We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandymount Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Drury Court Hotel(Dublin)
$301
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$194
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$219
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$309
$262
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$182
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$242
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$380
$349
Westbury Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$213
$192
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,745)
Filter reviews
2,745 results
Traveler rating
1,371
967
277
79
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,371
967
277
79
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaviva stadiumdart stationmount herbertcity centrelandsdowne roadrugby matchlovely hotelminute walkquiet areahome from homebar foodreception staffenjoyable staywould highly recommend this hotelvisiting dublinbeatricerds
Filter
Updating list...
2,020 - 2,025 of 2,745 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

i have stayed here a few times both alone on business and with the family the rooms are clean and up to standard, food is good, the location is probably the best feature close to the o2,Ballsbridge,East link bridge and is a nice walk approx 25mins into the City centre also NO parking fees.Staff are friendly although when i called looking for a comercial rate the receptionist was at best abrupt so i now book on line better value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Pat

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you have chosen to stay with us on a number of occasions. I will remind my Reception staff that a polite and friendly interaction with the customer is not optional at the desk.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotels fine and service is friendly however, suggest you check your room before moving your luggage. I was in a rush when I arrived and just left my bags in the room and ran out for dinner. returned later to room with leaking bathroom ceiling, ground floor room with window opening onto drive through to hotel car park, TV located on top of wardrobe. Also suggest you request top floor rooms, noise from room above..

Room Tip: top floor rooms to avoid noise,
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveg2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Steve

Thank you for your review.

I apologise for the leak and will have my maintenance staff deal with it.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Sandymount has served me well for overnights for quite a few years. Fairly close to the city centre on the South side, it is two minutes from the Aviva Stadium and jam packed on international weekends and big game days. Having said that it, I have always found the staff helpful, if occasionally fraught. Rooms are adequate and breakfast is reasonable and well priced. An upgrade to an Executive room allowed me to appreciate the slightly better quality. Had a basement room once - didn't like it too much. It seems to be favoured by budget conscious travellers and serves that market well.

Room Tip: Get a room well away from the bar restaurant area for quietness.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GridSystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you have overnighted for quite a few years, and look forward to your continuing visits.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spend a night here with my husband as we were going to a show in the O2, the room represented great value for money and the hotel is very nice for what you pay for. Staff are friendly especially the receptionist on duty the day we checked in . Good value for money and includes free car parking which means a lot for Dublin. As the hotel is obvisoulsy an old building and appears several buildings joined up you end up with a bit of a journey to your rooms on uneven floor boards !! The rooms are standard and a bit dated and different parts of the hotel are more modern than others . Location is good and the hotel was quiet with no night time noise , i really could not fault the hotel for what we paid for the room B&B and parking and i would definitely consider staying here again . You do get what you pay for and once you know what to expect - by reading the reviews , you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Sandy,

Thank you for your kind review. We hope you enjoyed the show in the O2, and look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a very basic motel/hotel, rooms are pretty small, hardly any room for work. It's clean and does the job on a budget. Stay away on the weekends unless you like to listen to techno dance music all night!

Room Tip: Ask for room closer to the reception.. it's a big place so carrying your luggage to the far end takes time, the lift is also extreeemly slow.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aloonak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

As the hotel does not have a function room or nightclub, many guests choose to stay because of the quietness.

Perhaps there was music in an adjoining guest room, and if this was the case, please accept my sincere apologies.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews