We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Ranked #49 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
luton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it..”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Having read some of the bad reviews it was with trepidation I arrived at the hotel. The Hotel has lovely old world charm, the twin room my daughter and I had booked was spacious and very well equiped. The bathroom too was a nice size and had an art deco feel to it. We ordered room service one evening and I can honestly say it was the quickest and hottest room service meal I`ve ever had. I would definatly return here and would recomened this hotel. Only thing I will say the pillows were rather hard, I`d actually taken my own with me so don`t know if they could have provided better if I`d asked.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa-mac89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Daveport Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We look foward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    661
    226
    54
    31
See reviews for
279
651
71
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

From the moment we arrived at the Hotel Davenport until we departed three days later, we were impressed by the old world charm of this lovely hotel. The staff was courteous and helpful...the dining room was beautiful...and the accommodations met all of our expectations. This hotel is located within walking distance of many of the area's sights...including Trinity College and Merrion Square and Grafton Street. Taxis are readily available and it is an easy walk to the bus routes. We would certainly choose this hotel again if we were ever to visit Dublin...which we hope to do again very soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lacoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2011

very good hotel, the hotel location is great. the breakfest was allso very good one. the internet service was very simple to oporate and was very fast one. i have one remark ant that is for the sleeping comfort that was not so good!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Worldhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank gadi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

From the photos, you will think this is a beautiful hotel. Don't be fooled. While the facade is very cool, the rest of the hotel -- the hallways, the rooms, etc are more Days Inn. My internet worked on and off, the hallways were scratched up and as narrow as those on a boat, the room decor was tired and worn, fixtures in the bathroom were falling off, one phone in the room didn't work, tape covered a hole in the wall, the TV was temperamental, and the staff clearly overworked from too many complaints. Again, I wouldn't mind these things had I paid less then 100 a night. But I went on an online booking and had to pay a lot more. (I pray the reason it was so darn high was because it was when the Queen of England visited.) The one good thing I can say for this hotel is its location. It is across from a lovely park and a few steps from the statue of Oscar Wilde.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JockRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
383 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

From the moment we walked into this hotel, we knew we were in trouble. There is no bellman at the front desk to help you and they hand you a envelope with your keys and point to the elevator. Very rude staff and although they say complimentary internet on their website there is a charge!
We ate dinner at the hotel as was included in our stay and all I can say is beware. Limited choices and subpar food. Eat elsewhere as there are many close by choices and better yet, just don't stay here. The beds were decent, the pillows were cardboard like and the bathroom dryer hose came off while drying my hair and I thought I would never get it turned off but I finally was able to reinsert the hose back! When leaving early the next morning the front desk person came running after to me to say I owed for dinner so I had to show her my voucher again. Dublin is wonderful and we had such great food and service everywhere else that I suggest not staying here as it will want to make you return home!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Great old building in a great location (next to Oscar Wilde's old house).

Not all rooms actually have safes (they advertise that they do), and of the rooms that do, plenty are inoperable.

Beds okay, fairly good tvs, good tubs with showerheads.

Nice buffet breakfast for a small hotel, great service in the bar (where a small menu of good meals is also available).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank queen_of_expats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Stayed here with a gang for the Ireland Engand Rugby match, thankfully the hotel was much better than the English teams performance. Rooms very pleasant and breakfast was good, bar service a little haphazard and a request for some Bloody Marys to deal with the after effects night before was met with a blank look. Location is spot on and enabled us to really enjoy our time in Dublin

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clutz7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.2 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#32 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing