We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The prices jump for special events ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandymount Hotel
Ranked #31 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The prices jump for special events ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I was back here for my second visit recently. It's ok value for € 69. But it is a very old premises. Nearby the old Jury's, Berkeley Court and Burlington hotels are better value.
What shocked me here was when I asked to book for a forthcoming event. Due to a concert in the RDS the rate jumped to € 199 for B& B. This is a disgrace and smacks of the greed that gave this country the " Celtic Tiger"...These guys ripped us off in the good times. Now they just wait for the next chance.... They don't learn. I hope we the customers do. I have.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaritimoFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest

As a family run hotel we have to survive artificially low prices from bank controlled hotels. There are 4/5 five key events per year when we charge higher rates to achieve a viable overall average rate. The hotels mentioned charge up to €350 for RDS concert dates.

I am delighted following your review of 26th September that you returned to us. I would be grateful if you would make direct contact with me in advance of your next visit.

Happy New Year.

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    735
    216
    63
    42
See reviews for
362
722
85
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed here recently and found it to be a bit of a let down. The hotel exterior is lovely, and the receptionist was very welcoming but the walk to my room was like a hike. The room itself was small, a double and single squished in, a double bed alone would have been better! The bathroom was fine but old, there was rust on the shower rail and stains on the shower curtain. Breakfast was lovely, a standard full Irish.
I did find the walls to be very thin!! The room next door could be heard very clearly, late at night and very early in the morning! Not a great sound to fall asleep to or wake up to!! It was nice but I wouldn't go back

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifi201289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Your comments regarding shower rail and curtain have been noted and will be addressed. I am sorry that your sleep was disturbed. Should you reconsider a return visit please make direct contact with me.

Happy New Year.

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

I travel to Dublin a lot on business and stay in the Sandymount any time I need a bed for the night. They have a great rate for business travellers and the staff are so friendly and helpful. The only negative would be the breakfast sausages, not to my liking but that's probably more personal taste than anything. I will be a regular visitor in 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanhenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to welcoming you in 2013.

Kind regards,

John Loughran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel is a little bit away from the city center but you can take the train to get into the city center. Its right next to the stadium, so for people who want to see a game its perfect. The room and hotel was clean and parking was no problem neither. Its just such a long walk to the room and so complicated to get the luggage from the car to the room.. its an ok hotel but next time i would choose one closer to the center of dublin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. The hotel is in a residential area about 2 km from city centre. Unfortunately, the converted Victorian buildings are more complicated than simple modern hotels.

Kind regards,

John Loughran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lovely atmosphere friendly staff.room great bar food excellent free parking , excellent all around location ideal for trips to city centre Aviva stadium within walking distance. Easy to locate due to proxemity to aviva stadium

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Jessie

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Sandymount Hotel. Your kind comments are appreciated.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight in the Sandymount Hotel as we have a function to go to in the nearby Aviva stadium. What a great location - could walk to the Aviva in less than 2 minutes. The staff were really great and so friendly. Can't comment on them enough. The room was also great - fantastic value with an amazing breakfast the next morning. Can really highly recommend staying here!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CarrotQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

It is a great boost to the staff here when guests like you take the trouble to praise their efforts.

Kind regards,

John Loughran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Travelled to Dublin Saturday 24th Nov for Ireland - Argentina rugby match at Aviva stadium.
We got to what used to be the Mount Herbert early as we have done previous years, intending to have lunch at the hotel.We got there about 12 and entered car park which was virtually empty and there was a notices which stated for use of patrons only.We assumed as we were going to have lunch we were patrons but to be sure we enquired at Reception. We informed reception we were going to have lunch and drinks at the hotel, but were informed we could not use the car park but should park on road outside. We knew this was parked up by media vans. After driving around and parking elsewhere we had a nice lunch elsewhere.
At least we will know not to bother with the Sandymount / Mount Herbert in future.
We have stayed there many times in the past and also parked and lunched there over many years.
I understand that parking is necessary for residents but there did seem to be adequate parking

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear John

Thank you for your review of your experience with Sandymount Hotel.

On the night of the Argentina rugby match, we had over 280 residents, with only 90 parking spaces. I would like to apologise to you for your inconvenience on the day.

Kind regards,

John Loughran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,356 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Herbert Park Hotel
#22 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Property: Sandymount Hotel
Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandymount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The Three Arena is less than a 5-minute drive or 20 minute walk from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. There is free parking and WIFI also available. Owned and run by the Loughran family for over 60 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and lunch and dinner is served daily in the Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking our private gardens. Sandymount Hotel has recently finished major refurbishments of all 168 bedrooms, Line Out Bar, Whittys Restaurant, Reception & Lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing