We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but manage your expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Townhouse
Ranked #99 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place but manage your expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Townhouse is a real taste of Dublin. It's located a short walk away from Temple Bar and the main shopping area, but not smack in the middle of it, which was good for us. The staff at the Townhouse was supremely helpful in every way, particularly when we ran into issues with noise outside our rooms due to the fact that they faced the back of the Inn, which was adjacent to al the outdoor smoking areas for the local restaurants. Lots of racket, chatter, noise till all hours. But any issues (like when they switched our rooms gladly, but put us in smoking rooms) were addressed quickly and with graciousness. Can't complain about that too much, now can you? Breakfast was a feast, and was included in our room rate when we booked directly with the hotel ( vs booking dot com where it was not). They suggested a tour to the Cliffs of Moher which were breaktaking if you can tolerate the 8 hours back and forth. Comfy bedding and clean rooms

Room Tip: Might be less noisy facing from main road vs the back, which is counterintuitive but the aforementio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ihr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    281
    123
    49
    38
See reviews for
88
209
77
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Very very helpful reception staff and decent rooms. Moaning about the rooms here would be like complaining Harrods prices are expensive. For the price you get decent room, comfortable bed, good location and friendly staff, what else do you need? Would stay ahain

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DublinMurielO, Public Relations Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hi Tommy F

Thank you for your kind review of The Townhouse Hotel in Dublin City Centre, our personal service, our central location, our comfortable rooms, our Irish Breakfast and our value for money are the corner stones of our business, and we thank you for appreciating our good efforts. Your feedback helps us to understand what we are doing right, and what needs improvement. We look forward to your next stay and please make sure to BOOK DIRECT on Our website to enjoy your full Irish Breakfast FREE.

We focus on providing comfortable rooms, informative front of house staff and value for your money. Please make sure to LIKE Our Facebook Page as we have a FREE Draw right now that could see you enjoy your next stay with The Townhouse Hotel absolutely FREE.

As well as delivering on our own products and service we work closely with other businesses in the area to ensure that our area is welcoming and that our local attractions such as Custom House Quay, Samuel Beckett Bridge, Gardiner Street Church and so much more are enjoyed by our guests.

We really try hard to deliver on customer service and your review confirms that it is paying off, our location right in the heart of Dublin is a key selling point, however, we like to think that our dedicated Tourist Information Desk and experienced staff are equally important to our local and international guests. Staycation packages available right now at unbeatable prices.

Please make sure to LIKE our Facebook page as we have a FREE Draw there right now, our latest winner will enjoy Riverdance at the Gaiety Theatre tonight with our complements. We look forward to your next stay, please BOOK DIRECT to take advantage of any special offers such as FREE breakfast and so forth.

We are only a few minutes’ walk from Temple Bar and our accommodation prices are about 20% cheaper, including FREE Full Irish Breakfast each morning when you BOOK DIRECT on Our own website.

We have just launched Our July-Get-Away, Staycation Packages Dublin including multi-night discount, FREE Full Irish-Breakfast, Discount vouchers for most major Dublin attractions, including Dublin ZOO and so much more…

I hope you have taken the time to enter our fabulous FREE Draw on Our Facebook page, this draw could see you enjoy a stay at the Townhouse Hotel in Dublin City Centre absolutely free.

As you will know we have day tours leaving from our doorstep each day to such wonderful places such as the Giants Causeway and Cliffs of Moher, you will be back before 9pm, in plenty of time to enjoy a pint in one of our local Traditional Irish Pubs.

Please make sure to BOOK DIRECT on our website to enjoy special offers and see gardinerstreetdublin.com to keep up to date with what is going on in Dublin and Our area in particular.

Please keep up to date with Dublin by visiting gardinerstreetdublin.com

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, The Townhouse Hotel Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked well in advance by their website, but when we arrived they had overbooked and had no rooms. They even lied about this and mentioned a "flooding" as reason for them having no room. Really ! We were offered a not-so-nice basement room in a nearby B & B, and didn´t have much choice as it was a busy summer Saturday with not many rooms left in Dublin. Not happy with their policy !

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tantenina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Dublin is expensive, so with this in mind the Townhouse offers an acceptable B & B at a very reasonable price. Certainly not to 5 star standards, but doesn't pretend to be. Clean enough and with a comfortable feel, although some of the decor and furnishings are getting a little tired. A quiet but convenient location, Temple Bar being a few minutes walk to the other side of the river. We booked direct, saving a few euros and enjoying the complimentary breakfast, which I enjoyed despite the cafeteria style voucher service. ( The awful instant coffee let the excellent bacon and eggs down ). The free, and fast, Internet was a plus. We were made to feel very welcome by the very hospitable front desk staff, although the the breakfast staff would benefit by raising an occasional smile..
All in all we enjoyed our stay, appreciated the friendly welcome and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have used this hotel/guest house 5 or 6 times now but we probably will look elsewhere next time we are in Dublin. We booked a triple room several months in advance but when we arrived our room was a small twin with an extra single bed jammed in so we had no bedside tables, the headboards, sockets and light switches were all in wrong places. There was not enough room to swing the proverbial cat! Breakfasts were canteen style select what you want and although the food was OK it was served by people who really did not seem to want to be there. The hotel is co run with a hostel next door and I think too much of the hostel mentality has drifted in to hotel but the prices still seem decidedly hotel - we paid over 450 euros for 3 nights B&B! Shame it used to be a good quality well priced guest house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCrofties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My friend and I stayed in a twin room it was very affordable and close to bus and rail links. We booked via website and got free breakfast. Room although a little tired decor wise was extremely extremelyclean and comfortable. Staff were just lovely. I will definitely stay again only recommendation would be to make sure and ask for non smoking room if you are not a smoker.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarke4Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Overall we found the quality of the accommodation at the Dublin Townhouse to be very poor. The noise from within the building was compounded by it being attached to and sharing some facilities with a hostel. Breakfast is included in the price (that's not the same as free), but the food quality was quite poor. I have attached a few pics which give a general idea of the place. I find it curious that after each review the property invites the writer to 'Like' them on Facebook and extolls their awards...even after bad reviews.

Room Tip: If you like rooms at hostels stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ComeSeeHun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#86 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
O'Shea's Hotel
#88 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#96 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wynn's Hotel
#36 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#80 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Maple Hotel
#133 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 47-48 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Dublin Townhouse
Townhouse Dublin
The Townhouse Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing