We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leeson- ok.”
Review of The Leeson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Leeson Hotel
Ranked #119 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
leicester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Leeson- ok.”
Reviewed April 22, 2005

I stayed here one night, the staff were good, the bar was nice, but the hotel lacked that unique irish atmosphere, it felt more like a chain hotel, the room was a bit small, other hotels i stayed out in ireland, were bigger and more spacious. The price was a little higher than it should be.
But overall- ok, but nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magic_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    22
    23
    19
See reviews for
4
28
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 10, 2005

We arrived late at night about 11 after a flight from newcastle,they knew we coming late as i had arranged it with them,the front door is a locked fire door which was opened by a porter,we were then told that the breakfast was only a continental and not full irish (this would cost an extra 8 euros each)we then got into the lift which was a squeeze, the next hurdle was actually getting into the room,the lock did not work and the handle was that close to the door frame you could not turn it.eventually we got the door open to be faced with a room you could only describe as tiny,not at all like the website suggests(we thought we had booked a three star hotel it turns out it is only a two star),once you get your case inside there is no where to walk except over the bed,the bathroom was that small that when my wife stood up from the loo she hit her head on the wall oppisite.we tried to check out that night but were told that we would have to pay for one nights stay.the next day we checked into the burlington hotel around the corner,it only cost another £25 per night but was worth every penny.PLEASE TELL ALL YOUR FRIENDS OR EVEN ENEMIES DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Shropshire, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2005

Hotel is basic but OK on the whole. Bar attached to hotel is very nice. Club in the basement tacky, but very popular. Club was open Thurs, Fri, Sat, during our stay and whilst we could definitely hear it, we didn't find it a problem. Continental breakfast quite nice, service good.

Hotel seems to be in the middle of a refurbishment so maybe the rooms will improve? when we went however, at beginning of April, our room was small, dark and very, very basic. Only using the hotel as a base to sleep though meant it wasn't too much of a problem. It was about a 5-10 minute walk to Grafton street (good shopping area) and a further 15 minute-ish walk to Temple bar (good for bars and resteraunts). Forget your stilletto's or else get a taxi, always good for a laugh!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Furry_slippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2005

Good value, very clean, all newly refurbished. Airport bus stops a short distance down Leeson Street. Adequate buffet breakfast. Nightclub noise didn't disturb us at all, in spite of my worries. Some excellent little restaurants nearby. Hotel is in a beautiful part of Dublin, close to St Stephen's Green, within easy walking distance of Grafton Street/ tourist information/ markets etc. Some rooms quite small, but immaculate, which is much more important. Breathe in if there are two of you plus luggage in the lift!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 17, 2005

Visited with colleagues on a business trip in Dec 04. Very warm welcome. Staff are most friendly and obliging. Re-visiting again in Feb 05

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 29, 2004

While in Dublin, I stayed at the Leeson Court hotel for two weeks. The rooms are a little on the small side, but big enough for one person to stay comfortably. The thing about this hotel that I was most impressed with was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. (This also includes the staff at Kobra, the Bar/Restaurant downstairs.) I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 1, 2004

I stayed here recently and was also disappointed...
Rooms were OK but very bland...
Bathroom was tiny...Shower pressure was good though but no hot water from taps...
Refurbishment going on but didn't affect my stay...
The worst thing was the breakfast...The continental breakfast which was part of the price was pretty dire but the full Irish breakfast at 8 EUR per person was absolutely abysmal...
Staff were friendly and helpful...

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilronan House
#41 of 151 in Dublin
872 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#85 of 151 in Dublin
771 reviews
Conrad Dublin
#19 of 151 in Dublin
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden Court Hotel
#45 of 151 in Dublin
2,003 reviews
Fitzwilliam Townhouse
#37 of 149 in Dublin
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leeson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeson Hotel

Property: The Leeson Hotel
Address: 27 Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leeson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Leeson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing