We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”
Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandymount Hotel
Ranked #25 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during the Dublin Marathon, the location was ideal for this event as it was just a short walk to the start line. Also recomended if you are attending any event at the Aviva stadium which is just down the road.
The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. They really catered for everyone taking part in the marathon at breakfast and late checkouts etc.
The room was basic enough but had everything that you needed.

Would Definately stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank PATRICIA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Patricia

Thank you for your kind review of your stay during the Dublin Marathon. The runners brought a great atmosphere to the hotel over that weekend.

Kind regards,

John Loughran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,837 - 1,843 of 2,447 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel Sandymount is located just behind the Aviva stadium and very conveniently located. The rooms are very cramped and bath is just enough to squeeze in. The rooms are clean though. Located it in a nice residential locality you can take a good walk through the neighbourhood. The lounge in the hotel is pretty good. It is close to the Aviva stadium station and is well connected.

Room Tip: Don't take the room with a door at the landing of the staircase. It is as good as sleeping in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCKalluri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. As the hotel is adapted from Victorian buildings, there are varying room sizes compared to a modern purpose built hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the residential locality which is one of the most beautiful in Dublin.

Kind regards,

John Loughran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the Sandymount for the Notre Dame vs Navy game this September. It was a late minute booking and we chose the Sandymount due to its location to Aviva Stadium. On first impression the hotel looks great with a stylish lobby and polite staff. It is also in a great location if you are seeing something at the stadium given that it is less than five minutes walk (although it is a good 40 minute walk from Dublin city centre).

Unfortunately what lets the hotel down is the room itself. We were placed in a ground floor room which unfortunately smelt like damp. The door had been left open for our arrival which was a bit odd but the motive for this (to essentially air the room out) became clear the longer we stayed in the room. Our room was directly below the main lobby which has thin, creaking floor boards so when the hotel is busy, which it inevitably is when there is an event on at Aviva, the noise of people walking is heard constantly in the room.

We only spent a night in the hotel and it was used only as somewhere to sleep before taking a flight back the next morning. For this it serves its purpose just fine and we were too tired after a long day to mind too much about it but if we had been staying for much longer we would have requested to be moved rooms.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you in a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasstw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. The Notre Dame versus Navy game was our busiest weekend of the year. 80% of our bedrooms have been refurbished and we hope to complete this over the coming months. Bedroom doors are normally left open by housekeeping staff until checked by their supervisor, however your comments have been noted and will be followed up.

I hope you enjoyed your weekend at the game.

Kind regards,

John Loughran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

.. and that might be an understatement. After we had to wait for 45 minutes to be able to check in. We went to the bar for a coke, which appeared to be open for quite a while already, as it was not sparkling at all. When we went to our rooms and opened the door, the rooms were already occupied! Never seen that before. We went back to the reception, and they handled it like it was a normal case. "Whoops, sorry" was all they could get out. Next step was that we got a "smoking allowed" room. "Sorry hotel is full" was the statement. After we went a bit mad it appeared that we could go for a business room. "Enjoy your stay!" was what they said. At least, we could go for a normal night sleep. When I went for a shower in the morning, no water came out of the shower. Maintenance could not get it fixed, so no acceptable shower that day. When we checked out, we asked for a refund. All they could say: "sorry not possible. have a nice day. Next!"

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeebee1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guest

I am sorry that your experience of the hotel, and in particular, Reception staff, was not as it should be. As can be seen from other reviews, the most positive reported experience is in fact our Reception staff. However, your review indicates that there can be no room for complacency.

Kind regards,

John Loughran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Clean, comfortable. Friendly, accomodating staff : let us check in at 6 AM after our all night flight. Convenient--2 blocks from metro. Loved the keychain with the hotel name and address "just in case".

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Judith

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

John Loughran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed for the westlife concert in June and after my first stay the previous year, I was happy to return but very unhappy leaving!!!!
Staff - Reception were great, as well as housekeeping. Even got a free bottle of wine for my first review...but the restaurant and bar staff was another story. I like staff in service jobs to be courtious, funny and helpful, not moody,ignorant and sour. One member of staff even shouted at another staff member in front of us when we were paying one day. Also our first evening caused confusion as we were told we had to eat carvery and could not order from the bar menu..after 20mins of waiting, we were then told we could in fact order. My mother and I ordered steak sandwich in which it came on timber board which i found was extremely unhygienic way of traying up food to a paying customer.

Rooms were comfortable and clean. Food was ok, but don't think I'll be going back to the hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hi Grace,

Thank your for your second review of Sandymount Hotel.

I am sorry that your visit did not measure up to your first. Our staff and how guests are treated is the cornerstone of our business and when we fall down in this it is taken very seriously. The staff on duty on the evening of your visit for the Westlife concert have been spoken to and I would not expect a reccurence.

Your kind comments regarding reception and housekeeping staff are very much appreciated. Hopefully, on your next visit, all staff will meet this standard.

Kind Regards


John Loughran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Reasonable hotel that is clean and good value, especially midweek and well located for many things in Dublin. It has free parking but not a lot of it.

The hotel is a little creaking and the walls quite thin but you will get a night's sleep.

The food in the bar was poor but maybe I picked the wrong dish. Don't eat risotto and stick to traditional bar food fare and you will probably be ok.

There is free wifi and the staff are both helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robespierre1798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us.

We have parking for 90 cars which is normally adequate for all but major concert/match days. Your comments re bar food have been taken onboard. Regarding the walls/floors, the original buuildings date to 1860 which limits structural work. Many of our guest feel this adds to the charm of the hotel but I do understand that this is not always the case.

Finally, thank you for your many positive comments regarding value, wifi and most importantly, the attention and friendliness of my staff. It is always a boost for them to have their efforts appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Sandymount Hotel.

Kind Regards


John Loughran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 150 in Dublin
1,743 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
2,284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
1,403 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#39 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $113 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandymount Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The Three Arena is less than a 5-minute drive or 20 minute walk from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. There is free parking and WIFI also available. Owned and run by the Loughran family for over 60 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and lunch and dinner is served daily in the Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking our private gardens. Sandymount Hotel has recently finished major refurbishments of all 168 bedrooms, Line Out Bar, Whittys Restaurant, Reception & Lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing