We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flies, duty and bed smelling in the room....”
Review of Kinlay House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinlay House
Ranked #15 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed August 25, 2013

No doubt the location of Kinlay is excellent. However when I arrived I was greeted by a cold reception and debauched. The quadruple room stank a lot! Flies flew as if a rotten area. I've never been in a room so smelly and filthy. To complete the evening came a guy in the middle of the night completely drunk he was receiving messages by telephone ... he came to spend only one night. In the common area only two computers worked for Whole Hostel ... worse than that people are "settled" for hours forgetting that other people needed to use computers for the wi-fi Kinlay sucks! I honestly did not return nor recommend. There are other better! Warning: Kinlay not!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathilde221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 811 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a mixed 4 bed ensuite room. The room and bathroom were both basic but clean. The staff were happy to help with everything. The street noise was a little noisy but our room was on the main street. The common room had good facilities including a VHS player!! The laundry was suitable however the clothes dryer only works - €4 for 90mins (my clothes dried in 45mins and lost the rest).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 83KristenMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed two nights here and loved the central location, so close to all that we wanted to see, walking distance. Chose a private room which was a twin, but bunk beds instead of two separate beds. The bathroom drain was not working well, so shower water backed up a bit. Breakfast was a basic continental: toast, cereal, tea, but enough to start the day. Lucas was very helpful and friendly. Street noise comes through and ventilation in the room was minimal, although we were there during unusually hot weather. Overall, we would stay there again for the location and budget friendly price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandM838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Best location(5 minutes from Temple bar), nice casual breakfast(It's free!!!) and helpful crews.
But the air of double room is impregnated with dampness. (Need ventilator) Because it's ireland, but the room needs to let fresh air.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruelledor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Inlay house is close enough to temple bar to walk for any partying and touristy things you want, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. The staff are helpful and friendly, and it's very close to a number of sights

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in Kinlay house for 2 nights, well 1.5 nights really. Although the location of Kinlay house is great along with the staff being very helpful thats about as far as i can go with the positives.
Although not a massive thing to all travellers- the wifi was terrible, when on the website it states wifi in rooms and all common areas, you expect it to actually work. The wifi barely worked in the rooms and dropped out all the time, a number of sites were blocked as well.
The 'lockers' they claim to have are actually cages out the back in the laundry (which they charge you 2 euro a day to use), meaning there is no security in your room and if you choose to lock up your things you have to travel down 3 flights of stairs, and exit the main building just to get your bag-and pay!
All the bathrooms are share bathrooms-unisex, which they fail to warn you about, and the showers are on a 20 second timer, they just get hotter and hotter each time you press the button, there is also no were to put your things in the shower which makes it quite hard seeing as they are all unisex.
Last but not least- on our last night, i awoke to a huge storm, i heard rain so i closed the window (the rooms are literally 10 degree hotter than outside), i then noticed i was getting dripped on, turned the light on to realise our room was getting flooded from the roof and walls, the water was coming in form everywhere, all our bags were drenched. We were they forced to move into the hall way while the person on reception did nothing. Finally we were moved into another room around 1 hour later. We only received half our money back (for the 1 night) as it 'wasn't their fault it rained'.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Kinlay House on a weekend trip to Dublin. It was in such a great location, close to Temple Bar and Trinity College. Some of our other friends had stayed here on a previous trip and recommended it to us. It was super cheap and a really interesting building. There were free computers to use in the sitting room and a kitchen available for anyone to use.

We stayed in one of the larger dorm style rooms. Everyone was respectful and quiet at night coming into the room, and I did not wake up even though I was at the bed closest to the door. There were hall shower rooms and toilets down the hallway which were clean.
The people staying in the hostel were really nice as well, and we even met some new friends who were staying in our room!

Overall excellent place and one of the best hostels i've stayed in. I will definitely return next time I'm in Dublin!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryandm430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 151 in Dublin
1,427 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 124 in Dublin
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Court
#7 of 124 in Dublin
1,105 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 124 in Dublin
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay House

Address: 2-12 Lord Edward Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $19 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Kinlay House 1*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin’s most lively hostel, in the vibrant Temple Bar District – friendly, safe and clean! Free WIFI & Internet access and free light breakfast. In the famous Temple Bar district, Kinlay House is surrounded by the best selection of Dublin’s bars, cafes and restaurants and within easy walking distance to all of Dublin’s top attractions, including Guinness Storehouse, Dublin Castle, and Trinity College. We have a great team that go out of their way to make sure you enjoy the ‘Irish craic’ and we have all of the facilities you would expect from a leading hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kinlay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinlay House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing