We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kinda crazy.”
Review of Isaacs Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isaacs Hostel
Ranked #6 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kinda crazy.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Writing the review at the hostel, even. It's a nice hostel-- free walking tour every morning with good access to other tours. The staff were helpful, though kept trying to get me to go on their pub crawl. Was thinking about it, but decided against it. The people here were nice and there's two hangout rooms-- the ground floor and the basement. The ground floor is where it's a little crazy, downstairs is nice and quiet. If you come in around ten, there's plenty of people with alcohol on the tables.

Second night I was there, I had gone out drinking a bit by myself, got bored, came back. Upon deciding I wasn't drunk enough, I asked one of the staff members where was open. Three of them were getting off work and they directed me to a pub down the street and we hung out. They even saved me from an unsavory 60+ year old man.

I loved the staff, though. They're very nice, and while it might not be the best located hostel, I found walking to things wasn't bad. They also have bikes you can rent, but I haven't been on a bike in so long. Probably would split my head open!

Beds are a little creaky, so either you want to get on the top bunk and be there early, or on the bottom bunk and get there late. They're not unstable by any means, just creaky and they sway a bit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastacia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for your nice review - we will have to investigate the creaky bed though - that's a first for us but don't worry we will check into it. Those beds costs a fortune and they should not creak!!! Glad you liked the staff too - they do work hard! Do come again and we will direct to you an uncreaky bed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    808
    337
    119
    79
See reviews for
92
276
584
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

If you just want a hostel then you get what you pay for staying in dormitories. The wifi is only available in the common room and is overwhelmed when more than a few people there. The free walking tour of Dublin was poorly organised despite repeated checks at the desk and arriving early. It seems because I was the only person wanting to go nothing happened. The impression was it started at Isaac's when in fact the real meeting place was 15 minutes away. I was eventually directed to the right place but too late to get there. Ironically i had been near the real start place earlier I'm the morning!
Breakfast was well organised and adequate and the place was kept clean.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your response. Sorry about the Free Walking tour - we do normally have a pick up from the hostel every day and the feedback we get from guests is that it is a great free tour but unfortunately the pick up didn't work out on the day of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The hostel was great, staff was great, and the location was perfect! Only issues were that the hostel is literally right next to the train, which is extremely loud all the time. the showers had a 6 second timer, so every 6 seconds you had to press it again, not that wasn't a but deal. Overall a great place and a killer price. Would recommend again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks for your recommendation. For next time we do have quieter rooms to rear away from train if you are a light sleeper plus ear plugs available. Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm with no issues. The atmosphere is fun and they serve a small free breakfast which isn't mentioned in their accommodations which I was pleasantly surprised to discover. Downsides are that the wifi only works in the common areas and there are no lockers in the rooms. However, their lounge is nice and there are other amenities like a laundry room, reading area, tv room, pool and ping pong tables. Also there is a free daily walking your that picks up at the hostel. Pretty average hostel, but the stay has been pleasant

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliehigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Many thanks for your Review and useful comments for other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beilngries, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Isaacs Hostel is a great hostel. The location and the atmosphere are very good, it´s near to the City Center... the staff there is very friendly and helpful. and the people are awesome.. they offer free walking tours and a backpacker pub crawl every day. The rooms and the bathrooms are clean. Wifi is only available at the common areas, and there is computer to use for free.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaZeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Great feedback we really appreciate it .Thanks a million !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Isaacs has a great atmosphere. The common room and kitchen are always full of friendly people having a good time. That being said, there is virtually no security that can't be bypassed. Despite knowing everyone in my room and locking the door (we double checked before leaving), the room was broken into and valuables were stolen. When we informed the staff, they appeared disinterested and proved to be very unhelpful. I'm sorry to say I will not be recommending this hostel to anyone in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us Our response relates to the incident commented upon by one of your room mates in an earlier review . We have as you know since been in touch with your group directly and there is an ongoing investigation with the garda from which we are awaiting further information. We are so sorry about the theft during your stay which is understandably very upsetting. We do take security very seriously with secure key card access to all areas and bedrooms with CCTV. We do recommend use of secure lockers and safes for storage of valuables of our guests. We are particularly disappointed that you felt our staff were not helpful with the incident; which of course should not be the case .We have discussed this with all relevant personnel to ensure it does not happen again, We will be in touch again directly with further updates and again our apologies for the distress this has caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was the hostel that I stayed when I came to Ireland, so I was with a huge bag. I felt happy to see that it was located less than I block away from the bus station. The location is also very near to the city center. The atmosphere of it was great, the staff was helpful, the common areas were really nice. My only complain is that the wifi was only available on the common areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarissaBlanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Many many thanks for your great response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,344 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 115 in Dublin
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Court
#7 of 115 in Dublin
1,022 reviews
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#16 of 115 in Dublin
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaacs Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaacs Hostel

Property: Isaacs Hostel
Address: 2 - 5 Frenchman's Lane, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Isaacs Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original and most famous backpacker hostels in Dublin, Isaacs Hostel has a warm, relaxed atmosphere and is a quirky, fun, full of character in a 19th century converted wine store. City centre location close to central Bus Station,Dart Station,Connolly station and Luas tram Tram. Great modern amenities with large guest kitchen with plenty of plates, cutlery & storage space. Onsite laundry, Sauna, Dorms and private rooms, Library, basement common rooms, Attractions such as Temple Bar,O'Connell Street, 3 Arena, Croke Park,Jameson Distillery, Trinity College,Jeannie Johnson Famine Ship are all close by. FREE STUFF includes;Free Light Breakfast,Free Tea and coffee and filtered water, FREE Bed linen,FREE Wifi,FREE Sauna,FREE Walking tour of Dublin every day,FREE Board games,FREE Pizza night, FREE games of Table Tennis, FREE use of Guitars, Discounted tickets, Airport bus Plus FREE Smiles, Hugs and Craic (within reason !)Information, tall tales and Irish wit!** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Isaacs Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing