We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely hotel in great location with friendly helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandymount Hotel
Ranked #31 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belfast
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in great location with friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Made to feel really welcome by reception staff. The room was comfortable and spotless providing all we required. The restaurant for breakfast was very attractive and the breakfast itself was good. Unfortunately wedding guests on our floor kept us awake singing and shouting from 2.00am until 5.00 am. The night manager did his best but really the guests were totally unreasonable and had drunk too much. I have to say that the following morning the reception staff were very apologetic and dealt with our complaints in a very professional manner. As a result I would think that our unfortunate experience was a one off and I would return to this hotel, but maybe ask for a quiet room. It is a family run hotel and they really do aim to please their guests .

Room Tip: Ask to be kept apart from any wedding party guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbieBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Debbie,

Thank you for your review. I apologise for the disturbance. We took a decision this week not to take any more weddings as they are not conducive to the quiet family hotel ambiance.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    650
    194
    59
    39
See reviews for
304
634
75
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Would book again. Very friendly clean and value for money. Location very good. Made my stay there very welcome. Home from home rooms very clean and well equipped . Very busy when we stayed there in October.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dollyoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and positive review. We have had our busiest October for seven years, and are delighted when guests such as you show your appreciation.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I always stay in The Sandymount when in Dublin. Its perfect quiet location and the staff are very helpful, especially Beatrice at reception. The rooms are good and the Food is excellent in the bar. Someday I hope to stay for a long weekend for a leisure not just work. The hotel is right next door ti the Aviva stadium, so tying a match to the trip would be excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Nigel,

Thank you for your kind review. We are all extremely grateful that you always stay with us when in Dublin. Beatrice who is with the hotel 33 years is a gem. Looking forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

7 week stay on business. Couldnt have asked for better. Extremely helpful staff. Always very friendly. Rooms kept clean. Good food. Nothing was too much trouble. No hesitation in recommending this hotel for business or leisure. In fact I'm going back on a leisure trip next month.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andygrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and positive review, and in particular your praise for my staff. I think I have the friendliest and most caring team in Dublin. We all look forward to your return next month on your leisure trip.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gualala, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is just two DART stops from central Dublin, but in a quiet, beautiful neighborhood with restaurants and shops within walking distance. Might be noisier when event going on at Aviva Stadium. One wonderful thing was that they let us check in early, about 10 a.m. We were totally jet lagged as it was about 2 a.m. in California and we were able to go to sleep rather than waiting till check in time at 3 p.m. The rooms are a little spartan but comfortable. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristieMcManus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Christie,

Thank you for your kind review. We are conscious of jetlag with our guests arriving from the US, and endeavour to prioritise their rooms.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Myself and my wife have just come back from a long weekend at the Sandymount where we had a great time.The hotel was spot on, staff were really helpful and polite.
We arrived at the hotel at about 11am and were checked into a room by 12 (check in was supposed to be 2pm). Rooms were very clean and decent size for the two of us but didn't really stay in there too much as we wanted to see the sights, bathroom could maybe have a little upgrade but not an issue to us at all. Location was good, Landsdown road dart is about 5 min walk if that and bus routes into the center is about 10. Food at the hotel was great and Guinness went down well too! We went on a bed and breakfast board and were really impressed with it, cup was always getting topped up with coffee when empty and all food was nice and fresh. I would recommend this hotel to friends and would happily stay here again, thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew_10002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mathew,

Thank you for your kind review. We are conscious of the standard of some bathrooms. A number of bedrooms and bathrooms are scheduled for upgrade this winter. We are grateful that you would recommend us to friends and look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I frequent this hotel often and it is a fabulous place to stay. The staff at reception Beatrice, Siobhan, Stephanie, Emma and Rose will give you a warm and friendly welcome. The hard working Jack the porter is always on hand if you need anything done. Breakfast lunch or dinner you will not be disappointed at the quality and variety of food. Great location. So close to dart station, shopping sporting and concert venues. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Lar,

Thank you for your kind review. You will not find in any hotel a warm and friendly staff like those you have mentioned. I am proud of them. Looking forward to you frequenting the hotel for many years to come.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#18 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,468 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dublin Skylon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,990 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Property: Sandymount Hotel
Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandymount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The O2 Arena is less than a 5-minute drive from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. There is free parking and WIFI also available. A family run hotel for the last 59 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and we have a casual dining menu available all day in Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing