We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for business traveller” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandymount Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sandymount Hotel
Ranked #29 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for business traveller”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

I travel to Dublin a lot on business and stay in the Sandymount any time I need a bed for the night. They have a great rate for business travellers and the staff are so friendly and helpful. The only negative would be the breakfast sausages, not to my liking but that's probably more personal taste than anything. I will be a regular visitor in 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanhenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to welcoming you in 2013.

Kind regards,

John Loughran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    721
    210
    63
    42
See reviews for
353
705
83
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel is a little bit away from the city center but you can take the train to get into the city center. Its right next to the stadium, so for people who want to see a game its perfect. The room and hotel was clean and parking was no problem neither. Its just such a long walk to the room and so complicated to get the luggage from the car to the room.. its an ok hotel but next time i would choose one closer to the center of dublin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. The hotel is in a residential area about 2 km from city centre. Unfortunately, the converted Victorian buildings are more complicated than simple modern hotels.

Kind regards,

John Loughran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lovely atmosphere friendly staff.room great bar food excellent free parking , excellent all around location ideal for trips to city centre Aviva stadium within walking distance. Easy to locate due to proxemity to aviva stadium

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Jessie

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Sandymount Hotel. Your kind comments are appreciated.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight in the Sandymount Hotel as we have a function to go to in the nearby Aviva stadium. What a great location - could walk to the Aviva in less than 2 minutes. The staff were really great and so friendly. Can't comment on them enough. The room was also great - fantastic value with an amazing breakfast the next morning. Can really highly recommend staying here!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CarrotQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

It is a great boost to the staff here when guests like you take the trouble to praise their efforts.

Kind regards,

John Loughran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Travelled to Dublin Saturday 24th Nov for Ireland - Argentina rugby match at Aviva stadium.
We got to what used to be the Mount Herbert early as we have done previous years, intending to have lunch at the hotel.We got there about 12 and entered car park which was virtually empty and there was a notices which stated for use of patrons only.We assumed as we were going to have lunch we were patrons but to be sure we enquired at Reception. We informed reception we were going to have lunch and drinks at the hotel, but were informed we could not use the car park but should park on road outside. We knew this was parked up by media vans. After driving around and parking elsewhere we had a nice lunch elsewhere.
At least we will know not to bother with the Sandymount / Mount Herbert in future.
We have stayed there many times in the past and also parked and lunched there over many years.
I understand that parking is necessary for residents but there did seem to be adequate parking

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear John

Thank you for your review of your experience with Sandymount Hotel.

On the night of the Argentina rugby match, we had over 280 residents, with only 90 parking spaces. I would like to apologise to you for your inconvenience on the day.

Kind regards,

John Loughran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

excellent location , good value , clean hotel ,breakfast could be improved.and very important free parking, bar food also available,good athmosphere in bar. Walking distance to a variety of good restauants, 10 to 15 euro taxi ride to city centre

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Thomas

Many thanks for your kind review of your experience with us at Sandymount Hotel.

Kind regards,

John Loughran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We wanted to spend a copule of days in Dublin and so booked in to the Sandymount Hotel. It offers great value and great service (we had stayed here before) - from the moment we checked in to the time we checked out we felt really at home. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious and it was easy to get a very good night's sleep. Breakfast was very good with the food kept nice and hot - the restaurant staff were both friendly and helpful. We had lunch in the bar one day and this was excellent and our evening meal was very good also. As we don't have a car the location was excellent - very convenient to Landsdowne Rd Dart station and both Sandymount village and Ballsbridge were within easy walking distance for a greater choice of places to eat. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: The executive rooms offer even greater space and comfort - great if you want a real treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gearoid O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Gearoid

Thank you for your review and for your advice and tips to fellow travellers.

Kind regards,

John Loughran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#12 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#65 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Property: Sandymount Hotel
Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandymount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The O2 Arena is less than a 5-minute drive from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. There is free parking and WIFI also available. A family run hotel for the last 59 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and we have a casual dining menu available all day in Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing