and air-con didn't work very well.

Some trouble with staff when we checked in (some problems with price agreement), but everything turned out fine.

Room Tip: Junior suites were excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hennes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Hennes2, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. I do hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in thenear future.

Kind Regards,
Davenport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed one night (our first) in the Davenport. First I must give them huge credit for allowing us to check in at 7:00 a.m. So they get points for that if nothing else for sure. It took 5 trips back and forth between our room and the front desk to get into our room. The key card didn't work. After 5th trip the manager lady came up and determined that the battery was dead in the lock. Room was just dark and drab...just very "brown". No washclothes in the room, but found that to be the case in 3 other hotels we stayed in also. No washrags til we got the Ashford Castle lol. However tub was very deep and water wonderfully hot (points for that!)Breakfast was ok, but had a bit of a loud, crowded, generic feel to it. On the upside...a lovely lovely bar area. I went down and had a glass of wine by myself after my husband jet-lagged out on me about 10:00 p.m. There was a lovely bar across the street, the Gingerman, but I was too scared to venture out by myself without my husband although everything seemed very very safe...just nervousness on my part. Finally, the staff seemed to be almost like a training program...everyone seemed to be very young and almost "in training", not necessarily bad, just an observance...Oh, one final thing...I left my Itenerary and passport in my room upon checkout and they called ahead to our next hotel (they got it off the itenerary I left in the room) and then forwarded on the passport and itenerary to the final hotel on our route..So huge kudos for that! Location good (point) no free wi-fi (point deduct!) lol Oh and the blow dryer in the hotel was the equivilent of a dying woman's last gasping breath. It was basically a tube coming out of the wall...quite sad for this American girl with alot of hair! Oh, and I can't comment on the value because our travel guide booked this room for us and it was part of the overall price so I don't know what it cost.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magnoliagirl3515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Just returned from a wonderful four night stay at the O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel. Hotel room was extremely comfortable and the staff really, really helpful. Nothing was too much. Breakfast plentiful, tasty and well prepared. Will definitely stay there again and recommend it to family and friends alike.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

I'm not a fan of frills and luxury so maybe its just lost on me and you should ignore my review. Room was nice, clean, everything was fine, but considering the price i was a bit in shock. It wasn't THAT nice, and we didnt even get free wifi. Also, the location was fair, but wasn't exactly in the heart of dublin, took us 20m just to walk to somewhere interesting.

All in all, nothing wrong with the place, but it just wasn't all that great considering the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiMonsterNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing