We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a hostel”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Townhouse
Ranked #98 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More than just a hostel”
Reviewed June 17, 2010

My days started out well by the very filling Irish breakfast which is complimentary! Getting out was easy as the main roads were just a stone's throw away. My room was comfortable and cleaned everyday. It was quiet though as I was the only one in an 8-bed room - gave me very good nights of sleep. I was grounded for an extra day in Dublin due to the volcanic ash. It was a big inconvenience but the staff were helpful. They even followed up the next day asking about my new flight arrangements. Thankfully, they have a few computers with Internet which I can rebook my flights. You get great breakfast, nice rooms and very good service at an affordable price! Will definitely come back here if I return to Dublin next time!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carefree_sloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    281
    123
    49
    38
See reviews for
88
209
78
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

After reading the reviews here, we expected much better. We paid 90 Euros per night, and while it wasn't horrible, for that price I do expect something cleaner, if nothing else. It reminded me too much of my gap-year backpacking and staying in dirty hostels.

First of all, it seems we got a crappy room. If you get a better room, you'll probably be much happier. The room was fine if not spotless, the bathroom (including the toilet seat) was not clean. The shower was never meant to be amazing, and has seen better days. It wasn't fun using it. One of the shampoos was clearly used. The shape of the bathroom and the size of the shower would make it difficult for anyone tall, big, or pregnant to use with ease.

Everything creaked. The beds, the floor, and the toilet sang a tune after flushing it. The decor is meh and tacky, but we didn't really care. We did care that there were (probably permanent) stains on the furniture, the curtain had holes in it, and the whole place inspired me to buy flip flops so I wouldn't have to walk - or shower -barefoot.

They didn't change our sheets at all while we were there, and one day forgot to come in at all, leaving us with no toilet paper, and only one useable towel.

It's not the worst place to stay, probably, but I'd rather not pay for this kind of experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 893 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

My wife and I stayed here in May 2010 because we were going to a concert in the O2 Arena. As we were only in Dublin for one night we wanted somewhere well located and easy to get to and The Townhouse ticked all our boxes.

One of the big plus points for The Townhouse is the complimentary parking garage. It’s a tight squeeze, but it’s much better than leaving your car outside on the street over night. The garage is monitored from reception by CCTV and on arrival you leave your key behind reception in case they need to move your car.

The Townhouse is very easy to find and is centrally located on the north side of Dublin. It was only a minute on foot away from lots of pubs and restaurants.

The reception and dining room staff were very personable and friendly, right from we phoned to make our booking until we checked out. Note that you have to pay in full on arrival and not on check out. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and was generally clean and tidy. The bathroom was fine, but could have benefited from a good scrub. We did have a few minor issues such as the very creaky floors, power sockets that didn’t work, noise from the corridor and the shower having to run for five minutes before the hot water came through.

Breakfast was an Irish fry served in the bright and airy dining room and was very tasty.

All-in-all, and considering he relatively competitive price (Dublin is VERY expensive!), I would recommend The Townhouse for a short stay, particularly if you are going to see a show at the nearby O2 Arena, which was only about 20 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luckystrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Good breakfast,great location The first night we were quite happy but the second night,a Friday,the bar down the street opened their back door and the music bounced down the way into our room so NO SLEEP until 1330.If it's not a music night or if you WANT stay up to hear the music ,or you are not in the rooms along the back wall 9227,229,etc) you will be OK

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

I stayed at the townhouse dublin for a week over st patricks day.
It a nice hotell with a hostel attached as well. I booked through the hostel website but because i seleceted a single room was put in the hotel side. the room was nice, nothing to facny but the bathroom was larger,
A full breakfast was included.... eggs, baccon, beans, toast, sausage, tomatoes. hash browns. great start to the day, espeically great for someone traveling on a bugdet. do be mindful to get there early, 15 mins before breafast is over be prepared to que.
The locaton is great only a few min walk from o'connel street.
Getting to the hotel from the airport is easy simpley get on the airport bus wich will take you to o'connel street you can walk from there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessDenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, KY
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

In my experience, this is the best, moderately priced hotel in Dublin. Conveniently located near the main bus terminal, it is pretty much walking distance to all of downtown (if you are a walker!). As of 2010, the rates were Euro 70-80 single and 115-130 double. I stayed in the new addition which was clean, modern and very comfortable. The breakfast was great!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kentucky_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

I've now stayed at The Townhouse three times (January, February and September in 2009).

My trips to Dublin have been purely for pleasure. The Townhouse has been a great base from which to explore: Close to Connolly Station for trains north and the DART, to Busaras and the LUAS stop next to it; just 3½ blocks from O'Connoll Street and not far from the rest of City Centre.

The breakfast in the morning provides ample quantity to help you last well into the day and perhaps save some money. (In January I found a full breakfast at The Townhouse and an early dinner sufficient to get by...in September I just wanted to try more places!) The full Irish Breakfast includes Irish bacon, sausage (2), tomato quarters (3), fried egg over medium, baked beans, hash brown triangle and toast. All quite good if a bit institutional. There's also brown bread, white bread, a choice of cereals, porridge, tea, coffee, milk and juice. However, what passes for juice is pretty poor (you really shouldn't be able to see through orange juice!). I believe that The Townhouse uses this same space as a café to serve food for other meals in the day as well, but I haven't checked that out.

The rooms are done up in a modern decor but are surprisingly cosy and comfortable for all that. When I returned exhausted at the end of each day, I was grateful to fall into a comfortable bed in warm surroundings. (All three times I stayed in one of the single rooms overlooking the courtyard, room 130 twice and 330 most recently.) There was tea and coffee with an electric kettle in the room, a tv (which I never bothered with so I can't say about the selection), an in-room safe, a round table, a comfy chair, a desk with a bench for a seat (which I used easily as my nightstand). The ensuite was more than adequate, although the shower was a little tight. Not really a problem.

There is a computer available for guest use, which was nice to stay caught up on e-mail and to double check directions and opening hours. There is also a wi-fi area above the dining area that looked quite comfortable for those using it.

The Townhouse is my choice for staying in Dublin...and I'm coming back in January of 2010.

Keith

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KthSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#90 of 151 in Dublin
623 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 151 in Dublin
1,078 reviews
Wynn's Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Shea's Hotel
#82 of 151 in Dublin
313 reviews
North City Centre
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#105 of 151 in Dublin
175 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 47-48 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Dublin Townhouse
Townhouse Dublin
The Townhouse Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing