We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good breakfast, terrible room”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Townhouse
Ranked #98 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Tralee, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good breakfast, terrible room”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Although we got a good price ,€59 for a double room with breakfast, it was certainly not up to standard, even for budget accommodation. Room 310 is not suitable for a double bed it's a tiny room barely suitable for a single bed, never mind a double. The paper lamp-shade was torn, a new one would have set them back maybe €5, there is quiet significant mould in the (tiny) bathroom, tea stained wall near the kettle and the brass around the light fittings was stained quiet badly. I mentioned these albeit aesthetic issues to the receptionist on our departure and were told that maintenance would look into it. I honestly would not leave a negative review unless it's warranted but I felt this really was sub standard accommodation or maybe we just got the worst room in the place!. The area itself, Gardiner Street, I felt was a little rough. The breakfast was good, choice of continental or Irish, this was the only positive for us. The dark interior and decor is awful but this is just a personal taste issue. There is a rip off €10 charge for a 'car park' which was so small you have to leave your car keys at reception(which we were not happy about) in case your car needs to be moved as you have to block someone in, in order to park. Overall, I'm sorry to say, it's awful.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 310
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaoirseKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    281
    123
    49
    38
See reviews for
88
209
78
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Hotel clean and friendly staff very helpfull could not do enough for you. It's just ashame the breakfast was not upto scratch it was cold and not much of it but everything else was very good will return again

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diggerdriverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Good location (close to Temple Bar and main attractions), very friendly staff, clean, sufficiently quite, free wi-fi in the main hotel areas and 6 PCs for guest use, lovely garden for breakfast or relaxation. Rich Irish breakfast (too heavy for eating it every day, a little variation to the food wouldn't hurt). Available coffee and tea in the room. Very close to the airport bus stop.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights and both thought it was fantastic. Great value for money (paid less than £200 for 4 nights), comfortable, friendly and homely. The decor is individual and gives the place a unique feel you wouldn't get in a larger hotel. Clean, comfortable rooms with all the basic amenities. Complimentary breakfast was delicious (not posh but exactly what you feel like after a night of Guinness) and staff were super friendly, even when you came in at 2am the night man always had a joke and a smile. The location is good, it's a slightly longer walk to Temple Bar area (still only about 7 mins) but far enough away that you don't get woken up by street noise, we slept happily in a room facing the road with our window open most nights. Only complaint would be the bed was a little hard but barely noticeable after a long day in Dublin. Both absolutely loved it and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Don't read this review if you would prefer to stay in a four star bland hotel or in the centre of Dublin's touristy area where music and enthusiastic travelers party on till the wee small hours. BUT if you want a great little hostel central to everything then The Townhouse Hotel has it all. We picked this place to start our two week holiday of Ireland. It is 100 meters from the drop off from the airport bus, a five minue walk to the main street O'Connell, and a ten minute walk to the well known Temple Bar area. Everyone comes here, families, couples, backpackers, of all ages. At the free and plentiful breakfast this morning, I saw a two year old munching on cornflakes and an eighty year old tucking into a 'full Irish'. Rooms are small but comfortable and cutely named after plays written by the famous Irish playwright and good liver, Dion Boucicault. Ours was interestingly named 'Japanese Miscellany'. Ask for a room with a balcony that overlooks the small garden area below. Staff and more than accommodating for the streams of holiday makers who pass through each day. Some car parking is available for a small fee and it is an easy ten minute stroll to Europcar - one of the largest car hire companies in the country. The hotel is quirky with interesting memorabilia peppered throughout revealing posters and writings about the building's past lives. Although wi-fi is not available in the rooms, there is a lounge area where Internet is easily accessed. And who wants to spend hours in their room on Facebook! Boarding passes can be printed using the hotel's free computers for guests use. My husband and I loved staying here when we arrived in Dublin and returned at the end of our holiday for our final night. Congratulations to Maureen and her staff for creating a warm, interesting and welcoming hostel that would appeal to all ages.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyandjohnSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The airport bus will drop you about 100 yards from the Townhouse. The welcome was lovely and friendly and no question too much trouble. I booked a double room for one which was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. The only drawback was the room (124) faced a back lane with party goers late at night and delivery trucks in the morning. It's only a minute or two walk to Talbot street for eats and 5 min to O'Connell where there was a huge parade the night I was there and the street closed to traffic. Great party atmosphere. I found the area a little dodgy and wouldn't want to come home at night by myself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toronto-beeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

this hotel is very good situated in the middle of town.. and the airport bus stops very near.
the rooms are small but cosy, bathroom very small and there is no wifi in the rooms and sometimes not in the lounge...
the staff is friendly.

good value for money

Room Tip: front site rooms are a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veroniek k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#90 of 151 in Dublin
623 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 151 in Dublin
1,078 reviews
Wynn's Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Shea's Hotel
#82 of 151 in Dublin
313 reviews
North City Centre
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#105 of 151 in Dublin
175 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 47-48 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Dublin Townhouse
Townhouse Dublin
The Townhouse Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing