We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Townhouse
Ranked #98 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Ennis, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here in September & were very happy with the accomodation. We were three friends & shared a triple room & the private parking was great, as was the breakfast. We used the luas to get to Kilmanham for a concert & then two of us took the train to Belfast. This was the perfect spot & while not cheap, it was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieH001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    281
    123
    49
    38
See reviews for
88
209
78
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a traditional hotel/B&B 10 min walk to Temple Bar. Walking distance to major attractions. The full Irish breakfast was fabulous. Rooms were nice and clean and the bathroom was decorated with some nice tiles. Free wifi is only accessible in a wifi lounge and sometimes in your room depending how far your room is from the lounge. Reception staff was friendly and can book tours for you if needed. Overall a pleasant stay

Room Tip: There is enough parking for only 5 cars. Book in advance if you need parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co.antrim
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in early July with my nephew. We found one lady at reception to be very brusque , the other lady was much nicer. The rooms were very small, mine absolutely stank of cigarette smoke, the window didn't close as the catch was broken . The radiator was broken , part of it had fallen off . The shower had plenty of hot water but the seal wasn't properly fixed as the floor was flooded and I had to use towels to soak up the water. The bed linen was very clean and I slept well, breakfast was very nice , I really enjoyed the food but the room was simply not adequate for the money, sorry but I definitely would not stay here again. Ann

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here with two friends for the bank holiday weekend. I travel a lot with work so am always looking for quirky hotels when travelling for leisure. We were looking for somewhere that was good value for money but not your typical hostel. This was perfect. I would not call it a hostel, although the rooms are on the small side I have stayed in smaller and they were nothing more than what you would expect for a centrally located city hotel. To me this was more of a boutique hotel. Everything was very clean and the place had real character. A few things needed updating, eg the TV. However for value for money I could not fault this place.

We had read the breakfast was included, given this is rated as a hostel and relatively cheap I was expecting powdered eggs etc, however it was really very good. Not a powder egg in sight! It set us up well for the day. Always served with a smile, the staff, particularly those serving breakfast could not have been nicer.

The location was also very accessible for everywhere. For value for money and with the boutique style of this hostel/B&B I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janemb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Coming from the airport, the airport bus drops you virtually at the front door. There is free wifi
in the main area where you can lounge around with plenty of space to sit. We had a lovely room, each room being unique. Clean, comfortable room with ensuite. Great cooked breakfast was
included in the price, so good value as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Carlos, SP
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed at The Townhouse for two nights in a single room in late July 2011. Booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and definitely have no complaints. The hotel was clean, comfortable, cheap, reasonably well located (a 10-15 min stroll to city's main attractions), easily accessible to/from the airport (bus stop across the street), and the breakfast was great. I recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joao_Marcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Spent one night at the Townhouse. The building itself is divided between the Townhouse hotel and the Globetrotter hostel. Both businesses share the same reception, same staff etc, just two different doors in off the street. Very nice Canadian girl on reception who was chatty & helpful.
The hotel had a nice old world vibe to it, quiet dark inside with lots of mahogany and austere looking people from the 18th century staring back at you from large portraits.

Because of some initial mix ups, I ended up trying out 3 rooms. All nice decor, well fitted out, the only thing was they were very small. The kind of rooms where 2 people cannot move around in with ease. This is a 200 year old townhouse in central Dublin though, so it is to be expected. If it comes as a shock to you, you arent well travelled..... or you're American! Didnt like to have to sleep with windows and balcony door shut as it was warm, but had no choice as a combination of extraction fan motors and delivery trucks at the ajacent building, meant it was a constant din throughout our stay.

Breakfast was just a cooked traditional Irish breakfast. I couldnt see cereal or any other option. The food was fine, the only gripe being that if you come late, the dining room is full of abandoned tables with empty plates. We had to clear our own table which wasnt good.

All in all though a decent option for the budget traveler in Dublin. Clean rooms and beds, nice staff, good location which is only a 2 minute walk to the Spire.

Room Tip: Try to get a room which isnt overlooking a back alley. Delivery trucks in the early morning make mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#91 of 151 in Dublin
630 reviews
North City Centre
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#106 of 151 in Dublin
179 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#101 of 151 in Dublin
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Shea's Hotel
#84 of 151 in Dublin
317 reviews
North City Centre
Kingfisher Townhouse
Kingfisher Townhouse
#66 of 151 in Dublin
399 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 47-48 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Dublin Townhouse
Townhouse Dublin
The Townhouse Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing