We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a disappointment”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Townhouse
Ranked #98 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We booked a four night stay over new year. The entrance is lovely and had a beautiful tree and the staff were welcoming. However it was joined to a hostel so the reception staff were helping us and hostellers who used the same communal areas but for a much lower price. This was not a problem during the stay but it did undermine the price we paid. All bookings get free breakfast (including walk ins) unless you have booked on booking.com as I did. This wasn't clear at booking, although this is more of an issue with the website than the hotel.

The room was reasonable - a comfortable bed and it was warm (sometimes too warm and I am always cold!) but it was run down and the dressing table had a handle missing, as well as some mould in the shower. The shower had no light in it and was very dark and temperamental, on the last morning we checked out early and the shower was completely cold - i couldn't have a shower but my boyfriend braved it! There was some repair work happening outside the room and this was noisy but I imagine that was only during our stay and will be fixed now.

Overall i would say that it is fine if you imagine a private room in a hostel rather than a hotel but it was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    281
    123
    49
    38
See reviews for
88
209
78
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Beautiful hotel,
classy, quant elegant, very clean, bedrooms clean smart, comfy beds, bathroom elegant and well maintained, very old victorian hotel decorated to a high standard, breakfast spot on, they aim to please so if your not happy with anything tell them and they will bend over backwards to put it right. I notice the comments noisy room, tell them you will be moved, if you put up with things that you dont like dont moan about it when tbey cant do anything about it. People like that just want to complain about everything. This hotel for the money is first class. I know I travel the world regularly trying to find gems like this, I stayed here 10 years ago it has not let me down this time, great hotel then and now. Keep it up

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a quiet room to ourselves. It was older that's for sure, but it was still quaint and comfortable. We participated in the traditional Irish breakfast in the morning for 5 euros too and that provided us with a good spread of foods.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and let us keep our luggage on sight before and after we checked out of the hotel.

Only main hiccup: the bathroom had lots of black mold :(

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when you make a reservation! We did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was surprised that 69 Euros for a double room did not entitle me to a peaceful nights sleep. Our double room was located at the back of the hotel and our balcony door faced onto the back road which was noisy all night with trucks and cars parking, refuse truck collections, bottles thrown into recycling bins and singing at a local bar. I was kept up for half the night and when I complained to the owner and requested a discount she refused outright saying that 69 Euros was a bargain rate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amymv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here twice, in January 2013 and January 2014. Our room was excellent, very comfortable and clean, and we were not disturbed by loud noise. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is substantial and tasty! Terrific location, with plenty of good pubs in the vicinity. Would book there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was an okay place to stay but we would probably not stay again. The breakfast was okay although the breakfast staff were unfriendly. The rooms were okay except the window frame was stuffed with tissue for some reason? possibly to keep the cold air out?? The cream in the room was also old & lumpy, the glasses were still dirty from the previous guests but the beds were comfortable. Also they were renovating the hotel which I think is odd to do as they were closed a week later due to the Holidays. Possibly the next time they could renovate is when they are closed. The lady at the reception was also rude to my husband. The only people that we found friendly were the people renovating the hotel. But as someone has suggested, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomasinab964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Kingswear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed in the Townhouse 12 years ago and it was fantastic so when I was having a short break in Dublin with my sister I looked forward to repeating the experience. It could not have been more different. They were in the middle of redecorating (something we do at this time of year they told us -no apology) The floors were being sanded till 10pm, dust everywhere, then the next night they were being re-varnished, smell of paint throughout hotel. We had to go next door for breakfast (wished we'd stayed there) We had to take route to our room which involved entering by the Backpackers hostel, through the common room stacked with furniture, climbing stairs covered in dust sheets and wet paint everywhere. As you can see from the response to other criticisms, its never their fault but the customers. An apology would have been good but they seemed to believe it was a good laugh. Well it might have been for them but it spoilt our visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank puddy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
O'Shea's Hotel
#88 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#84 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#96 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wynn's Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Maple Hotel
#130 of 151 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#80 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 47-48 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Dublin Townhouse
Townhouse Dublin
The Townhouse Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing