We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend noise”
Review of Isaacs Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isaacs Hostel
Ranked #6 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    822
    340
    124
    82
See reviews for
97
284
595
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Paid more than 40 euro for a dingy room with no bathroom,,and to top it all i was welcomed with a cold shower in the morning,,I appreciate the atmosphere but even at budget prices you need some basic amenities.(and I'm not an old lady yet)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
So sorry you were disappointed - it sounds like you stayed in one of our private rooms at Isaacs during a bust period Dormitories tend to be great value from €10 including breakfast per night . At Jacobs inn our sister Hostel around the corner we do have a good number of en suite private rooms and this may be a better bet fir you . If ever you back in Dublin please make contact via Renata@ isaccs.ie and we will do our best to make it up to you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here the entire week we were in Dublin, and it is one of the best hostels I've been in. It was very clean, the breakfast was ok and free wifi (so rare in Europe unbelievably). However the best part was the customer service! The staff at the counter is so open and friendly and always ready to help with directions, maps, suggestions, anything. The location is alright too and you can walk just about anywhere. However the atmosphere, from friendly staff to the lounge area downstairs to the welcoming tables in the lobby area are what made this hostel stand out

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bootsie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
You kind of hit the nail on the head re the atmosphere - and so glad you liked us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I went from London to spend a miniholidays in Dublin and under my view, all was perfect.
I slept in the second floor and I must tell that either rooms and toilet very cleaned and tidy.
The kitchen, which is quite big, has loads of draws and departments to keep food and there are two big fridges for the cool food. And even there is a housekeeping who cleans the kitchen twice per week.
In adittion in the hotel there is a huge welcoming rest room where one`s can meet new friendly people or have a dinner in there as weel.
As a difference with other hostels, friends of mine no residents came to visit to me and to have a dinner in there and no staff forbade the entrance. The that is great!!
You can find wifi acces in all places as well.
The hostel is close town center and close a full of market and shops street.

And altough it is only with steps and no lifts on the ground floor there are a few rooma able for disable people.
It was great!!!!! one of the bests hostels

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kriscastellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
SO pleased you had a great stay !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at this hostel over the weekend. It was a bit loud Friday and Saturday nights, and sound travelled pretty easily to the first floor where we were staying. But the noise was not overly obnoxious, and we were able easily to fall asleep. The basement was a really nice feature, with a few different rooms to sit in and read, watch tv, talk, work on your laptop, play ping-pong, etc. The location was convenient; we were able to walk everywhere. The rooms and bathrooms were simple and clean. The best thing about this hostel was the staff, who were lively and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again and so really recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanta29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks a million for taking the time to post a review - and such a lovely one !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great hostel, but we went during a rather calm period (beginning of april) so we missed some of the friendly spirit. There were some larger groups as well, which made the atmosphere more like a school trip.
Anyway, we had a very nice stay in Isaacs Hostel, easy to find, helpful staff, comfy bunkbeds, clean lavatories, safe lockers. Sometimes it can be noisy, but hey, everyone's having a good time, so who cares. We never made it in time for breakfast, but I imagine it's good as well.
Joining in on the daily free walking tour or pub crawl is certainly recommended, we had a blast!

Room Tip: We slept in the 14girls dorm. We had nothing to complain about but maybe you can bring earplugs just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNDsmdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
"Good times "is what we want our hostellers to have - so really delighted to hear your feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We arrived and everything was organised we had 2 6 bed dorms for the 12 of us, the staff are wonderful friendly and full of advice on the city. the room was very clean and the bunk beds very solid and comfortable... its the place to meet people and the atmosphere is amazing!! it served us for what we needed they also offer cont breakfast in the mornings ie tea, coffee toast, juice, cereals. I will certainly be passing this on to the Irish hostels federation all I can say is well done !!!!!

Room Tip: We had room 216 very warm but large and has a nice fan in the room also has a shower to share with o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Geeat that you found everything to your liking - hope the stag weekend was mighty craic and the wedding went off without a hitch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,366 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 117 in Dublin
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Court
#7 of 117 in Dublin
1,040 reviews
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#16 of 117 in Dublin
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaacs Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaacs Hostel

Property: Isaacs Hostel
Address: 2 - 5 Frenchman's Lane, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Isaacs Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original and most famous backpacker hostels in Dublin, Isaacs Hostel has a warm, relaxed atmosphere and is a quirky, fun, full of character in a 19th century converted wine store. City centre location close to central Bus Station,Dart Station,Connolly station and Luas tram Tram. Great modern amenities with large guest kitchen with plenty of plates, cutlery & storage space. Onsite laundry, Sauna, Dorms and private rooms, Library, basement common rooms, Attractions such as Temple Bar,O'Connell Street, 3 Arena, Croke Park,Jameson Distillery, Trinity College,Jeannie Johnson Famine Ship are all close by. FREE STUFF includes;Free Light Breakfast,Free Tea and coffee and filtered water, FREE Bed linen,FREE Wifi,FREE Sauna,FREE Walking tour of Dublin every day,FREE Board games,FREE Pizza night, FREE games of Table Tennis, FREE use of Guitars, Discounted tickets, Airport bus Plus FREE Smiles, Hugs and Craic (within reason !)Information, tall tales and Irish wit!** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isaacs Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing