We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!”
Review of Isaacs Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isaacs Hostel
Ranked #6 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A really nice place to stay when you are away in Dublin just for the weekend, with the airlink bus stop really nearby to your hostel and the city center only 10 mins walking distance!
The staff was friendly and the facilities were clean,I would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ioanna_p07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thanks a mill- and come back soon sweet guest !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,112)
There are newer reviews for Isaacs Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,579 - 1,585 of 2,112 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was so disappointed with this hostel. Everything in my room made noise - creaky beds and floor boards, train tracks outside the window, noise in the hallway. Needless to say it was difficult to sleep. Only one plug in an 8 bed dorm which is so poor jn this day and age, everyone has electronics that need charging. The hostel itself was so overheated which made going outside in Dublin winter even more unpleasant due to the vast temperature change. The wifi only works on the ground floor. The lockers (which you have to pay extra for) are in the basement. I paid for my locker when I checked in and when I checked out the staff member ripped me off by saying I needed to pay for an extra day even though I was returning my key at 7.30 AM. He couldn't explain this - even said the first and last day of rental were free and then backtracked and said they weren't. I wanted to stay to argue with him further but I had a plane to catch. I was so happy to get out of there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

We are so so sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Isaacs and to have disappointed you . If you can send your email we will respond personally to each of your points.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Location is very good, and the hostel is beautiful, specially the basement, with chairs, tables, sofas, wifi access and many sockets/outlets. Unfortunately, some selfish guests used the sofas as beds, making it impossible to sit. Too hippie... They didn't care at all, even if the place was full of people and you really needed that sofa... That happened the 3 days I was there, so this basement didn't seem to be managed by the hostel, only by guests. To access the bedroom there was like three doors, very isolated, so there wasn't any disturbing noise, even tough there wasn't enough power outlets and that is always a problem. Employees were very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gus1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thanks for your comments and so pleased you loved the Hostel. Sorry about the situation with the lazy sofa hoggers - it is a good point and though we encourage a chilled out atmosphere we also want out guests to understand that sharing is caring !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Amazing atmosphere, a lot of young people, Irish music in the hall with fireplace, during the night it becomes a cheer pub...but be preperred for an awful sharp noise because the train that pass very very close to the hostel, you can see it from you room window..from 7.00 am to 11.00 pm..after that, very good venue

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

We love the beautiful and friendly comments - sounds like you had a blast . The train does pass by but does not run after midnight or before 6.30 and we have some quieter rooms at the rear if you are a lighter sleeper and ear plugs also available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I've got an ensuite private room for me and my friends (4 people). Everything was perfect, the room was very clean, the bathroom as well. Plus they're a decent size, really. The communal kitchen is well suited with everything you need. The staff was really helpful and friendly, giving us tips and directions. The free light breakfast was good too. We didn't spend much time inside the hostel, to be honest, but the atmosphere seemed to be great as well. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DemoiselleCris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Lovely - Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great staff, they were all friendly and helpful about everything. Got recommendations for places to visit etc. Well located place, central and nice. A bit hard to find maybe. Very good breakfast. Good beds. Good common rooms, a bit cold maybe, but there was blankets. Vending machines big plus! And lots of fun people! Great wifi. My first stay at a hostel ever and I loved it!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matilde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Cool thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Staff was very friendly, the hostel was very well located. The price was very good (one important thing to consider) and there was an amazing breakfast. The only thing I have to complain about is the fact that there was just one socket in the bedrom I stayed, and it was located up one bed. But this is not a serious thing, I think.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor_Camilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhBro, Director of Sales at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thanks for your great review. We are delighted you enjoyed the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,385 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 119 in Dublin
2,122 reviews
Abbey Court
#7 of 119 in Dublin
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaacs Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaacs Hostel

Address: 2 - 5 Frenchman's Lane, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $24 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Isaacs Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original and most famous backpacker hostels in Dublin, Isaacs Hostel has a warm, relaxed atmosphere and is a quirky, fun, full of character in a 19th century converted wine store. City centre location close to central Bus Station,Dart Station,Connolly station and Luas tram Tram. Great modern amenities with large guest kitchen with plenty of plates, cutlery & storage space. Onsite laundry, Sauna, Dorms and private rooms, Library, basement common rooms, Attractions such as Temple Bar,O'Connell Street, 3 Arena, Croke Park,Jameson Distillery, Trinity College,Jeannie Johnson Famine Ship are all close by. FREE STUFF includes;Free Light Breakfast,Free Tea and coffee and filtered water, FREE Bed linen,FREE Wifi,FREE Sauna,FREE Walking tour of Dublin every day,FREE Board games,FREE Pizza night, FREE games of Table Tennis, FREE use of Guitars, Discounted tickets, Airport bus Plus FREE Smiles, Hugs and Craic (within reason !)Information, tall tales and Irish wit!** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isaacs Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing