We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant - but pricey”
Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandymount Hotel
Ranked #25 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A pleasant stay but strange room pricing: over a 5 night stay the price ranged from 109-260 euro - and different every night! Whilst pleasant it didn't justify the upper price range. I guess being a stone's throw from Lansdowne Park stadium might have something to do with it but I wasn't there to go to a game or concert. The staff were great, breakfast was excellent and the rooms a good size. Gripes: the room safe was so complicated to use that I managed to lock it inadvertantly, had to get help from a porter and didn't bother with it after that. The table/desk was very small and mostly taken up by a large tea/coffee tray so poor for working. And I wasn't very impressed with the bar food. I would score this place higher but it really was very expensive and didn't offer anything to justify this.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackmellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Sandymount Hotel. As with all hotels, to remain commercially viable, rates vary with demand. We are reviewing or rate policy at present with a view to introducing an average rate where a stay spans major local events.

It is only when we are made aware of our customers views that we can try and meet their needs, so your feedback is very musch appreciated.

Kind Regards

John Loughran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,047 - 2,053 of 2,659 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Traveling in a Group of 5 Friends from Australia we had Great respose from the staff at the hotel , Michelle Sweeney was our contact , from the very begining 4 months prior to our trip . any questions we had were emailed back to us straight away & also aditional information on getting from the airport & general help on Dublin tours etc. On our arrival we were greeted well , after a 24 hour flight we needed tender care & we got it ! showen straight to our lovely rooms & pointed into the direction of all the hotel services . meals were Fantastic ( Best Breakfast in Ireland & we were traveling around for 18 days ,we know!!) & I was even given Provisions & catering for a impromptue family get together . Check out was Prompte & efficient . Thanks Michelle & all the staff at the Sandymount for a Fantastic stay , looking forward to staying again Cheers Brian

Room Tip: All areas of Hotel were Great , we had 1 in our party with MS & she was Fantasticly catered for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxxy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hi Brian,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Sandymount Hotel. I note from your chef's uniform that you must work in the service industry. It is nice to receive positive feedback from industry peers.

Kind Regards

John Loughran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed in the Sandymount Hotel recently & had a wonderful experience.
The staff were exceptional I had dealings with Michelle, Rose & many other staff who were very helpful & friendly. The food in the bar was terrific, the rooms were spacious & lovely decorated.
I would highly recommend this hotel & would definately stay here again. I booked on e bookers & got a great deal. Great variety in the breakfast room the next morning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trish w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hi Trish,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Michelle and Rose have been with us for many years and take great pride in looking after our guests. It gives them a boost to have their efforts recognised.

John Loughran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Myself and 4 friends (all female) stayed at the Sandymount for a concert weekend at the end of June 2012. We booked 2 rooms in the hotel (a room for 3 and a room for 2) for 2 nights. One of our party didbt arrive until the 2nd day therefore none of our belongings were left in the room. On our second night we arrived back into our room to find a stranger asleep in the bed... So as not to startle the unaware guest that we were in the room we returned to reception to be told there was a misunderstanding. We were given what could be described as a cupboard for a room for the night (but due to the shock of the situation we stayed with our friends in their room- 5 in a room for 3). This really dampened the experience of the stay for all involved. On departure we expressed our dissatisfaction to the receptionist who was not on duty the previous night. She took our details and said that the duty manager would contact us. We then contacted the hotel on a few occasions and still have not had a satisfactory offer of goodwill or equivalent for this abysmal experience. In my opinion it is poor customer service and the fact that our room (for the second night of our stay) was also rented out causes great concern not to mention the invasion of privacy (luckily our belongings were not in the room at the time) that should be at the forefront of the hotel business.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairemcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hi Claire,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Sandymount Hotel.

As there were no belongings in the room, housekeeping mistakenly thought it had been vacated. However, our system should have picked up that this was not the case and I apologise for the confusion.

Perhaps on your next visit, you might request reservations to advise me.

Kind Regards

John Loughran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is good value for money. The staff are very friendly and the great bonus is the free car parking facility, and of course the free Wi-fi throughout the hotel. The hotel is situated in a good location and in a quiet area. There are also rooms which allow smoking, a facility which is becoming rare in most Irish hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hi Johnny,

Thank you for your review. A number of guests comment on the complimentary parking and Wifi.

I look forward to welcoming back to Sandymount Hotel.

John Loughran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the Navy v. Notre Game. It is a great hotel for anyone going to an event at Aviva Stadium. It is also a short walk to Ballsbridge and we even walked to City Center and Red Bar area from the hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They quickly mailed to me (back in Maryland) my jacket I had left in the lobby. The rooms are on the smaller side as are the hallways but that would not prevent me from going back. Overall we had a very nice stay in the hotel.
Btw- the Baked Cod dish served in the restaurant was amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hi Lori,

Thank you for your review. My daughter plays field hockey for UNC Chapel Hill and lost the 2010 and 2011 NCAA finals to Maryland in overtime. Small world.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Sandymount Hotel on your next visit to Ireland.

John Loughran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just what needed for a break away, room was clean and comfortable and had a good few nights sleep. Hotel had a bar and restaurant. Only had the breakfast so cant comment on all the food, but that was good.
Hotel is perfect if you are going to aviva stadium as it is just down the road. But is also good for dublin centre. It is a nice 20 minute walk into the centre or 2/3 stops on the dart.
There is not much else around which means it is very quiet so you get a good night sleep unlike being in the centre.

All in all would return if i came back to dublin

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankie23London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, General Manager at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sandymount Hotel on Tripadvisor, we are very pleased to hear that you had a relaxing stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandymount Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ruan D'Arcy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 152 in Dublin
4,758 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 152 in Dublin
1,450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#12 of 152 in Dublin
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 152 in Dublin
2,085 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 152 in Dublin
4,775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 152 in Dublin
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#14 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#28 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $111 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandymount Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The Three Arena is less than a 5-minute drive or 20 minute walk from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. Located beside the Aviva Stadium and only a short stroll the RDS. There is free parking and WIFI also available. Owned and run by the Loughran family for over 60 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and lunch and dinner is served daily in the Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking our private gardens. Sandymount Hotel has recently finished major refurbishments of all 169 bedrooms, Line Out Bar, Whittys Restaurant, Gardens, Meeting Rooms, Reception & Lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing