We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well it is a hostel”
Review of Kinlay House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinlay House
Ranked #13 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed January 10, 2013

On the last night of our trip we stayed here after 12 previous nights in B&Bs. I've never stayed in a hostel before (or since) so I don't know how it compares to other hostels. It's quite a step down from B&Bs but that's to be expected. Our room was quiet enough and people were friendly. We had no problems with breakfast. Check in & out was very smooth. Good location in Dublin and easy access with the bus stop out front.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superstar5622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 824 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Kinlay House in Dublin for our driving trip around Ireland. The only downside for us was really that there was no free parking around, but that's Dublin for you, and I don't think that's an issue fro most backpackers. The free breakfast was great, they offer safes (which is nice) and the computer access was good. WiFi didn't always work in our room. The showers/bathrooms were modest. We stayed in a six-bedroom female dorm, and it was all right. Small bathroom ensuite and no separate shower. On par with other hostel rooms, nothing outstanding. The staff was very helpful in helping us to get around, use their phones, find parking and assist with other needs. I also felt very safe/secure, as their is a security pass you have to show to get in and many windows had alarms hooked into them.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acds24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hostel is in a good part of Dublin to see everything. Breakfast was only cereal and milk, nothing more substantial than that. It is right near Temple Bar and Christ Church and the Airport bus drops you off right across the street. The lockers were not in the room and you did have to walk down an alleyway to get to them. I had an early fight out and when I woke up at 4am they had not yet turned on the heat and had a freezing cold shower.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was there with my people for only one night. People there were very friendly. It has a nice atmosphere.
It's near to Temple Bar and other tourist attractions.
Has nice prices
One minus: they start to heat the rooms at 6-7. It got pretty cold the one night and in the morning when we got up.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasiass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Oh man I hated this place.
The staff were great - nothing personal, but the actual accommodation is a nightmare. Or would have been if I had been able to get any sleep!
It was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever encountered, and the loudest hostel. We had stairs going over our heads, and people thumping up and down them all night, not to mention the traffic noise (I guess to be expected in this area). Ear plugs didn't even block out the noise it was so loud.
Toilets and showers were ok, but the sensor for the light is outside the door, so not uncommon to be plunged into darkness mid-shower.
We were happy to cancel our final night and book into a hotel - and the price was very comparable.
Would never ever ever consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

this place was very uncomfortable the staff were not very friendly the rooms were very small it was very noisey and we did not get much sleep i had to find a car park to park my car which was very pricey overall i would not stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillsaunders2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Staff was very welcoming upon arrival. Stayed 3 nights in a quad ensuite room. Room was clean, shower adequate. Loud at night as others have said, but with headphones or earplugs is just fine. Secure at night. Great price for Dublin, be prepared to spend the savings on expensive pints. Airlink #747 bus from airport dropped us off 100 yards from the hostel. Walking distance to Guinness, Jameson. Would likely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slyoung10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 152 in Dublin
1,462 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 130 in Dublin
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isaacs Hostel
#5 of 130 in Dublin
2,269 reviews
Avalon House
#32 of 130 in Dublin
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay House

Address: 2-12 Lord Edward Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $21 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Kinlay House 1*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin’s most lively hostel, in the vibrant Temple Bar District – friendly, safe and clean! Free WIFI & Internet access and free light breakfast. In the famous Temple Bar district, Kinlay House is surrounded by the best selection of Dublin’s bars, cafes and restaurants and within easy walking distance to all of Dublin’s top attractions, including Guinness Storehouse, Dublin Castle, and Trinity College. We have a great team that go out of their way to make sure you enjoy the ‘Irish craic’ and we have all of the facilities you would expect from a leading hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kinlay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinlay House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing