We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Hotel.”
Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandymount Hotel
Ranked #25 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 3, 2013

What an enjoyable stay my daughter a myself had at the Sandymount. The first thing that strikes you is the friendly and informative staff at reception. Then on arrival at your room you walk into a light, airy and spotless room. Breakfast served up until 10 o'clock was excelent with the food being hot. We stayed in Dublin for three nights and enjoyed a restful undisturbed sleep. I would like to add that the domestic staff were also so friendly and efficient. Thank you Sandtmount for such a lovely welcome and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomad776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. My domestic staff will be particularly pleased with your mention, as their great work is often overlooked.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,892 - 1,898 of 2,559 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

I thouroughly enjoyed my stay at the Sandymount hotel, as did the rest of my family. You are garunteed to get a good nights sleep and the staff are always friendly, helpful and welcoming. The food in both the bar and restaraunt is very nice and the hotel is very clean. The value you get for your money is great and the location is very good, with the Aviva stadium just around the corner as well as a DART station.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fickelgruber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I work in Dublin a few a days a week and started to stay in the Sandymount Hotel last June. I had previously stayed in some other hotels nearby but when they were full one night I stayed in this hotel.
Since then I have never gone back...from day one you could sense the warmth of the staff and the hotel. It's so friendly . That's what you want.It's backed up by cleanliness and style . Great to be able to get the internet , paper in the morning and evening and tea/coffee making facilities in the room( not common everywhere) .
It's a homely , intimate atmosphere that attracts me . Staff in reception are incredible , especially Beatrice and Steph - incredible friendliness and welcome . Food good in the evening. Bar staff super also - overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conor123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Conor

The fact that you previously stayed in local hotels, and now choose to stay with us is a testament to the hotel for which we are extremely grateful.

We look forward to many more visits with us.

Kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

22 - 23 February 2013:
As you probably can see, it is not my first time to the Sandymount. I travel a number of times to Dublin and since June 2012, the Sandymount Hotel is the place where we come. The receptionist staff and so lovely and helpful and always so cheerful. The bar staff also are so helpful and food is fantastic. We were up to Dublin for The Killers gig in the O2. We arrived in Dublin at 5pm, ate a lovely meal at the bar and back on the Dart again for 6.30 pm to make it for the gig. The Dart is so close to the hotel, only at 10 minute walk (or 5 min jog).

Breakfast next morning was fabulous too, with porridge and hot chocolate available to order. We were doing the Operation Transformation 5 k Fun Run in the Phoenix Park, so had to leave again straight after breakfast, but the hotel reception staff ordered a taxi for us to the Phoenix Park. I left something in the room, I e-mailed the hotel and they were able to locate my item and they are going to post it to me.

Thanks Sandymount Hotel for more great memories and looking forward to coming again on 14th June 2013.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniebannie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Guest

You certainly had a busy weekend with the Killers gig and Transformation 5K fun run. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you again next June.

Kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have enjoyed staying at this hotel for over 25 years and enjoyed it again last weekend. Always a warm friendly welcome. Great to see a lot of the same staff there after all this time. Beatrice is a gem! It has been modernised over the last 25 years but still remains a friendly, family run, relaxing and comfortable hotel and with all "mod cons". Will always be my first choice in Dublin.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Valerie

When you made your first visit with us 25 years ago, Beatrice had already been on Reception for 7 years. Now 32 years with us, she is indeed a “gem”.

Kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great family run hotel in a lovely quiet location, close to sea for walks, and close to Dart Station for easy travel into city (2 Stops). Had lunch in bar and really enjoyed it. Free parking also a bonus. We had no problem checking in a bit early after a trip up from Leitrim. Room lovely and clean and a great power shower in the room. Have already booked to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnGavinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear John

We are delighted you enjoyed our quiet location, and close by sea walks. Thank you for your kind review.

Kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have been coming to this hotel for almost 25 years and was up again this week and on each stay I'm reminded why I keep coming back. The staff, the welcome, the 'feel' of the hotel, I can relax and when I'm travelling alone, there is always a member of the staff ( especially Beatrice, who I've come to know so well ) who will have a chat. The food is excellent and I have never found reason for complaint.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want and the staff will help you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneg18063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Guest

It is a great honour and testament to the hotel when someone who has been coming for almost 25 years continues to support us. Thank you for your kind review.

Kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,679 reviews
3 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,044 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#15 of 150 in Dublin
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,785 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,426 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#39 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $105 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandymount Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The Three Arena is less than a 5-minute drive or 20 minute walk from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. There is free parking and WIFI also available. Owned and run by the Loughran family for over 60 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and lunch and dinner is served daily in the Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking our private gardens. Sandymount Hotel has recently finished major refurbishments of all 168 bedrooms, Line Out Bar, Whittys Restaurant, Reception & Lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing